We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sutherland House

Show Prices
#4 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sutherland House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sutherland House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

We were allowed our 2 dogs in the comfortable downstairs room, and we all slept very well indeed. We are used to a huge bed at home, but still found the double no problem at all. Breakfast was perfect and I understand evening meals can be booked and on this point, we met a fellow on the sea front who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Del R
Bermuda
Reviewed 11 July 2015

A beautiful boutique hotel with a stunning garden and a very warm welcome. We had a perfect stay from start to finish. Gerald is a really friendly and hospitable host who goes the extra mile to make sure you have a good time. Breakfast is a lavish affair. We appreciated the honour bar where we could help ourselves to a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John B
Ware, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

A lovely clean hotel with excellent facilities. The host was very knowledgeable and friendly and his tips on the local area were extremely helpful. Cannot fault the room and en-suite, the garden is superb and the honesty bar is great touch.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob B
GKNH, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this review

Thank you for such warm compliments .It was a joy to look after you.

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Disappointed that this didn't come up to the 5 star rating it is billed as. The wallpaper in the room was faded, peeling in some places and there was a hole in the wall from, I imagine, a previous picture. There were crumbs on the floor and the blotter on the dressing table was stained with tea or coffee. Why...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
GKNH, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this review

This review is somewhat baffling. Thank you for the warm comments about one of our staff who is mostly concerned with Front of House. He is not the only member of staff however and like a swan on a lake much more is going on under the surface than may be apparent. The one time the beverage tray was not...

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2015

A warm friendly greeting awaited us on our arrival at Sutherland House, first impressions are so important and we were not disappointed. It was very clean, smelt very fresh and they have kept the beautiful qualities of the building. It is very apparent that they take a lot of pride in running their establishment. Our room was delightful and would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
GKNH, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this review

How kind to receive such glowing comments. Thank you so much. The comments were even more welcome as they reflect the views of fellow professionals.

Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015

A tasteful, small, quirky, boutique hotel.You really feel more like a visiting guest than a customer. Garry goes out of his way to ensure you have whatever you want (that he can provide) as soon as you want it. Was offered a choice of rooms - unheard of in most establishments. Perfectly manicured gardens, a generous breakfast and a hearty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015

This is a lovely hotel just out of the town with a amazing garden. Problem was i asked for a continental breakfast,waited ages for it and then only got two thin slices of ham and a slice of dutch cheese with olives and a cut up tomato. The en-suite is getting shabby and we did object to bath towels that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RosieBwd
GKNH, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments regarding the hotel ,our gardens and our evening meals. I am therefore somewhat bemused about your other comments. The breakfast menu offers both cooked and continental choices all PREPARED TO ORDER and your description of the continental offering was largely correct except that it was individually presented on a silver and crystal platter with...

Longfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2015

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Sutherland house hotel.What a fantastic find!! A small hotel but the whole experience was really great. The welcome from Gary was second to none, our room was spacious and very clean and comfortable.. the whole hotel had a lovely cosy feel the lounge area was just like home, the well...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kat a
Newmarket, Suffolk
Reviewed 23 February 2015

My wife and I just had a 2 night stay on the 20th and 21st February. There was nothing wrong and there is nothing I could really suggest as an improvement. Very warm and friendly greeting from Gary when we arrived. The large clean and tidy room was very comfortable and I slept well both nights, which is unusual, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikem22
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2015

This is a friendly place the room was lovely clean and tidy, we would certainly stay here again. The breakfast was lovely as nothing was too much trouble. Ideal location for Deal and Dover castle. There is also a good weatherspoons close by for evening food and if you want something nicer then there is plenty of choice

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane G

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
1.4 km away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
56 reviews
1.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
470 reviews
1.3 km away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
278 reviews
1.3 km away
King's Head Deal
King's Head Deal
#3 of 14 in Deal
150 reviews
1.2 km away
Number One B&B
Number One B&B
#1 of 14 in Deal
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Sutherland House

Address: 186 London Road, Deal CT14 9PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Price Range: $122 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutherland House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Sutherland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland House Deal, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sutherland House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Qieter rooms are at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles BridgerSussex, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the back would be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles postilionni, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Garry did show us around and I must say all the rooms were good.”
 of 5 bubbles Purdon186312, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Was extremely happy with my ground floor room (No1)”
 of 5 bubbles bonitak712, 4 Sep 2015 | Read review
“go elsewhere. Sleep in the street !”
 of 5 bubbles jjwildless, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5