We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sudbury House

Folly Hill 56 London Street, Faringdon SN7 8AA England
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (206)
Dining (53)
Room & Suite (26)


#1 of 4 hotels in Faringdon
Travellers' Choice
Once a fine Regency residence, the hotel is situated in the beautiful market town of Faringdon, close to Oxford, Shrivenham and Swindon. Surrounded by nine acres of landscaped gardens,Sudbury House can offer a quiet break away from it all, yet still being close to local businesses and towns,including RAF Brize Norton, Cranfield University and the Defence Academy.Close to the main Swindon to Oxford Road, the A420, the hotel is within easy access of the M4 and M40. Refurbished and redecorated completely in 2015, the Sudbury House is a great base for the Oxfordshire and Wiltshire counties.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
507Reviews3Q+A79Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 307
  • 128
  • 48
  • 20
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Peoniesat64 wrote a review Dec. 2020
Caernarfon, United Kingdom88 contributions24 helpful votes
Friendly staff all observing COVID rules All hotel amenities catered for & following restriction rules Well positioned room to cater for our dog ... close to the outdoor area & easily accessible to the very beautiful gardens Very Clean hotel Food menu a tad limited on choice but could be related to all the COVID restrictions especially as the hotel had just reopened after a lockdown Enjoyed our stay
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 111 if you have your pooch with you .... it’s close to an exit door into the lovely garden...
See more room tips
Janine wrote a review Dec. 2020
2 contributions
Stayed at Sudbury house on route for Xmas shopping decided to spoil ourselves with the suite which was total amazing it was the biggest room ever, the receptionist was lovely but she really had her hands full from reception, waitress and bar maid they needed more staff. Our package included evening meal which was a bit disappointing I know they have limited menu but it was very basic, wine a good price though . On the whole a lovely stay and would return and book the same room again, the only thing missing from the suite was some bottled water had everything else
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Mandy W wrote a review Dec. 2020
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Me and my husband had our wedding on 5/12/2020 here. It was the perfect day. The hotel was beautiful. Our suite was beautiful. The food was excellent. The staff were all brilliant and made our special day perfect. Highly recommend for a wedding or even just a stay. We will definitely be back for our one year wedding anniversary
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Sharon H wrote a review Nov. 2020
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom17 contributions4 helpful votes
We treated ourselves to a suite as we wanted to relax and spend time away from lots of people. It had a great spacious bedroom, bathroom and lounge area. Tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bedroom overlooked the grounds. The whole hotel was very clean. We chose not to have our room cleaned daily so people were not coming in. The housekeeping staff were happy to leave any supplies we needed outside the door. We had a couple of issues with our room which were dealt with efficiently and quickly by Jane. I see that lack of heating is a theme. Our sitting room was cold but an electric heater was available. Unfortunately the wifi was poor in out suite and is not suitable if you want to do any work in the room. We found the staff very hardworking and friendly. At times they seemed to be short staffed, probably due to Covid restrictions.This was especially felt with the cooking as we had many issues with our meals. Communication between the waiting staff and chef did appear to be problematic, possible related to wearing masks. Even given the Covid restrictions I felt the limits of the menu was too constrained as it did not change over the week. We did enjoy the full English breakfast. They were happy to provide me with beans on toast. The hotel is covid secure with sanitizer available for guests around the premises. There was good spacing between the tables and only once did I feel there was too many people in the breakfast room and the door should have been open for ventilation. If we had not had problems with many times getting the wrong food ordered a better score would have been given. The food was delicious though if a little pricey.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Gill R wrote a review Oct. 2020
Stockport, United Kingdom139 contributions85 helpful votes
Stayed for one night .Wish it could have been longer. Check in was slow but only because of a resident griping about one thing or another.Obviously after a discount. Good COVID precautions in place. The lovely lady on reception kept calm and professional throughout despite the queue forming. Room was lovely.Tastefully furnished and very clean. Tea and coffee facilities available as well as bottled water Bath was big .Toiletries provided.No toilet brush tho? We went to the bar.Service was quick even though the poor lady serving was on her own. We went for food and again service was excellent. Food was gorgeous. We even got Happy birthday and Happy Anniversary written on our plates in chocolate ! Bar closed at ten but that eas no problem. The only gripe we had was the heat. Ive seen a few reviews that said hotel was too cold so maybe that was why. We loved are stay and will definitely return
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Sudbury House, Guest Services / Front Office at Sudbury House
Responded Oct. 19, 2020
Dear Gill R, We are so pleased your enjoyed your stay with us & we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Best Wishes Sudbury House Hotel
Read more
US$89 - US$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
best western faringdon, faringdon best western
United KingdomEnglandOxfordshireFaringdon
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sudbury House
Which popular attractions are close to Sudbury House?
Nearby attractions include Faringdon Folly Tower and Woodland (0.2 km), The Swan & The Faringdon Brewery, Faringdon (0.7 km), and Faringdon Cycle Park (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sudbury House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Sudbury House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sudbury House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sudbury House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Faringdon Coffee House, The Viceroy Tandoori, and Sadlers Catering.
Is Sudbury House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Faringdon.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sudbury House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sudbury House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sudbury House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Sudbury House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Buscot House (5.3 km) and Kelmscott Manor (5.3 km).
Is Sudbury House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.