We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,303: English reviews
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at Mercure before so booked it due to the brand and lack of alternatives in the area and the fact it was 3 miles from my course location. My other half stayed at the hotel and used the facilities. First impressions are good. Although it's near the M road and a busy intersection I found little or no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pengadil
Management response:

Dear Pengadil, We are delighted to see you enjoyed the food and your partner the Spa, we shall discuss the issues raised and address appropriately as soon as possible. Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel and we hope you return soon. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

shower cold so average review. was offered breakfast as compensation but was unable to take up the offer. clean and comfortable.... good nights sleep but the lack of a hot shower in the morning was very disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
Management response:

Dear Andrew J, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we are sorry to see there were issues with the water, I am sure we have looked into and addressed, we hope it will not deter you returning and look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We purchased the Christmas package and stayed overnight on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day for Xmas 2015, vacating on the afternoon of Boxing Day. We had a lovely festive break and would highly recommend you booking the same if you are looking to escape for Christmas. The hotel offers various Christmas packages to enable your stay to be as long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 999Rachel999
Management response:

Dear 999Rachel999, We really do appreciate your excellent review and are delighted you enjoyed you stay. The approach to Christmas has obviously stirred up some special memories, glad we are part of them. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

Haworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly the decor and atmosphere is very dour and old fashioned and the whole place would benefit from a more modern/classy upgrade. The spa/heat treatment rooms were absolutely excellent, we really enjoyed spending time in there and its a great feature of the hotel. Dinner in the bar was also good and was one of the best burgers I've had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peter J
Management response:

Dear Peter J, It is good to see you enjoyed the Spa and dinner in the Restaurant whilst with us recently. Not so happy you experienced issues with the breakfast offering and service I shall certainly visit and address with the F&B team. The nature and layout of the building and it's extended blocks does present some logistical challenges and...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was amazing and spa was fantastic. Stayed one night and will be coming back. Was a great hotel for couples and weddings. The staff were very helpful. The hotel is very large and views are wonderful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthonythack
Management response:

Dear anthonythack, Thank you for your wonderful feedback, hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great weekend away. Upon initial arrival at this hotel there was a few noticeable maintenance tasks that needed to be carried out. However this is very soon forgotten about with the friendly atmosphere and attentiveness of the staff. We arrived on the 4th of November and stayed for to nights. Everyone that works here is very helpful and pleasant. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth K
Management response:

Dear Gareth K, Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you visiting in the future. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came for a spa weekend with my friend. We arrived earlier than expected but the friendly receptionist managed to book us in so we could go to our room straight away. The room was a big disappointment. Very dated , stains on the walls and a musty smell. It needs updating desperately. . We went to the spa for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyson G
Management response:

Dear Alyson G, Thank you for your review and it is good to see staff came across in a friendly and attentive manner, we shall definitely react to issues you experienced during your stay. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here when we 1st got together so for our year anniversary we thought let's go were it all began. It was brilliant the first time and was even better the 2nd time. We will be back soon. The sauna and steam rooms are brilliant a great way to relax.👌☑

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
Management response:

Dear Alan P, Happy anniversary, thank you for taking the time to post your review, hopefully see you again soon. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We returned to this hotel after staying in January and it was purely based on our last experience here. The staff make this place very nice. Barbie & Sara in the restaurant are excellent. The room we had this time needed freshening up as it was damp & smelt a bit. The bathroom was very snug. We noticed some cost...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Craggy-b
Management response:

Dear Craggy-b, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, we do take our customers feedback very seriously. I shall certainly pass on you kind words to Sara and Barbara. You are correct, as we are a fairly family orientated Hotel we won't be able to assist in the removal of children. We will certainly look to improve...

Cumbria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Warm friendly welcome, very spacious rooms, comfy bed, reasonably clean, my sheets had black marks on them when i lifted them back ,just a bit dated and grubby generally,and the area / corridors stunk of cigarettes, probably because the smokers stand right outside the entrances/ exits to spark up and unfortunatly smoke doesnt know its not welcome! The grounds and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amigolovelyhair
Management response:

Dear Amigollovelyhair, Thank you for taking time to review the Hotel and it's nice to see there were many positive aspects on your recent visit. We will of course act upon areas that have caused concern, we do hope you will visit again soon. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

322 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (292)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (159)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton-le-Moors
9.5 km away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
5.8 km away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
915 reviews
1.6 km away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Maple Lodge
The Maple Lodge
#1 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
176 reviews
5.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
19.4 km away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton-le-Moors BB5 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton-le-Moors
Price Range: $120 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
LANCASHIRE, UK

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cross your fingers and hope your neighbours don't slam their doors.”
 of 5 bubbles Pengadil, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Outside block cottage like appartments”
 of 5 bubbles Becs182, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“quieter rooms are the executive ones- but then you'll be in for a very long walk- some of which is via a covered but open air walkway”
 of 5 bubbles PhilandFrances, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the modernised section through the Pendle suite.”
 of 5 bubbles EP55, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They all seem good”
 of 5 bubbles 395iang, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay