We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ship Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Ship Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 234: English reviews
Start your review of The Ship Inn
 Click to rate
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed a nice lunch here. Homemade soup very good and very hot. Our dog was made welcome. I enjoyed the holy island blessed bitter. Not the cheapest menu though, but bit of a captive audience on an island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SiJo2010
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here for lunch on a flying visit to Holy Island. Friendly staff, quick service, the chef shifted quite a few meals in short time to a good standard. The crab salad was superb, and I thoroughly enjoyed my mixed sea food. Worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

A wintry break to Holy Island limited my choices of accommodation a little out of season.. But I am really glad I came here. Fabulous traditional pub with fabulous food... well, since the haddock was so good I had it twice, I can only assume the rest of the mains were as good - the folks at the next table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheRevTim
Andrewtheship, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time spent with us, we will also pass on your kind comments with regard to our staff who appreciate good feedback. We hope you will return

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Stayed for one night and very impressed. Rooms were very comfortable and well presented, and food very good - excellent and plentiful breakfast. Highlight was the staff - couldn't do more to make us welcome. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yamfan
Andrewtheship, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your one nights stay at The Ship Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Glasgow
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We were the only guests in a December weekend and were made to feel fabulously welcome. Lovely large rooms, en suite, clean and comfortable, lovely bed, TV, free wifi, complimentary tea and coffee. Bar was extremely cosy, log fire, and a superstar cat, Mimi,who seems to be in charge. Smashing breakfast - kippers, toast, unlimited excellent coffee. They looked after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoefromPartick
Andrewtheship, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

What a lovely place. The owners and staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. Would highly recommend a visit here. We will return. Everyone we encountered on our short visit was very helpful and friendly. There was a fabulous bonfire (as it was bonfire night) and fireworks which were free to go and watch. The Ship Inn is literally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-JaneJackman
Andrewtheship, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over the bonfire weekend even though the weather was not ideal. We look forward to your return in the spring or summer to enjoy the delights of the island

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Down for a week & ate there every evening. Food fabulous as always, good portions & hot. Staff friendly & attentive without being overbearing. Still trying to marry the chef!!!! The beer is good, and the bar staff are psychic when I want another pint!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Victoria M
Andrewtheship, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed everything at The Ship Inn and we will put a special word in for you to our chef.

The North
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stayed here for my birthday and the staff had put up happy birthday banners and balloons for me. Everyone was really friendly and helpful, the food was excellent - lots of local seafood, breakfast was really tasty, the room was very comfortable and clean and the beer was good too - look out for the Holy Island bitter. Even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Urbogeek
Andrewtheship, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we're able to make your birthday special. We look forward to your return in particular for the Holy Island bitter.

England
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

I thought very expensive for what it was. To be fair the decor seemed ok and we did not eat so I cannot comment on the food. I just thought it was a complete rip off given what we were charged. The toilets were pretty dirty also.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank greenwood99
Andrewtheship, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about your comments, not sure what your complaint on drinks is about as we believe we charge reasonable prices for our drink selection. With regarding the toilets they are cleaned every day but unfortunately they on occasions can be spoilt by a small minority and we would suggest in future if the toilets are not to the...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

For a long time we have wanted to stay on Holy Island and when we managed to get booked into the ship inn we weren't disappointed. The room was clean and comfortable bathroom was spotlessly clean too. The food was lovely we ate lunch and dinner there also the breakfast set you up for the day. The staff were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lavenderwitch01
Andrewtheship, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that everything was to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you again.

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holy Island
8.9 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
894 reviews
11.8 km away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
353 reviews
18.8 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
8.4 km away
The Farmhouse Guest House
8.2 km away
Market Cross Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Marygate, TD15 2SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Price Range: $155 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Holy Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ship Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
London
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Ship Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for the one with the huge bathroom”
  • Huge comfortable bed
  • Enormous Bathroon Ensuite
 of 5 bubbles 800iann, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Having walked for four days and camped for the previous three nights I can say that the twin beds in room 2 are extremely comfortable!”
 of 5 bubbles ianb2014, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Very olde world pub with atmosphere”
 of 5 bubbles dunnie161, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“there are only4 and all are absolutely fine!”
 of 5 bubbles dorothyk961, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We have only eaten in the bar/restaurant. We have seen the rooms and they are cosy and well appointed.”
 of 5 bubbles KathrynR170, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5