We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Star Inn 1744

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Star Inn 1744
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 156: English reviews
Start your review of The Star Inn 1744
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We visited the Star Inn tonight. There was eight of us in our party. We received a very friendly welcome and the service was excellent. The food was nicely presented and excellent quality. Would definitely go back if in the area and would highly recommend. Many thanks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The beer was a good pint, the menu looked OK, We ordered olives and bread, a Brie salad starter, Pork belly main and a tagalatelli main. The oil and balsamic with the olives was all oil but apart from that ok. The Brie was breaded and deep fried and tasted of nothing other than old frying oil which over powered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick-the-Fitter
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We called in on my sons recommendation as we were just out for a drive. We both had food in the very pleasant bar accompanied by an excellent pint & a glass of wine. I had a delicious Fish Pie full of chunky fish & topped with creamy mash. My wife had Ham Egg & Chips which she said was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a table from afar for a midweek meet up with friends and we weren't disappointed. Pleasant people serving, I was spoilt for choice from the fairly limited menu and the food was generous and tasty. The best bit, we weren't hurried at any point, you know how you get talking when you haven't seen each other for a while.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graylad
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a return visit with my daughter and her family, being the 4th visit for some members of our group. Obviously it had been very satisfactory previously. However this evening there were a series of disappointments climaxing in a disastrous piece of ignorant mismanagement by the person in charge. There was an extraordinarily long delay between serving the starter...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DavidLivingstone49
Legintonic, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review

Dear David What can I say,,, other than,,, I'm sorry that you had a few issues, we certainly do not try to rush Mothers Day service when most of our guests would prefer a leisurely lunch, but I agree the manager should have made you aware that the delay in providing your bill was due to our till working rather...

Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

I travel to the Leicester area a couple of times a year and when I do I always aim to stay at The Star Inn 1744. The only time I don't is when I've left it too late and they are fully booked. Located in a quiet village just off the A46 and a few miles outside Leicester it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridget L
Legintonic, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review

Dear Bridget. Thank you for your lovely review of the Star Inn. It's always a pleasure to hear positive reviews and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best Regards Alistair Richardson

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Really good food this evening, great friendly service and a welcoming atmosphere. A rare visit to this area, somewhat unexpected, and a treat to be at this historic inn. Much to be recommended and I'd certainly come back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
Legintonic, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review

Hi Mark Thank you for your review and recommendation. If you find yourself in the area again we hope you will return to the Star Inn. A bit of history for you, Thrussington was the home of John Fernleigh one of England's finest animal painters and in tribute to this renowned artist (who is also buried in the nearby churchyard)...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

My partner had been recently with his daughter for an evening meal on pie night and rated it. We had a very good risotto and sausage and mash. The menu had a good choice and the staff were friendly. Nice bar area too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMF500
Legintonic, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review

Hi DMF500 Thank you for reviewing the Star Inn. Pleased to hear you enjoyed our pie night. If your in the area again, you might want to consider trying our 1744 Special, it's simply a happy hour for food from 5.44pm where we take 20% off most menu items for one hour, it doesn't include the great value home made...

derbyshire
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Very nice place to stay, lovely village and a very welcoming Inn, couldn't asked for more for our one night stay with family and friends. Great breakfast, really nice rooms. The only thing to complain about was the beds, in my view that is the first bone of contention in any Hotel, Inn , b&b etc and it is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireTait1
Management response:

Dear DerbyshireTait Thank you for you nice review and feedback, relating to our beds, in fact most mattresses were changed relatively recently and we're now in the process of completely upgrading more of the remaining beds, to be honest creaking is not an issue that has been raised with me before but now i'm aware of it i'll personally check...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

I have stayed here a few times with work, and always enjoy it. The staff are always really friendly and helpful at all times. Rooms are a good size, and beds are really comfy. Sometimes struggle to get the temperature right (room can be boiling but bathroom a bit chilly) but manageable. Have had a few different meals and always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeckyLeigh1989
Legintonic, Owner at The Star Inn 1744, responded to this review

Hi Becky. Thanks for posting your review and valuable feedback, it's always welcome and we'll check out those bathroom temperatures. For future reference we now have Air Conditioning installed in three of our rooms, there's no extra charge so please request Room with AC. Hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Nigel Richardson

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thrussington
8.0 km away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
320 reviews
8.0 km away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
617 reviews
7.1 km away
The Hunting Lodge
The Hunting Lodge
#8 of 12 in Loughborough
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
BEST WESTERN Sysonby Knoll Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
387 reviews
8.3 km away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
639 reviews
11.0 km away
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
Premier Inn Melton Mowbray Hotel
#3 of 7 in Melton Mowbray
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Star Inn 1744

Address: 37 The Green, Thrussington LE7 4UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Thrussington
Price Range: $158 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Star Inn 1744 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Star Inn 1744 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Star Inn 1744 staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
United States
2 months ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Star Inn 1744 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not stay - just lunch”
DaveThomasLeicester, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Have dinner and if you like steak - seek out their 10oz Fillet. Excellent.”
415tima, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No idea - as we only used the restaurant”
Davericho52, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“every one that stayed that night and came to breakfast was happy”
GordonB141, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with air con.”
kath_farrar, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$102
Orbitz.com
Hotwire.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates