We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oxford Abingdon Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

428 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 418: English reviews
Start your review of Oxford Abingdon Hotel
 Click to rate
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a Dinner Disco for 50 staff in January and had a lovely time. We had tables and a dance floor in the Conservatory and use of the lounge area and bar. The food was excellent and I was impressed how quickly they served all the tables. The disco they provided was great and the staff were all very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At first was given spacious room but I did not like the bathroom, after lovely customer service my room was exchanged to smaller one, room are tidy but would need deeper clean, tv are small, sleep was very good and could not hear much noises .... in all pleasant stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magix666
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, Thanks for the review. Our team are happy to ensure that all our guests have a great stay. We are due to get a refurbishment soon (we have planning and are waiting for a start date), and all our room will be modernised. Thanks again. See you soon. Andy and the team

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here Sunday to Monday. The room was clean and tidy. I agree the decor a little tired but really have no complaint. The staff were friendly. The evening meal was nothing to write home about but when the wrong sweet was delivered to table it was promptly put right. Breakfast was nice. It was good to have fried eggs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janine J
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thanks for the comments about the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Andy and the team

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on recent business. A colleague chose to stay in a close by Premier Inn instead of this hotel which surprised me having the choice of a hotel. The Abingdon is due a major refit which will include the construction of more and new rooms. However I can only comment on how it is now. The room could very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
GeneralManagerOAH, Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Steve I was sorry to hear your stay with us was not as you may had wished it could have been. I wonder if you had addressed any of your issues with any one of the staff on duty? You see we could possibly have moved you to another room (regarding your shower), given you different pillows, explained a...

West hanney oxon
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel decor is rather dated and tatty the bar is quite small and bar staff Saturday night were miserable and unhelpful We were seated at a table in a large function room the tables were numbered one to sixteen we were sixteen and waited a long time for our starters i had brucessta which was cold chewy and tasteless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
GeneralManagerOAH, Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, Thank you for your comments and I sorry to hear food was not up to standard, we do try to ensure that all our guests are served a quality menu regardless of their table number. I will look into it. Regarding the general décor being tatty and dated, we are currently awaiting a refurbishment project to start, this...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Our friend had her baby shower here. We were in a very nice room. Big and spacious. The food was very good sandwiches and cake. The staff were very friendly. Topped up tea coffee and water. Toilets were very clean. Had a very nice afternoon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samandpaul2013
GeneralManagerOAH, Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to write a review, I will of course pass on your comments to the team. Please come again and enjoy our hospitality, perhaps try our Sunday lunch. Best regards Karl Fox Operations Manager

Buxton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Having stayed in a number of hotels over the years, this one definitely ticked more boxes than others. While the decor isn't up to 'premier inn' styles, there isn't anything wrong with it; and as I understand there will be a refurbishment happening. The family room we stayed in was more than adequate. The pillows were of a better grade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennybagguley
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. We are planning to redevelop the majority of the hotel and all our rooms. This is due soon, but it is nice to hear that apart from the style the rooms are more than adequate and clean. Thank you for mentioning Helen at breakfast as I know she works hard for...

Oxfordshire
Reviewed 5 February 2017

27 of us arrived for a family meal on Sunday lunchtime. The carvery was very very good, with a selection of meats and the vegetables were very well cooked , with giant Yorkshire puddings. Overall for a excellent price a good sunday lunchtime meal. Starters could have been a little better the salad bar was a bit hit and miss...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annie58Oxfordshire
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our Sunday Lunch. I am pleased you had a good time and I have shared your comments with the Food and Beverage Manager to ensure we keep on top of refreshing the salad items in future. Our hotel is still awaiting planning permission (not too long now we hope), but the bedrooms WILL...

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Have stayed here twice, although a little pricey for what I would say is an average room, all was tidy and the bed was comfortable however on our second booking with this hotel we were very disappointed. Upon arrival they asked for our name and couldn't find us on the system after proving to them that we had paid and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Didcot1994
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It looks like we made a genuine mistake in putting a guest with the same surname into the room you had booked. I apologise for this mix up. My reception team would then have found you a comparable room to stay in. Unless you asked for an...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Reception and check-in were efficient and courteous. The whole place is looking a bit tired and could do with some smartening up. Having said that, it was clean, warm and provided the necessary services. Dinner in the restaurant was perfectly pleasant. My wife has to avoid garlic at all costs: the waitress said we could choose anything off the menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
GeneralManagerOAH, General Manager at Oxford Abingdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your concise review of our hotel. We are planning to refurbish the hotel in the near future and all the negative items mentioned will be addressed in the upcoming works. Thanks for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon. Andy and the team

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
1.7 km away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#3 of 5 in Abingdon
226 reviews
5.6 km away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
6.7 km away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,040 reviews
8.8 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for a charming three star Oxford hotel which offers great value accommodation in the heart of Oxfordshire? Then look no further than the Oxford Abingdon Hotel. With a number of places to eat and drink, meeting and event spaces, and 66 bedrooms we're proud to say our excellent hotel offers a range of modern facilities welcoming both leisure and business guests. The hotel can be found in Abingdon-On-Thames, a quaint market town in the heart of Oxfordshire which is conveniently only 6 miles from Oxford with its wide range of activities and places to see and enjoy. The rooms are modern and calm with all the mod-cons you would expect from such a great value hotel. Relax on the terrace with a glass of wine, enjoy a delicious meal in our top-notch restaurant or join us for one of our lively events with friends and family. Whatever you are looking for, Oxford Abingdon Hotel has something for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oxford Abingdon Hotel

Address: Marcham Road, Abingdon OX14 1TZ, England (Formerly Oxford Abingdon Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Price Range: $75 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Abingdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oxford Abingdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abingdon 4 Pillars Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oxford Abingdon Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oxford Abingdon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“cannot comment on the rooms as we were just eating”
 of 5 bubbles annie58Oxfordshire, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay in a room”
 of 5 bubbles paulmaudsley1965, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid twin room on ground floor. Floor incredibly noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles aprosser, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“End of the corridor on either floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Z4408RBbriana, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a room on the ground floor as I said and it was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles MaryB933, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5