We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shepherds Rest

Save
Traveller (12)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good21%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“sunday lunch”(10 reviews)
“the pub”(24 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
Pool
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for The Shepherds Rest
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
65
22
3
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
65
22
3
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchthe pubfabulous weekendfull english breakfastcooked to perfectionalnwick gardensfirst classcarveryfacilitiessuzycampervanlandlady
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Nice food. ,,bit of a wait tho. One or two probs in kitchen. But. Worth the wait. Pleasant staff. Served us nicely. Nice choices on the menu. And owner found time to have chat with us. Made us feel. Comfortable.

Thank Thomas K
Response from Susan M, Owner at The Shepherds RestResponded 23 September 2016

Thank you very much for your review Susan

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

The pub seemed very pleasant, but it's a shame that the campsite is not currently looked after to the same standard. When we visited it was untidy, for example there was a trailer full of rubbish left beside the facilities and more rubbish (including a...More

Thank Liz T
Response from Susan M, Manager at The Shepherds RestResponded 5 September 2016

All the work has just been done end of season full site rain grass had took its toll but I take every thing on board that you for staying hope to see you again you just stayed wrong week sorry

Reviewed 20 August 2016

Spacious double en-suite room. Limited menu but tasteful and well prepared Free WFI Homely pub area. Good location. Staff very friendly and helpful Very nice full English breakfast, plenty of car park space.

Thank Mel34Fife
Response from Susan M, Manager at The Shepherds RestResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you The Shepherds Rest

Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

We visited whilst holidaying in the area. The girl who waited on us was on her first day of the job and was nervous but did really well. The food was nice but the menu just wasn't varied enough. I had the pie which was...More

1  Thank HippaHippaHey
Response from Susan M, Owner at The Shepherds RestResponded 21 August 2016

Hi I take this review very serious and will be looking at the menu and so sorry about the service will have more training for staff Thank you point taken

Reviewed 1 August 2016

Stayed here 2 years ago under previous owner, unfortunately little if any improvements have been made to campsite. Toilet and shower barely adequate and shower in particular was filthy and had to be cleaned before it could be used. Little obvious supervision of siting of...More

Thank Ann04R
Response from Susan M, Owner at The Shepherds RestResponded 4 August 2016

Hi you response is very disheartening we have been working on this site for a year and a half we don't need to let you use the toilet or shower they r more for the tents not motor homes but unfortunately you got a key...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$104 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$104 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (12)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Biddis
22 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Susan M | Property representative |
Yes we are
0
Votes
EmilyJar
31 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Shepherdsrest12 | Property representative |
Hi I have not got bump beds we r new owners I have a family room we have only had this pub 2 years I haven't had a famly in
1
Vote
ANRYorkshire_England
4 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Shepherdsrest12 | Property representative |
I think Bob moved to America but has been seen in Alnwick hope that helps
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Both rooms directly next to the road. Both loud. Double room horrible. The other room probably similar."
Read review
"Do NOT stay at the Shepherds Rest"
Read review
"Every room is good."
Read review
"Nice views."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing