We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Border Forest Holiday Park

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Border Forest Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 84: English reviews
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The first night we arrived the rain decended on us with a vengeance. We were battered with winds of up to 70mph....the river burst its banks...our caravan awning broke...! The owners were fantastic and were on hand constantly, checking on us with each scary passing hour as the water levels rose. On their advice we moved to the top of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wend_woo1
Bertieboo01, Manager at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello and thank you so much for your review. Oh boy did we have everything that our amazing weather can throw at us during your stay! So glad it cleared up and we had some truly beautiful wintery days. See you all again soon. :)

Ashington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for a weekend in the Heron Lodge, we were after a quiet weekend of relaxing and quiet away from hectic life and couldn't have found a more perfect setting. Everything was thought of and the park is small and peaceful. The owners are superb and will do anything they can to make the stay enjoyable, customer service far...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenn H
Bertieboo01, Manager at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here and were able to relax and unwind. We really look forward to welcoming you again next year :)

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here as a family, with 2 girls aged 15 and 12. What a lovely place to visit. We stayed in the Heron lodge, had a friendly welcome and the lodge was beautiful. Lovely furniture and hot tub on the decking was nice and private, little gestures such as biscuits and tea and coffee and a small jug of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Bertieboo01, Manager at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. It was lovely to welcome you and your family and we are very happy you all enjoyed the stay especially your doggy,woof,woof. Hope to see you again.

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here in the tranquil, little owl lodge. The lodge is positioned on the edge of a little stream with a totally private hot tub and enclosed garden which was great for our dog. The lodge was immaculately clean with everything you need for your stay with lots of little extras that the friendly owners kindly provide, i.e. welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juleswhit1
Bertieboo01, Manager at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review

Oh, thank you so much for this lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and relaxed in our beautiful rural surroundings. We try to provide 'shooting stars'' for everyone! Hope to see you all again soon :)

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous from start to finish, can't fault anything apart from no iron in cabin but everything else sponge tea towel n fairy liquid provided didn't want to leave 😩hot tub was amazing even the hubby couldn't wait to get in definitely going back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe H
Bertieboo01, Manager at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you both so much for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your very special weekend with us. :) :) :)

UK
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed in 'Heron Lodge' with our two daughters and I have to say I was surprised how basic the lodge was for the price we paid. I've travelled a lot and have stayed in numerous types of accomodation, including several lodges and yurts with my family and am a firm believer in you get what you pay for. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
Bertieboo01, Manager at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.We take great pride in our park and lodges and as you came during a half term weekend the prices are, as you are aware, always a little higher during these times but we consider these to be very competitive for our style of lodges and location. As you can see from other reviews your experience...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We stayed for a weekend in October, and while the weather was typically October-like, this meant there were no midges, a lovely misty atmosphere in the woods and peace and quiet all around. We even saw a couple of deer stepping out of the forest. Facilities are good, nice hot showers! No shop on site but as this is pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BevAskew
Bertieboo01, Manager at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review :)

Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed here in our own caravan, it is very peaceful and relaxing, great for walks and dogs, I am in a wheelchair and was able to access the forest paths straight from the site which was great. But a little uneven in places. We were infested by midges though so take protection if staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Car0line59
Bertieboo01, Manager at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is so lovely to hear that you were able to access some of our tracks that lead into the forest via your wheelchair and you were able to relax here. We recommend that you pack repellant spray etc for certain times of year depending on weather conditions.Hope you can visit us again :) .

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from a beautiful 3 night stay in the little owl lodge, celebrating our 1 year Anniversary. The holiday park is nice and relaxing which suited us perfectly! Owners are so friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Our lodge was 1 bedroom but more than enough space, nipping clean and so comfortable. The kitchen was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
Bertieboo01, Manager at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you so much your review and we are really happy you all enjoyed yourselves,especially your doggy :)

newcastle upon tyne
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

This was just what we needed, total relaxing break. The site is very quiet not a lot to do but that suited us, we stayed in a pod our friends brought there tourer. The weather wasnt good but we made the most of it! The pods are basic but heating and lighting supplied the shared was just across from us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracygrey
Bertieboo01, Manager at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and that you enjoyed the relaxing and quiet atmosphere here:)

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterburn
13.6 km away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
18.8 km away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
21.9 km away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 km away
Kielder Lodges
Kielder Lodges
#1 of 2 in Kielder
78 reviews
16.2 km away
PoSHHuts
PoSHHuts
#1 of 1 in Falstone
24 reviews
15.2 km away
Falstone Barns
Falstone Barns
#4 of 20 in Hexham
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
9 Out of 10 dogs prefer to bring their owners to Border Forest Holiday Park.We are situated on the Pennine Way with direct access onto the mighty Kielder Forest and in the very centre of the 'Dark Skies' gold award area.There are miles and miles of walks and cycle tracks and fantastic opportunities to see wildlife in its natural habitat. You do not have to have a four legged friend to enjoy the peace and tranquility here. The park has 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom Lodges with hot tubs, two 'Bijou' type cottages each sleeping 2 and at the lower end of our park, Electric hookups and hard standings for tourers and motor homes. There is a campers kitchen and toilets and the showers blocks at the top of the park are included in our tariffs.Please note we are a Quiet family run park with no Bar,Restaurant or shop.Please note we no longer accept tents. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Border Forest Holiday Park

Address: Cottonshopeburnfoot, Otterburn NE19 1TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Price Range: $27 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your Border Forest Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Border Forest Holiday Park staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Border Forest Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lodges on the waterfront at Loch Lomond are of a much higher standard”
 of 5 bubbles Frankenstein, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“It was a campsite for goodness sake!”
  • View from camper
 of 5 bubbles Mikeyak123, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“It looks like they've got some new lodges and pods since our visit but the cottage was very comfortable and well equipped”
 of 5 bubbles E7540IWdarrenb, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Little owl for couples and dogs”
 of 5 bubbles terryr596, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Remember to take midge repellant”
 of 5 bubbles 831katherinem, 16 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay