We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Manor House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Manor House Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Manor House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 328: English reviews
bournemouth
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Only went in for a drink. Waited a while but not busy. Several tables loaded with dirty plates etc. Beer wasn't great. Lady behind the bar had on a dirty polo shirt and trousers. Table was stick, laminated menu sticky and dirty. Loaded tables eventually cleared but not wiped. Nice outdoor area. Lovely location and impressive looking building. Decor was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vivien B
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience. All our staff are hard working and well trained. Due to the nature of Holy Island and the unpredictable visitor numbers it is hard to to anticipate the busy periods and as a small business we endeavour to provide...

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing stay here I will definitely be having another stay,the food in the restaurant was delicious,the best food I have had in a while .pleasant staff and clean room,we had room number 3.thanks to all the staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is nice to hear your feed back. We pride our self on a friendly and welcoming service. I have passed your thanks on to my team.

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We arrived from Durham at about 10.00am to a very misty and damp island. We were told if we waited an hour our room could be got ready so we could change into suitable clothes. That was VERY much appreciated. We felt the hotel, whilst friendly, clean and adequate was in need of a bit of TLC (light bulbs, taps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
Management response:

Thanks for taking to review our Hotel, Whilst the weather and tides our out of our control, we are pleased to hear that you received a warm welcome. We would like to think that we are located in one of the most beautiful places in the world but not always blessed with the weather to go with it. Many of...

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Ok, there are limited to places to stay on Holy Island so you can accept them milking that a bit. I paid £150 incl. breakfast as a single traveler. The room, as the whole property, was very well presented and in good decorative order. But that is as it should be.I had a room with a great view looking directly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pomtiddly
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel. We have recently taken ownership of the hotel and decided to run the hotel as it had been with the previous owners as in the peak of the tourist season, making drastic changes would have been detrimental to Both ourselves and our customers. I'm sorry to hear that there was...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I went with my adult family to the Island for a week on 3rd September and due to the recent negative reviews about The Manor decided to book the Ship Inn. I'm very pleased to say they were were full - as we may not have tried The Manor Hotel otherwise. I would advise anyone considering The Manor Hotel for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 242trudy
Management response:

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We purchased the hotel in mid summer in the busiest time of the hear, and have not have not had the time to perfect the finer details, we are working towards getting all the issues solved and will continue with this well into the future. We pride ourselves on a...

Colchester
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Stayed at the Manor a number of times and this time for 4 nights/5 days. Problems last year with the bathroom noisy plumbing so the discount this year 'sort of' just compensated. Best Room is No. 10 at the top looking direct to the castle and at the other side into the priory - fantastic. However, the bad news I'm...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank ColchesterDandU
Management response:

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Having purchased the hotel mid summer season this year we found ourselves in the middle of the busiest time of year without much time for perfecting some of the finer details of the organisation and staff training points you have brought to light in your review. I am disappointed to hear that you did...

Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Visited for a quick lunch. Staff very friendly, food was piping hot and fresh. Kids macaroni cheese was worthy of an Italian restaurant. We were very pleased with our choice of the available places to lunch on the island and would definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whiz-pa
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to Review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Manor House. We take pride in our friendly and welcoming atmosphere, all of our food is homemade and our chefs take pride in producing fresh home cooked food. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 8 September 2016

I wouldn't stay in this hotel again. The staff are poorly trained. The food is not up to standard. The service in the dining room is sloppy. There is a general air of indifference and apathy from the staff. Housekeeping was inadequate . Nice view from our bedroom was a bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sheila O
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

My partner and I went for an evening meal here, he had steak and ale pie with chips and vegetables. The pie came in a separate dish with a puff pastry top added on, the vegetables were, I think meant to be al dente, but were all but raw. I had sirloin steak which I asked to be medium rare,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Debbie M
South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The hotel has a fantastic location on the Island. The staff and very friendly and welcoming, and nothing is too much trouble. The dining room offers a great choice of breakfast and evening meals. Well worth the visit, and the room price are very reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ric a

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
8.8 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
865 reviews
11.6 km away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
345 reviews
18.6 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
6.5 km away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
8.2 km away
Well House
Well House
#6 of 12 in Belford
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Address: Market Place, TD15 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Price Range: $72 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Holy Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Manor House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Manor House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea Rooms have great views”
 of 5 bubbles 126david, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good, but think about whether you will want a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles rollontheweekend, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a rooms with views of the castle/harbour.”
 of 5 bubbles JuleaSheffield, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Note, some rooms do not have ensuite bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles Sol-Dev, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for rooms at the front for the view”
 of 5 bubbles 105kathyt, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5