We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Highdown Inn

Save
Traveller (16)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (12)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good42%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
23
27
7
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
23
27
7
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscauliflower cheeseorder food at the barisle of wightevening meallocal producefish and chipsblackboardpubislandcampsite
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a meal here whilst on holiday on Isle of Wight. It's a country pub serving a good range of food to suit any palate although seafood is a speciality they also offer a good vegetarian choice.The landlord/barman is a very hardworking host consequently...More

Thank Brenda140630
Reviewed May 13, 2018

We visited this inn for a late lunch on Sunday 6th May 2018 with friends who had come to the island for the weekend. We sat in the beer garden – there were only a few people left at tables so it was quiet- about...More

Thank SusanatBurtononTrent
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

Came here for an early dinner on a bank holiday Sunday. Staff were pleasant but we were disappointed that some of the items on the menu weren’t available as they’d run out. We ordered something else which was fine tasting and the Manager gave us...More

Thank LadyLF
Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

Amazing food. Portions are lovely, home made good English grub! Shame a lot of the fish was sold out Chicken pie was amazing and the bangers and mash! Order food at the bar as we did sit there for 10 mins 😂

Thank DowntoearthBrit
Response from Susan W, Owner at The Highdown InnResponded March 30, 2018

Thank you for your review it was very helpful soory bout the fish it all comes in fresh and when its gone its gone.

Reviewed January 1, 2018

Tucked away and an ordinary looking pub the food was a surprise as was the menu. We had turkey and bubble and squeak because of previous indulgences in the festive season, but the menu was excellent and some French visitors appreciative of the menu. This...More

Thank bradders242
Response from Susan W, Owner at The Highdown InnResponded January 3, 2018

Thank you for your review it is always appreciated

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$106 - US$113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$106 - US$113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (16)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (12)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Highdown Inn staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"There are three rooms we understand but we were not staying, only dining one evening."
Read review
"Didn't stay. Good fish and chips."
Read review
"All look good"
Read review
"Due to cell tower positioning and windy weather, the WiFi signal may come and go a little"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing