We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Spread Eagle Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Spread Eagle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Spread Eagle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 514: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a very quaint little town in Oxfordshire. About half an hour from Oxford by car. Or there's a bus, the 280. Car park at the rear at a cost of £3 for 24 hours. We stayed on an excellent Groupon deal, bed, breakfast and evening meal. Food was amazing! Staff were lovely. Room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou2295
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Had a Groupon for dinner, bed and breakfast. A little wary, due to some of the reviews but I honestly don't know what people expect for the money. As far as I am concerned, it was great value. The dinner was really tasty, with quality ingredients and the drinks (which you paid for) were reasonably priced with a good choice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn999
Dorking
Reviewed 3 March 2017

My friend and I stayed one night on March 1st at The Spreadeagle, it was a nice spaciousness hotel right in the centre of town which we found very convenient. We went with a Groupon voucher which included an evening meal, the food was of excellent quality and very well cooked. The breakfast was equally enjoyable with a good choice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Had a Groupon deal for a 2 night stay inc dinner first night. Lovely room - not in main building but still with lots of character, nicely decorated and spotless modern bathroom. Delicious dinner on first night of stay with added bonus of 1/2 price bubbly so really good value.Staff all friendly and polite.Breakfast on both days was serve yourself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cobblers1961
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We had a great over night stay, staff were friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. Food was lovely and room amazing with the biggest TV I have ever seen in a hotel room. This hotel has very quirky decor that has a tinge of Lewis Carroll to it and just had to sit in one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzieC_3
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SuzieC_3 Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your stay. The Spread Eagle is a big part of the local heritage and well liked by locals and the visitors in many ways. I am very pleased with your lines which are relating us to Lewis Carroll, which is an honour. You are always welcome.

Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Will not be negative about The Spread Eagle. A nice hotel, friendly helpful staff, great location right in the centre of Thame .We attended a wedding there recently, and, the facility for weddings is excellent. Large separate area with garden, bar, ceremonial area, and great reception area all very well run. My main issue is the room we stayed in....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank promenade39
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear promenade39 Thank your review. We appreciate your comments both negative and positive. We will be refurbishing those "tired" rooms in the near future. I am very pleased to hear that the majority aspects of your stay were very satisfying. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We visited on Valentines day so had the special menu, which was excellent. This is an old building so some quirky bits. Our ensuite would have been much better with a shower as the room wasn't really big enough for a bath. Staff & welcome was very good. We would be happy to make a return visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carole W Thank you for your review.. We will be very happy welcoming you back here soon .. Many thanks again

Reviewed 15 February 2017

Nice hotel with nice decorations soft and cosy. The restaurant is quite good and service in it is very good. The hotel service is less good. I had issue with WI-FI in the suit and they didn't do anything. Otherwise it is nice to stay in it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benoit C
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Benoit C Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry for the WiFi issue. Unfortunately there mush have been a technical fault during the time you were using the WiFi. Otherwise we have no issues with this. I am sure we would have resolved it if we could. Thanks again

Thame, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We had an amazing valentines meal, lovely to have music provided by guy on a guitar, just right , not to loud. Service was good provided by Sorin and his team. After the Spread not being so popular in the past feel it is definitely on the up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbennell
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cbennel, Thank you very much .. we are looking forward to seeing you back here soon. Thanks again

Pueblo West, Colorado
Reviewed 13 February 2017

My wife and I stayed at the hotel October of 2016. We requested a late checkout, which we were told at the time would be complimentary. However, we were ultimately charged. After weeks and weeks of toing and froing with the hotel management the issue still hasn't been resolved and our complaint is being ignored.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason L
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jason L, I am sorry that you were disappointed about the late checkout charge. This is a common practice in the industry and does not justify you reviewing us two starts because of this. I wonder how many stars you will be rewarding us if we gave this free of charge! Thanks for taking time and making a review.

185 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thame
0.1 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thame
51 reviews
3.3 km away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
6.0 km away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
594 reviews
11.1 km away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
650 reviews
6.1 km away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Address: 16-17 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 2BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Price Range: $147 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spread Eagle Hotel Thame, England, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Spread Eagle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a quiet room, especially Friday or Saturday don't take room 26”
jrapeter, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Saw much better rooms on internet before we booked .ask for a renovated room”
KathyM683, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Talk to the very helpful staff - they will make every effort to accommodate your wishes.”
evaneek, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Garden rooms look lovely but are more expensive”
Melaniekc, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Garden Room quiet and roomy. Two suites with two rooms.”
Iandless, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5