We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

White Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
White Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for White Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 301: English reviews
Swanley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night and had a twin room which overlooked the side/kitchen area. The room was very clean and spacious. The staff were delightful and very helpful. The only slight downside was early morning noise from the kitchens, and noisy water pipes. We had a meal in the restaurant, which was delicious. All in all a lovely place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hwls
WhiteLodgeHotel, Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that the staff were helpful and our cleanliness was up to our high standard. Our Park View rooms are at the back of the hotel and overlook Glen Gardens and some are located above the kitchen. However, we are very conscious of the noise from commercial kitchens and make every...

Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Upon deciding on some quality mother/daughter time and cancelling a 2 night spa vacation, we decided to come to Filey. A place we hadn't been to since I was in single digits. We came upon this hotel and on reading the newer reviews since the take over, reading about the refurbishments that had been going on, and falling in love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbs_88
WhiteLodgeHotel, Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely detailed review, we are glad hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would visit us again. We do have fans available for guests when the weather warms up as well as the heaters so next time be sure to request a fan, we would be only too happy to accommodate.

rotherham
Reviewed 13 August 2016

After reading many visitor reviews of White Lodge Hotel I have booked a 3 Night Stay in a Sea View Room in celebration of the successful Anniversary of my wife's heart operation. In a moment of madness I have booked a further 3 nights stay but unfortunately we have to move rooms to a Park View Room. Even so can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stivRotherham
WhiteLodgeHotel, Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

We have enjoyed you company on your recent visit and look forward to welcoming you back in September when you will be staying in a sea view room a with balcony, please bring the sunshine with you. We are so happy to hear that your wife’s heart operation was a success!

Reviewed 12 August 2016

We have just returned from a 2 night mini break, my husband, myself, our two daughters and my father in law. My father in law had a fabulous room with a sea view and we had an equally as good room with a view of the garden. I couldn't fault a single thing, the hotel was spotlessly clean, the food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catherine O
WhiteLodgeHotel, Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review Catherine! We are so happy that you all enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were so helpful. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This hotel has undergone a lovely facelift, the bedroom (a park view) redecorated was big and stylish, the bed very very comfortable, all the furnishings of a very high standard. The service excellent. It was a pleasure to eat in the restaurant with it's beautiful windows and sit in the lounge area looking out over the sea. I will defintley...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 0Debbie
WhiteLodgeHotel, Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we are so glad to hear you like our refurbishments and that you will be returning to visit! We plan to complete our refurbishments in January 2017 including upgrading the last 5 bedrooms, Reception and of course - the Bar!

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

The room was comfortable and clean with a lovely sea view and had everything you could wish for. The breakfast with a choice of cereals, fruit and cooked was delicious and was served by friendly and helpful staff. Sitting in the garden in the evening having a drink was lovely, the bar prices were a little more expensive. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
WhiteLodgeHotel, Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The sea views are second to none. Our most expensive ale is Timothy Taylor's at £4.50 a pint and our spirit measures are actually 50ml as opposed to the standard 25ml in most bars - so you are actually getting a double -...

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016

On a return visit to Filey we decided to see if any improvement had taken place. We were delighted to see the tasteful and well thought out improvement in decor. The menu and standard of cuisine was excellent and the new owners delightful. But oh dear it is a pity the old restaurant staff have not been retrained or replaced...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 1,937,488
WhiteLodgeHotel, Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you like our refurbishments and that you enjoyed the food. All staff are given appropriate training and we always get good reports about all members of staff old and new so disappointed to hear your experience wasn't up to our usual standard! Thanks for letting us know.

Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Had lunch here one day, the sandwiches were lovely. The views are great with plenty of outside space. Had 3 counteracts menu tonight which was really good. Not much choice for me as don't eat meat but had the prawn cocktail and salmon and it was lovely. Restaurant and inside very contemporary but reasonable prices. We didn't stay at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne P
WhiteLodgeHotel, Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post us a review. We are happy to hear that your enjoyed the food and that you would consider staying at The White Lodge Hotel!

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

This is the second time we have stayed at The White Lodge. Last year we were on the second floor with a sea view -- very nice . This year was even better as we were on the first floor and had a balcony. Definitely to be recommended even though they aren't private at present .The owner told us the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jacquieshow
WhiteLodgeHotel, Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review. We are so happy to hear that you returned and enjoyed your stay again. We are at the moment still perfecting the evening menus we have a few ideas in mind. We are delighted with your comments about the new décor and we hope to be able to welcome you back to relax...

England
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Stayed 1 night in a room with a balcony with my husband. It was not 1 of the newly refurbished rooms but it was still lovely. Very comfortable bed with good linen. Spotlessly clean. Obviously a fantastic view from the balcony. We ate there in the evening & it was very good, as was breakfast. The refurbished lounge & dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HFMTB
WhiteLodgeHotel, Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you will be back! We have 5 rooms left to refurbish, the refurbishments with continue in January 2017 so you will have to let us know what you think! We are happy to hear the food was good and that...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
10.9 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#7 of 28 in Scarborough
4,136 reviews
3.2 km away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
174 reviews
14.4 km away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,738 reviews
40.2 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,795 reviews
0.4 km away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#3 of 19 in Filey
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Lodge Hotel is located on the cliff-top with panoramic views overlooking Filey Bay. Close to the town centre, golf course and tennis courts, it is an ideal location for a relaxing holiday, wedding or business event. Many of the 20 bedrooms have stunning sea views whilst others have beautiful garden views. Each room is en-suite with digital TV, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea making facilities and hair dryers. We have a family suite and several rooms that can accommodate children. All rooms are accessible via a passenger lift. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Address: The Crescent | North Yorkshire, Filey YO14 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Filey
Price Range: $140 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from White Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room No: 3 faced the sea and had a balcony - great view”
 of 5 bubbles M6077QLannes, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some are bigger but just ask reception. Room 24 was not a sea view but was big with pleasant view of a park.”
 of 5 bubbles 562larry, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“pay a little extra for the sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 746colins, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You will not be disapointed with any of the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 419glendap, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms as it has a lift for the less mobile”
 of 5 bubbles 666annf, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay