We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,832 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,828: English reviews
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We spent 1night at this hotel and found the atmosphere to be low key.The quality of food in the restaurant was average.The spa facilities were compact but pleasant.Staff were professional but there was no "festive" atmosphere and we were therefore slightly disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Watsons40
opsLinden, Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Watson40 Thank you for your review, Its naturally disappointing to hear you thought the atmosphere was a little low key, I apologise if this had in anyway a negative impact upon your stay. It is good to hear the staff were professional during your stay however it is disappointing to hear you left us disappointed. I do hope this...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We , 2 couples stayed for the New Year package arr on 31 Dac to Dep 2 Jan 16. Firstly we stayed in the old part of the hall and found that the room was small and somewhat cold. The Bar prices are expensive and not good value. On a positive note, the staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wharty970
opsLinden, Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear wharty970 Thank you for your review, It does seem overall you had a good stay with us at Macdonald Linden Hall. I apologise if your room was on the cold side during your stay, the heating can be switched on upon request or additional heaters can be supplied, therefore next time please just ask our team and they will...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Lovely old building with many original features. Made very welcome and accommodation, though booked late, was clean, warm and comfortable. Ate in the restaurant and had a very enjoyable meal. Customer service was most satisfactory.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatieMay60
opsLinden, Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear KatieMay60 Thank you for your review, Its good to read your New Years weekend was an enjoyable one with us at Macdonald Linden Hall. It is also good to hear you enjoyed your meal and found service most satisfactory during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours Sincerely Chris Main Operations Manager Macdonald Linden Hall

Carlisle
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We stayed overnight 3rd of January. We arrived early, but our room was ready, executive room 5. Lovely room. Visited the spa which I found excellent. Evening meal in the main restaurant was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steeve201077
opsLinden, Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear steeve201077 Thank you for your review, Its great to hear your birthday night away at Macdonald Linden Hall was everything you planned, its so pleasing to hear you found your room lovely as well as your evening meal being excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours Sincerely Chris Mian Operations Manager Macdonald Linden Hall

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Value for money! We had a fantastic stay here! We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived until we left. Would definitely recommend it to family and friends- its a fantastic place to relax

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
opsLinden, Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Christine G Thank you for you review, It looks as though we exceeded you expectations on this occasion. I will certainly pass on your very kind words to the whole team who we will be delighted I am sure. Its great to hear you would recommend us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Once again thank...

Whitley Bay
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on January 2 2016. We had an executive room which was very comfortable, clean and convenient for the Spa which we also enjoyed. The service was excellent and friendly. We would recommend it and we look forward to visiting the hotel in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianel554
opsLinden, Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear dianel554 Thank you for your glowing review, Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Macdonald Linden Hall as well as finding your room to be very comfortable during your stay. The most pleasing part of your review is you finding our service excellent and friendly during your stay, I will certainly pass on your very...

Blyth
Reviewed 4 January 2016

A lovely hotel, very warm welcoming staff at reception, the restaurant and generally. The bar prices are high but the food quality was excellent. Our room was one of the suites and was very spacious and comfortable with lovely views over the grounds and golf course. The pool changing rooms are tired and could do with an update.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
opsLinden, Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Andrea C Thank you for your 5 star review, Firstly its great to hear you found Macdonald Linden Hall to be a lovely hotel with very welcoming staff, I will certainly pass on your very kind words to the team who I know will be delighted. We are hopeful of having the changing rooms updated soon therefore hopefully this...

Sunderland
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Quite expensive for the size of the room. We had a feature double and it was tiny and basic. There was quite a sombre atmosphere around the hotel no music in the bar and staff did not appear very happy. I had pre booked meal for 8.30 and did not be shown to our table till after 9 where the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank handrea316
opsLinden, Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear handrea316 Thank you for your review, We do usually have music planing in our lounge ares therefore I apologise in there was no music playing in the bar area during your stay, I will certainly address this immediately. Sometimes on busy evenings service and be a little slower then usual and I hope this did not spoil your experience...

Newcastle
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We stayed on New Year's Day for 1 night. Our room was nice, large with very comfortable beds and good bathroom. However the public areas and pool are looking tired. At breakfast the curtains were kept closed because of the draught from the old windows. Staff were courteous and efficient. We had a massage which was good but the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaneGNewcastle
opsLinden, Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear JaneGNewcastle Thank you for your review, we will certainly take on board your comments regarding a refurbishment as we do strive to improve. It is good to hear you found our staff courteous and efficient during your stay, I will certainly pass on your comments to the team. We do hope you choose to return some day as we...

Cramlington
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Hotel, Food and Room exceptional, service was very poor, numerous guests mentioned it, waited 45mins for lunch. Also waited 20mins to be given our drinks we had ordered. Only let down was service.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gordons2016
opsLinden, Manager at Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear gordons2016 Thank you for your mixed review, Naturally it is disappointing you feel service was a let down during your stay, I offer my sincere apologies if this had any negative impact upon your stay. I will certainly liaise direct with my Restaurant Manager to establish exactly why standards seem to have slipped on this occasion. It is good...

546 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (248)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (127)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (284)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Coquet Room (19)
Viewed
Elizas Room (16)
Viewed
Linden Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Room (14)
Viewed
Second Room (15)
Viewed
Sophie's Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (112)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longhorsley
27.8 km away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,388 reviews
27.8 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,074 reviews
5.0 km away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
17.0 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
916 reviews
21.6 km away
Horton Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The impressive Macdonald Linden Hall Golf and Country Club was built by merchant and banker Charles William Bigge in 1812. Today, it nestles in 450 acres of private grounds: the perfect country house hotel. Boasting several versatile function rooms and an 18-hole golf course, it's the perfect venue for business events. Our stunning Northumberland countryside location and award-winning food and drink are ideal for weddings too. If you want a relaxing break in the country with extensive health club and spa facilities, not to mention luxurious accommodation, come to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Address: on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Price Range: $135 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Hotel Longhorsley
Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel Country
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sedgefield, England
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“front facing on first floor”
 of 5 bubbles 186478Marilyn, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Good golf course, it gives you a challenge.”
 of 5 bubbles peterkO2398VK, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For handiness for the Spa, rooms 2 or 3”
 of 5 bubbles Amethyst0702, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you book, eat out. You can do better elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles WalterH668, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bar prices a bit expensive, so suggest you budget a bit extra.”
 of 5 bubbles mccreadys, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay