We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mill House Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$155*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$155*
US$155*
US$155*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Mill House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 468: English reviews
Start your review of Mill House Hotel
 Click to rate
Hayling island, hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

After recently getting married we wanted a nice quiet chilled mini moon in the uk and this hotel certainly ticked all the boxes. On arrival we were blown away by the peaceful setting and land surrounding us it was nothing like our everyday hustle and bustle. We parked our car and walked through to reception, we were greeted by a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey W
Hampshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked 2 nights DBB. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and outside seating is very good. We were in the old part and inevitably the floors creaked. It was a spacious room and very comfortable bed. The bathroom had been updated with twin basins and shower over bath. A let down was an old toilet mat with bleach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenHampshire
Millhousesales, Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Mill House Hotel. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in the beautiful setting of our hotel. Thank you for bringing these to our attention, we have taken the toilet mat out and changed the light bulb in the room. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While away for a weekend with friends , one of the gents was planning places to eat in Kingham, but Mill House did not appear on the "Google radar" and we came across it by chance on a walk in the area. They were able to fit in our party of 5 for dinner that evening, but warned there may...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
Millhousesales, Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Mill House Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your dinner with us! We look forward to seeing you again!

Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I have stayed here several times since the new owners took over and began their improvements to the hotel about 5 years ago. We did miss 2016, but our return this year saw additional al fresco seating and it was the first time that we have stayed in a refurbished room. Gone is the old dark furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lotuseater45
Millhousesales, Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Mill House Hotel. We are delighted to hear you had another enjoyable stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We stopped off here on a cycle ride. Sat in the beautiful gardens and soaked up the sun. We just had a pint and a cuppa. At first I thought the tea was rather expensive - at £3 or so....but it was a big pot so enough for two cups and it came with 4 delicious home made biscuits...so I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debsy42_10
Millhousesales, Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stop at the Mill House Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.

Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Recently had dinner at this hotel and was most disappointed at the poor quality of food. The set three course menu costs £30. Starters were a very small piece of rubbery mackerel on sliced carrots and bean sprouts drowned in soy sauce and a boring plate of tomato and mozzarella : main courses were both "wild boar loin" with mashed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom L
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mill House Hotel, I am so sorry you were disappointed with your meal last week, as always we take our trip advisor reviews very seriously and look into the comments made by our guests, the lovely waitress who served you assures me she asked you during each course if everything was...

Fairford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The owners were away on a well deserved break but the restaurant ran like clockwork as usual. The kitchen produced yet another scrumptious lunch served by cheerful ,conscientious front of house staff. We eat out regularly and travel nearly 30 miles to eat here. Well worth the effort !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raymond b
Millhousesales, Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Mill House Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoy your lunches with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

It was our 3rd stay at the hotel and it never disappoints us. The staff are so polite, friendly and helpful and accommodated us with 2 dogs. They are making improvements to the rooms so this made this trip even nicer. A lovely double room with new bathroom. The price of a room there is more reasonable than any other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heidikelley183
Millhousesales, Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a glowing review of the Mill House Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoy your time with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2017

A lovely hotel in wonderful grounds. We have been coming here for sometime and there was a lovely young lady who was so welcoming nothing was to much trouble, sadly she left a few moths ago and on my last visit was served by a very rude young man who had no customer skills at all and was extremely miserable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank palace20
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our Hotel, I am terribly sorry you did not enjoy your last visit to the Mill House Hotel. I think I am correct in saying you did not stay with us, just called in for Tea and to enjoy our facilities? Unfortunately the lovely waitress who used to look after...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Living locally this is a hidden treasure I really do not want to share. The bar is cosy and friendly and their service is excellent. The food is good, cooked well and excellent value. Never been disappointed with my meal whether a lunch with friends or in a larger party.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baytree2014
Millhousesales, Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Mill House Hotel. I am pleased to hear you always enjoy your meal with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingham
7.0 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
948 reviews
10.3 km away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,048 reviews
9.4 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,388 reviews
6.3 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#1 of 1 in Shipton under Wychwood
219 reviews
7.2 km away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mill House Hotel is one of the last independent family owned hotels in the Cotswolds. Nestling in 10 acres of lawned gardens this converted flour mill is steeped in history dating back to the Domesday Book of 1086. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mill House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Price Range: $249 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel And Restaurant
Mill Hotel Kingham
Mill House Hotel Kingham, England - Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mill House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mill House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One of the newly renovated rooms”
heidikelley183, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have been upgraded just chech when booking”
375kennetht, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best views are over looking the garden at the back of the Mill House”
288PaulR, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As the hotel is located in its own grounds a garden view room would be lovely in the summer.”
jeanetteb778, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay at this Hotel as we are very local. It looks a really lovely place to stay and the Hotel and Gardens look lovely!”
deborahl681, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$155* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$155
PricelineUS$155
LateRooms.comUS$155
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates