We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Cobbled Yard Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Cobbled Yard Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 62: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There was no wi fi but they claimed there was when there wasn't. The shower would go hot then cold. The television wouldn't switch on and my mum felt a bit hard but I enjoyed the stay on the other hand though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ethan E
Yorkshire
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel charges similar rates to south coast hotels yet is not very good. It's on a back road in Berwick. It is not staffed at night- you let yourself in and out. Parking space for 3 vehicles only. No hot meal available on the night we arrived- they weren't cooking at all ( yet the web site advertises evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rabbitmomma
Scotland, uk
Reviewed 8 September 2016

I was with a coach party of 19. We stopped here for a pre-booked lunch. Food was very nice but half of us had soup but no BREAD ! We asked the waitress for bread+ butter and we were told we would be charged extra - we were. One waitress was very rude and tried to imply that one party...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lulu_04Scotland_uk
Alicelyn, Manager at The Cobbled Yard Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you didnt enjoy your visit, but can I just point out that due to the cheap cost of the daily special bread and butter is not included in the price. I doubt anywhere would not have charged in the same circumstance. The lady was asked about her tea - Cup of Tea ! - which incidentally hasnt...

Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

My parents and I have just stayed at the cobbled yard and have had a wonderful time. The hotel is small and cosy the staff are all very friendly. Lynda and Fred have a team of staff whom cannot do enough for you. We were staying as a member of my family had a christening to attend on the Sunday....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Went to berwick for a wedding reception have been before and ended a very long way out of the centre this hotel is in a central location with a nice little car park at the side hotel staff very helpful and friendly

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hunney2015
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We only ate dinner here. Basic pub food that filled a whole at dinner time. We chose this place to eat because it was convenient to where we were staying. It was a mid-week night and there was only one other couple eating in the restaurant, but the food was adequate (although the salad that came with my scampi was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VM94
Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

the hotel was clean and tidy, staff very pleasant and helpful, the room was very spacious and clean with en-suit bathroom and good easy to use shower. good breakfast and a nice evening meal would definitely stay there again but for longer as two nights was not long enough. the hotel was close to the town and railway station.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gizpritchard
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2016

good location for town and free parking Disapointed with room as tatty towels and no soap ( dispenser empty ) Felt room price was high for standard of room, would have stayed elsewhere if there had been availability Breakfast was average but only offered decaf instant coffee

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LUCINDA D
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Lovely little guest house in the centre of Berwick-Upon-Tweed. Parking is provided by the hotel but we preferred to park in the FREE all day car park on Conxons Lane which was adjacent to the hotel as the guest house parking was very tight. The room was very clean and with all the amenities you need for a short break....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellywA3095YL
Sheffield
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Rooms were clean and comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for Lynda and Fred. Tea and coffee in room and free WiFi upstairs and downstairs. After a full day exploring the area we decided to eat in and the food was excellent and reasonably priced. It also has its own bar. Will visit again when in this area. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul P

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
3.9 km away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
406 reviews
0.3 km away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#21 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
223 reviews
0.2 km away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#17 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
109 reviews
0.9 km away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#10 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
84 reviews
0.4 km away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Cobbled Yard Hotel

Address: 40 Walkergate, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range: $121 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cobbled Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cobbled Yard Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Cobbled Yard Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms with wi fi”
 of 5 bubbles ethane2014, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in 5 and it was lovely, bright and airy, clean and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles 464emmao, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
“spacious corner suite”
 of 5 bubbles 706willy, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“As mentioned in the review, please request a bigger room as the room I stayed in (corner room) is extremely small and crammed up.”
 of 5 bubbles Farhan93, 2 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Room we had was fine didn't,t see other rooms”
 of 5 bubbles johnhL5772QJ, 22 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay