We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

638 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 635: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
 Click to rate
Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

"Book a table in our newly refurbished 114 Bar & Grill this valentines and treat your loved one." This was the invitation on their website which suggests that the minimum to expect was a Valentines evening, the website goes on to talk about a romantic evening etc. etc. it does not suggest that there is any special menu for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
Gemma G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review, apologies the meal setting was not what you were expecting. As you may have noticed, we have recently just undergone a huge refurbishment in the 114 Bar and Grill and advertised the Valentines meal in there, not in the restaurant as we have done in previous years. Best wishes, Gemma

Reviewed 9 February 2017

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MuchelleS
Gemma G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Ha ha we stayed in the same room as last time so what can I say other than we enjoyed it as much. Loved the big bathroom and it had all you needed and was very clean as we expect. Breakfast was a bit different as we couldn't eat the sausage this time, strange as they're usually the only ones...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eunice38
Gemma G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a lovely review. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Gemma

grangemouth
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We use this hotel regularly whilst visiting relatives in the area. On this occassion we had sufficient loyalty points to have a free night. Somewhat disappointed to find ourselves in the last but one room from reception and having stairs to climb and a long corridor walk to get there despite the fact our records must show we always ask...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
Gemma G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. Over the Christmas period we were extremely busy and rooms were booked up very quickly in advance, on looking in to this the room you stayed in was the last was available on that date. Apologies about the noise from Christmas functions, but again this is something...

Gillingham, Kent
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

It's been a while since I have stayed here and I can say that the changes are for the better. It's more a hotel than a town centre pub now. Improved decor, service and overall standards. The food was also of a good standard. The room was clean and well maintained despite evidence of age. I will no doubt stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 790SharonG
Gemma G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a lovely review. Hope to see you again. Best wishes, Gemma

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed here on a Groupon break as we liked the look of the hotel and Worksop was somewhere different to go. I upgraded to an executive room when I booked. We arrived at 13:30 and were told by the receptionist that we couldn't check in until after 14:00. (Checking if the room was ready might have been better customer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnimalMacc
Gemma G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. In regards to checking in, we do state on all confirmation check in is from 14:00 only. Hope to see you again. Best wishes, Gemma

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

My wife and I stayed for just one night last December. This is a comfortable and clean hotel. It is well situated for the centre of Worksop should you wish to visit this town. Breakfast was OK to good and the bed excellent. Easy free overnight parking. The waterfall style tap on the bath strayed water over the floor but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iancrowson
Gemma G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a lovely review. Hope to see you again. Best wishes, Gemma

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

A very pleasant Christmas day dinner. Friendly staff. Excellent meal. If I had any criticism, it would be that there was not much time in between courses to let dinner settle. It wasn't 5 minutes before the next course was served from the last and felt rushed. Sometimes just need a little time to settle! Other than that the meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
Gemma G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a lovely review. Have a lovely New Year! Hope to see you again. Best wishes, Gemma

Hebburn, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Stopped in an executive room. Clean tidy and well presented. Ate our evening meal in the restaurant. - freshly cooked and tasty - good service. Breakfast is self service , collect food in one room then go up a couple of stairs to eat in another. Might be difficult if you had mobility issues - but am sure staff would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane W
Gemma G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave us a lovely review. Hope to see you again. Best wishes, Gemma

Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Three people at the bar, waited 10 mins to be served, no luck left in disgust, invest in some staff and training especially at junior managerial level as the person on duty tonight seemed totally out of her depth

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank charles C
Gemma G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, i will be looking further into this. Best wishes, Gemma

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worksop
7.6 km away
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Clumber Park
1,076 reviews
0.5 km away
Acorn Lodge Guest House
Acorn Lodge Guest House
#2 of 3 in Worksop
62 reviews
12.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
9.3 km away
Cherry Park Hall
Cherry Park Hall
#2 of 2 in Blyth
16 reviews
15.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is situated in Worksop, a central location for all major attractions in the South Yorkshire region. We offer excellent services and facilities and have a 3 star AA rating and a Silver Green Tourism Award.The hotel is superbly located close to the A1, M1 and A57 road networks. It is also easily accessible by train with Worksop Train Station just 2 minutes drive away. The hotel is only 30 minutes away from Doncaster Sheffield International Airport.Situated in the quaint market town of Worksop the Best Western Lion Hotel has 46 ensuite bedrooms, 115 bar & grill serving delicious home made dished what have been carefully selected by our talented head chef. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel

Address: 112 - 114 Bridge Street, Worksop S80 1HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Worksop
Price Range: $95 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Worksop
Worksop Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Worksop, United Kingdom
1 month ago
5 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“did stay over just used the restaurant facilities”
 of 5 bubbles 946fredb, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask about stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Iancrowson, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Back of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles lottie49, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check booking and take paperwork with you.”
 of 5 bubbles 31garyr, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on upper floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles melvynfletcher, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$62
Travelocity
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates