We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Crown Coaching Inn

248 reviews
Save
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (7)
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good28%
  • Average21%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“court room”(13 reviews)
“old building”(19 reviews)
“full english”(14 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Accessible rooms
Babysitting
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (248)Write a Review
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
75
66
53
27
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
75
66
53
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourt roomold buildingfull englishlovely old pubseparate showergood nights sleeplarge roomplenty of hot waterbiscuitslocal pubspecial occasioncarverytlclandlordalescorridorspubs
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights beginning of December. Unfortunately we were in Faringdon for a funeral. We arrived around 9pm and a young gentleman checked us in. He also told us that we'd been upgraded to the court room. At that...More

Thank Love2travel898
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Upgraded on arrival to a 4 poster room, recent large new bed, and matching furniture. New curtains. Ensuite shower room might benefit from a little TLC & a couple of hooks on the door maybe. Very good breakfast, fresh cooked to order. Proper tomato &...More

Thank Tonybythesea
Reviewed 18 October 2017

This is the best steak and ale pie I've had! Would definitely eat there again. Loved the choice of freshly cooked specials, rather than a standard menu. You can see the general upkeep of the hotel has been improved on recently and I loved the...More

Thank happyhols9597
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

This was one of our favourite years back. I had read all the bad reviews recently so called in just for a look. It looks so sad and uncared for. Everything, everywhere needs a good spring clean and upgrading. The food looked unloved and lacking...More

1  Thank Brian W
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Booked to stay here for a weekend but only stayed one night and actually got a refund for the second night we didn’t stay. We were in a “twin”room. So small you couldn’t swing a kitten let alone a cat. Window was so dirty we...More

Thank Jeanette D
Response from Matthew T, General Manager at Old Crown Coaching InnResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you Jeanette D for your review and we hope that your husband is feeling better after his awful ill night here - it was unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay. We were very happy to give you a refund because of his...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345649
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Babysitting
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Price range
US$76 - US$154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$76 - US$154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Adam P
26 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jan L | Reviewed this property |
I wouldn't know, you need to contact the owner....sorry
0
Votes
James C
21 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Heather M | Property representative |
Hi James, we currently have 15 rooms
1
Vote
Samantha B
13 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BBA2012 | Property representative |
Doom Bar, Harry Chapmans and 2 guest ales
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Disabled & wheelchair users may need assistance, contact hotel in advance."
Read review
"Stay somewhere else"
Read review
"Use another hotel"
Read review
"Avoid hotel"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing