We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bugle Coaching Inn

06/06/2017 07/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bugle Coaching Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 180: English reviews
Start your review of The Bugle Coaching Inn
 Click to rate
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location and our suite overlooked the square. Old & certainly haunted the building is steeped in history. The staff are very friendly and the pub food good. Breakfast set us up for the day and was served by the wonderful Sarah who helped us plan our days out with recommendations & ideas. Dog friendly pub (including a dog menu)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scoob-Shoe
Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Called for drinks only and was very surprised to find Timothy Taylor's landlord on offer. This was wonderfully kept. The interior of this inn is superb and the staff so friendly. It is a shame we were not staying locally.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dogs allowed, immediate plus! I had Hunters Chicken, chicken was good with lots of cheese and 2 rashers bacon, very nice thick chips and salad that was a little soggy. My husband had sausages and mash, which he enjoyed. They had run out of the local ale but the Doombar was good. I had lime and soda which was weak....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda4663
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not our first visit to this Inn and wont be our last. Sat in the large seating area at the back of the inn ordered two fresh fish platters for four people we were not dissapointed, loads of smoked salmon, prawns, mussels, crab meat and prawns shell on and big chunks of fresh bread and butted wahed down with pint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hector745
Arundel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for short break with friends. We both had double rooms. They had some cold water issues in the bathroom sink. We had some heating and no water from sink and bath hot tap. Once reported our problems were sorted immediately. We also had no working strip light over the sink. Apparently this was ordered but didn't make it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fairweatherwalker350
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed two nights in room 6. Two singles and a double for £90 per night including breakfast is good value in this area. The room had a bath not a shower, and the water was a bit slow but at this price this is a minor gripe. The Bugle is a charming old building, with a large lively bar serving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigfin2016
footofdowns, Public Relations Manager at The Bugle Coaching Inn, responded to this review

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Room 6 is right at the top of our Pub, so the water pressure does struggle sometimes in our old Pub....she's 500 years old, so we are glad of your understanding! We hope you choose to visit us again soon, The Bugle Team.

Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was spacious with a sitting room off and spotlessly clean. Appreciated the fruit and bottled water supplied every day. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the food spectacular especially the seafood. The pub enjoys an ideal location in the square with individual shops and great eating places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 219Val
footofdowns, Public Relations Manager at The Bugle Coaching Inn, responded to this review

What a fantastic review! We seem to have ticked all the boxes with you. Thank you so much for finding the time to write this review, We very much look forward to seeing you again, The Bugle Team.

Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We spent three nights here this week. Our room, no. 2, was a suite with a lounge area which, with five windows, was very light and spacious. The lighting however in the bedroom was very dim, and the bathroom had no storage shelves. Fresh fruit and water was a nice touch. Breakfast was great if you enjoy a full English...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy-S60
footofdowns, Public Relations Manager at The Bugle Coaching Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So glad that we met most of your expectations, and have taken you mentioned 'tweaks' on board. Hoping you choose to visit us again, The Bugle Team.

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Went to this pub for an evening meal.There are a lot of different seating areas .Order food at bar with table number.Chose 12oz burger and Fish Pie. Waited quite a while . when it arrived had a 6oz Burger! Had to go back to bar to complain was told another Burger would be brought out to us.Fish Pie looked nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leopard_woman
footofdowns, Public Relations Manager at The Bugle Coaching Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to us. The Chef is most perplexed at the pie having bones in it, as all our fish is filleted, and we have never had another complaint about it. We can only apologise for this most unusual occurance. The Bugle Team.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We popped in here after being recommended by a couple we passed on the beach, and it was a very nice place to stop. We ended up having several drinks, and lunch. The staff are friendly, the food was very tasty and the courtyard area had plenty of seating. We would stop here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 13jayneclaire
footofdowns, Public Relations Manager at The Bugle Coaching Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! Fantastic review, so glad we met all your requirements, we hope that you choose to visit us again soon, The Bugle Team.

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (44)
06/06/2017 07/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
0.0 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
370 reviews
4.2 km away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
283 reviews
14.5 km away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newport
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
799 reviews
14.8 km away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
24.6 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bugle Coaching Inn is a delightful 16th Century Inn, steeped in history and charm. We are situated in the heart of Yarmouth, a busy, sailing, fishing Town, in The Square. We are a stones throw from the ferry terminal and bus station. Our busy Pub has lots of nooks and crannies, catering for everyones needs. We have a separate dining area that offers table service where booking is essential. The rest of our large pub is open to all, with a large conservatory area overlooking our courtyard garden and two front dining areas looking over the bustling square. We have two large gardens, which are full of beautiful flowers, and is bathed in sunshine all day where everyone can enjoy dining 'al-fresco'. Our talented team of Chefs have created a fine menu, and extensive specials board, full of locally caught seafood, straight from our harbour. All our food is locally sourced and seasonal, and lovingly prepared by our kitchen team for you to enjoy. Our seven newly re furbished letting rooms are over the first and second floors. There are stairways to these rooms, and due to the age of the listed building, we have no lifts etc. Our rooms are sympathetically decorated to the age and atmosphere of the Inn, with sloping ceilings and low eves in some of the rooms, all adding to the charm and character of this wonderful olde Inn. We offer a very popular full English breakfast menu, which is included in our room tariff. All our rooms are en suite, with flat screened tv and wi fi access. Our friendly, busy Inn reflects the relaxed, unique atmosphere of this pretty fishing town, and we hope that you enjoy your stay with us, John and Claire ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bugle Coaching Inn

Address: The Square, Yarmouth PO41 0NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Price Range: $115 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bugle Coaching Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Bugle Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bugle Coaching Hotel Yarmouth
The Bugle Coaching Inn Yarmouth, Isle Of Wight, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bugle Coaching Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“not sure about rooms did not stay here”
hector745, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Top floor is quietest if you want to retire early, as bar is lively”
bigfin2016, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 overlooks the square with plenty of things to see.”
219Val, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 7 was lovely. My parents were in the Suite which they were pleased with although the view from Room 7 was nicer.”
201joannas, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not sure as I have not seen all rooms so I suggest look at the room first”
WilliamWiltshire, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$94
Toprooms.comUS$117
Expedia.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates