We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St. Cuthbert's House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
St. Cuthbert\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

739 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for St. Cuthbert's House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 739: English reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We stayed in this beautiful renovated church for 3 nights over Easter. We arrived early and were able to check in as our room was ready. we stayed in Bede, which is a very comfortable ground floor room, with an en suite wet room. The owners Jeff and Jill are welcoming, accommodating and exceptionally friendly without being intrusive. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smith6570
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, hope we'll see you again for more concerts!

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2015

This was our third visit to St Cuthbert's House (First in 2010). Jeff and Jill are perfect hosts and such lovely people - nothing is too much trouble. It really is a joy to keep returning. The house is decorated and furnished to a very high standard and there are lots of extra added touches. One of the questions on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beachcomber1963
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

It's lovely that you want to return again and again, thank you for that. Thanks for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Once again we enjoyed a very relaxing stay at this great B and B on the breath taking Northumberland coastline. Beautiful house and room and Jill and Jeff are great hosts. The location is great as it is an easy and short walk into Seahouses for a meal or a drink. The walk to Bamburgh along the beach is lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A M
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

Having you return to SCH is the greatest compliment you can pay - thanks for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Seaton Sluice, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2015

What a find! Even though we live in Northumberland, we stayed at St Cuthbert's House because we were attending one of their wonderful music evenings. Nothing was too much trouble for Jeff and Jill, the owners. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed; the bathroom was lovely; and the breakfasts delicious. We will return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annikins61
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed the music, as well as your stay! We look forward to seeing you here again.

Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2015

We managed to get a room for 3 nights at St Cuthberts House over Easter, due to a last minute cancellation - which was lucky for us. The hosts were lovely people and made us very welcome and provided good local knowledge of the local attractions and restaurants. Our room was the Oswald which was on the first floor -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth J
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

We really enjoy sharing our 'local knowledge' to help you get the best out of your visit, and we're pleased you enjoyed some tips. Thanks for your review!

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2015

highly recommend,,nothing is too much trouble,,everything we needed was catered for..we love this part of the world..but this is definitely the best short break we have had to date..thankyou Jeff & Jill you have a little gem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

Thanks for youre review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015 via mobile

Just returned from our first visit and we were delighted with this place. Communication before our weekend visit was excellent; several emails confirming bookings, advising me of which room might be best and then reminding me of the date with directions and updates on roadworks en route. This helped ensure our break was well planned and all questions answered before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

Thanks for your comprehensive review. It's good to get feedback about things which we pay a lot of attention to, like pre-arrival communications. We're pleased you enjoyed the concert too, and hope that you will return!

Guisborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015

This was our second visit to St Cuthbert's House. This time the reason was to see an acoustic guitar player, Tony McManus - who played two inspiring sets, in the lounge area of the house. Wonderful evening and relaxing stay. A place to put on your list, if it is not fully booked!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GSP639
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your return visit - and the music! Thanks for your review.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2015

This was our second stay at St Cuthbert's House and it did not disappoint. Jeff and Jill had set the bar high last time but our expectations were met and surpassed. Everything about St Cuthbert's House is first class and it is clear why there are so many awards from the hospitality industry in the lobby! A big thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vivelafete
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

Great - so pleased you enjoyed your return visit, and we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2015

This was our fifth visit to St Cuthberts House and the second Valentines weekend break. Peter says I shouldn't write a good review for St Cuthbert's House because if too many people know what a spotless,comfortable, relaxing and fabulous place this is, we won't be able to go anymore because it will be fully booked all the time. Jeff and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen N
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review

It gives us real encouragement when guests want to return, and it's so lovely to have you back so regularly! Valentine weekend is always a special occasoin, and we're glad you enjoyed it again. We'l always do everythign we can to fit our regular guests in! ;-) Thanks for your review.

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
7.6 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,164 reviews
0.0 km away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
189 reviews
7.8 km away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Springwood
Springwood
#2 of 26 in Seahouses
318 reviews
0.3 km away
The Olde School House
The Olde School House
#5 of 26 in Seahouses
202 reviews
0.4 km away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 26 in Seahouses
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winner of VisitEngland 'Guest Accommodation of the Year 2014' - England's Best B&B! Come and see why! ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. Cuthbert's House

Address: 192 Main St. | North Sunderland, Seahouses NE68 7UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Price Range: $184 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Cuthbert's House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your St. Cuthbert's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Cuthbert`s House Hotel Seahouses
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. Cuthbert's House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from St. Cuthbert's House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are spot on.”
WaveyDaveSheffield, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are very comfortable and quiet.”
135audreyw, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are going to be quiet and comfortable”
keithtabram, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a shower in our bathroom which was fine for us but if you like a bath I believe some of the rooms have baths.”
amandaphillips59, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are of the same standard and the positioning is of no advantage.”
philipphilip143, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5