We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Continental

Hotels.comUS$110*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
Panoramas (96)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 413: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Continental
 Click to rate
lichfield
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We had a lovely night at the continental. Clean, bright room with a balcony view of the sea. Great staff and a wonderful breakfast. Just imagine sleeping all night with the sound of the sea, than waking to a perfect view Definitely coming back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike e
London
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Well managed venue with friendly staff. Food is of a high standard. Beers are local brewed and quite strong. Toilets are very clean and reliable but not the easiest for wheelchairs. Very female friendly. Ideal for a quiet night people watching or catching up with friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith065
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. It's great to hear you found the staff to be friendly and enjoyed your food. Kind regards

London
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We spent our wedding night at The Continental. We did not have the honeymoon suite (not sure if they have one) as we were late in booking! It was a nice clean room but on the small side. Breakfast was great with lots of choice. Whitstable is a small town so hotels can pick their price and you'll find most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrincessBeanTown
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Congratulations on your recent marriage. The size of our rooms does vary due to the nature of the building. Our largest sea view room is the one we usually recommend to wedding couples so it's a shame this wasn't available when you booked. Best wishes

United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were very clean and comfortable with what seemed individually created decor. The decor matched the environment perfectly. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was one of the best "full english" breakfasts I have had in a hotel in a long time. if there was a negative, it would be that there was no sign posting to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philipjohnb
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay. We used to have sign posting on the walls but since decorating we are yet to re-do them. Once refurbishments are finished, this will be re-done. Best wishes

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I checked in at around 10pm which wasn't a problem. The staff were very friendly and helpful: my bag was carried up to my room. My room was very clean, beautifully refurbished & had lots of space. The room was very hot. I had to open the modern sash windows fully to circulate air. The shutters kept the light out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. It's lovely to hear you found the staff to be friendly and it sounds like you enjoyed your breakfast. Kind regards

Dartford
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice views over the sea. Good food in the restaurant, nice service. Never tried deep fried oysters before! A range of local beers and ales in the bar. Whitstable Bay lager especially enjoyable! Very busy along the harbour side, but a nice buzz with harbour side restaurants and oyster stalls.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

We're glad you and the children enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. Best wishes

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyable stay in a standard room. Whilst very small the facilities were good. The only downside being a very cheap squashy mattress. Which is a shame for a recently refurbished hotel. Why save money on the most important of items!!!! Great location easy walk to whitstable for restaurants but beware there are a lot of london prices here (crab and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 186338Steveandjean
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. As you say, having recently undergone a refurbishment, the owner did invest in high quality furnishings and linen so it's a shame you found your mattress uncomfortable. Best wishes

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. Room was clean and the view was fantastic. However, after paying £125 I would expect to have a shower that heats up within 5 minutes of turning on. And once running at the correct temp, the pressure was ridiculously low - certainly not enough to wash your hair. Judging by similar comments from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P P
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

It's good to hear you found the staff welcoming and were pleased with your room. You are right that we are aware of the issue of intermittent water pressure in some of our rooms and we apologise that you were affected by this. It is definitely something that is in hand and a high priority for us to resolve. Best...

Gravesend
Reviewed 18 April 2017

The Hotel Continental is a lovely place for a short break, well decorated throughout the room was bright and airy with the added bonus of a small balcony. Although small, they were perfectly formed! The shower was a disappointment however there was a bath which made a nice change! The service was good and the food was excellent, with generous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your comments. Kind regards

Canberra
Reviewed 13 April 2017

The Continental is set right on the water and we were fortunate to have a view directly onto the water from the top floor. However it is a long rambling walk up quite a few steps (no lift) to get there. The hotel is a delightful old-style hotel that has been tastefully renovated (in our case with a walk-in shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KandTCanberra
Hotel_Continental29, Manager at Hotel Continental, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay. Best wishes

618 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (505)
Viewed
Deluxe Sea View Room (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Sea View Room (With Balcony) (31)
Viewed
Family Non Sea View Room (45)
Viewed
Fisherman's Hut 10 (Two Double Bed Sea View) (65)
Viewed
Fisherman's Hut 5 (Two Adults Two Children) (53)
Viewed
Fisherman's Hut Andersons Shed (Family Sea View) (78)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Retro Apartment (Penny Lodge) (85)
Viewed
Small Non Sea View Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
0.8 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
836 reviews
3.4 km away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
367 reviews
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 km away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
674 reviews
7.9 km away
Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
10.0 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hotel Continental Restaurant
Hotel Continental Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Continental is the only hotel in Whitstable that enjoys a seafront location within 5 mins walk of the centre of the town. The rooms are currently undergoing a major refurbishment so be sure to ask reception for details. We also manage the very popular Fisherman's Huts accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: 29 Beach Walk, Whitstable CT5 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Price Range: $177 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Whitstable
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Continental staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Continental staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you arrive by train - take a taxi from the station.”
philipjohnb, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea views are nice but other rooms are also very good value, and the sea is spectacular from the dining room and bar area.”
Y3555KVdebbiec, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for a water view.”
KandTCanberra, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We chose the cheapest room, it was really small.”
955AmandaC, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a sea view!”
sgp54321, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$110* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$110
Orbitz.comUS$110
Expedia.comUS$110
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates