We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The St. James Hotel Grimsby

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

396 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 393: English reviews
Start your review of The St. James Hotel Grimsby
 Click to rate
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night as we had a funeral to go to. The hotel is right in the centre of town and only a few minutes walk from the shopping centre. Our room was clean, tidy and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast with poached eggs cooked to order. Price was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review, i'm very pleased to note that we had a positive impact on what would obviously have been a difficult time for you. Kind regards, Craig Healey General Manager

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a weekend couldnt knock it staff were very friendly and professional also room was perfect very clean and tidy, would definitely recommend it to family and friends and prices were not over the top like some x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patmac2017
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear guest, What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to post it and for the recommendation. Warm regards, Craig Healey General Manager

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted to do something different, and decided to book into this hotel, as it was close to train station and shopping centre. The staff at this hotel were warm and friendly. However, we found the experience of Grimsby itself, was not what we expected. There really wasn't anything to do

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernadetteasbury
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review and your kind words regarding the team here at the hotel. I am sorry to note that you felt there was nothing to do in the area, Cleethorpes beach is within a 10 minute drive, the largest shopping centre in the county is within 200 yards of the front door of the hotel,...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I happen to stay over in this hotel for couple of nights while my husband was at work in Grimsby.He took my baby and I to enjoy some time in a very different place.The hotel is located in the heart of town and everything was walking distance including the shopping mall that was literally steps away from hotel.Hotel room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yosipa24
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your wonderful review, i'm so pleased that there were many parts of your stay that you enjoyed. Kind regards, Craig Healey General Manager

Cheadle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel itself is in a great location, and the staff on the desk are always friendly; however, the place is really starting to show it's age, and is in desperate need of refurbishment. Our room felt tired and dated, and it just wouldn't get cool despite the windows (which can be fully opened) being open all night. I really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJBignell
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased to read that there were several positives from your stay and look forward to hopefully moving forward with our continued refreshing and refurbishing. We are currently undertaking a project of replacing every bed within the hotel and in May we begin the process of laying new carpets on all of the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm not sure where to begin with this hotel, the bathroom was filthy it didn't even look like it had been cleaned, room was very outdated and dull, the toilet didn't flush properly, tv didn't work, the plug socket next to the kettle was so low to the desk that you couldn't even plug it in, the radiator made noises...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoemyers
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I very much appreciate you taking the time to do so. I really am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and I am very disappointed that you chose to voice your concerns in this manner rather than give us the opportunity to improve your stay....

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

This is a good value hotel, very well situated in the town centre, opposite the Minster, AND with free car parking. Some aspects of decor showing need for refurbishment, but clean & comfy with all the amenities expected.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DFruen
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback, it is very much appreciated. I'm delighted you felt the St James offered great value and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Warm regards, Craig Healey General Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Stayed just one night whilst on business. The hotel was value for money with a good breakfast. The staff were really attentive and chatty, from the moment I checked in through to breakfast. The hotel is dated in appearance but the staff more than make up for it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heskey2016
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, What a fantastic review, thank you, it really is much appreciated! On behalf of all the team, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Warm regards, Craig Healey General Manager

Leigh, Lancashire
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Good Clean and tidy Hotel Good stocked complementary tray coffee drinking chocolate biscuits etc Staff polite good location .Hair dryer extra towels supplied what more could you ask for .Good night in there little pub called Pepys bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shar0n47
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am very grateful! I'm delighted you enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Warm regards, Craig Healey General Manager

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Another weekend here at the St. James. As always friendly staff, speedy check in and out. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and the new rooms are really nice and fresh looking. We will return again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NannyToft
Craig H, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, it is very much appreciated! I look forward to welcoming you back to the St James on your next visit. Warm regards, Craig Healey General Manager

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
0.2 km away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
63 reviews
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Grimsby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
372 reviews
0.9 km away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grimsby
183 reviews
3.1 km away
The Beeches Hotel
The Beeches Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grimsby
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For four decades The St. James Hotel has been in the heart of Grimsby's town centre providing accommodation, food & drink for visitors. With friendly and efficient staff who are always on hand to help. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St. James Hotel Grimsby

Address: St. James Square, Grimsby DN31 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Price Range: $59 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. James Hotel Grimsby 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. James Hotel Grimsby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel
St James Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St. James Hotel Grimsby staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The St. James Hotel Grimsby staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check you room window, if its raining, lots of guttering problems.”
silver90, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Breakfast buffet well stocked eat as much as you like”
738eddiem, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had rooms 202 and 203 on the second floor and had a great of the church”
philandkim2017, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't!!! Just don't stay here - ever!!!”
GSquared2013, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We like room 205 overlooking green and church”
philsmith4, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5