We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Gaskell Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Gaskell Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 104: English reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

Stopped at place for a meal after a long day, non residents welcome, although this is not immediately apparent. Didn't need to book a table. Received a warm welcome, good service, polite staff. Food was was good. Recommend the restaurant, Ideal for walkers and cyclists.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2015

What a wonderful find. From the front door we walked over ten miles on four different walks each one bringing us back to the town for a welcome break. We were so well looked after. Superb rooms, food and friendly staff. Nothing phased Jean!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rcat2014
GaskellMews, Owner at The Gaskell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We were delighted to have such a lovely group of people and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Your Harley Davidson Motorbikes looked very smart on the car park too. It was a pleasure to look after you and thank you for your reference to Jean...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Stayed at the Gaskell Arms for 3 nights 27th June - our experience was wonderful - food was excellent - breakfast exceptional - staff were super friendly - we stayed in the mews and our room was perfect - could not have asked for a more perfect weekend. Lots to do and see Blists Hill - iron bridge museum -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorraine r
GaskellMews, Owner at The Gaskell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review - we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Telford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

About 30 people turned up after a junior under 12 football tournament, attitude of mangeress left a lot to be desired, kept checking to see what we were doing in garden and at one point came out and told us all of for not teaching our children manners and respect, and accused them of ripping up flowers from the garden....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve B
GaskellMews, Owner at The Gaskell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

We always welcome well behaved children. Unfortunately your large group of children were out of control - running in to the hotel at speed shouting and screaming into the lounge and dining room area and attempting to order food and drinks at the bar, which is illegal under the Licensing Laws. At one point I had to ask one of...

wales
Reviewed 12 July 2015

The room was very clean and a good size if rather tired décor but it was OK.The food though was so overpriced badly presented and just about edible. . My starter was deep fried brie and rosemary which was clearly bought in (it is simple to ke so why don't you do it yourself) My main steak pie was half...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jonesstev3
GaskellMews, Owner at The Gaskell Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you had such a disappointing meal with us. We did have a fully qualified agency chef in covering annual leave and your comments have been passed to him. Unfortunately I was not given the opportunity to rectify this with you at the time which is a great shame. I am sorry you have had to...

Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2015

Stayed for the second time last week, booked for 3 nights in same room as previously. A warm welcome as we were remembered from before. Room large and very big en suite, dated but very clean and comfortable. Didn't eat in as it is expensive but good food, drinks reasonable. Breakfasts are excellent and very filling, don't need lunch! Great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank msc_ytc
Portishead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2015

I was in the area on business and needed a room for just one night. I found this Inn on Expedia as my usual haunts were all full. Situated on the junction of main roads going into the delightful village of Much Wenlock, which lies between Shrewsbury, Ironbridge, Ludlow and Bridgnorth. Therefore ideally placed for the many visitor attractions in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Portsmouth
Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights last week with my elderly mum. We requested a ground floor twin room and what we got was perfect. Upon arrival I was greeted by a lovely friendly receptionist and shown our room which was accessed by walking round the front of the hotel on the Main Street. Our own private entrance all on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Wife and I use the Gaskell Arms quite frequently and today took daughter and grandchildren for coffee. This is a three star hotel. On previous visits we have always been welcomed by staff who I would classify as "young" and that welcome has been part of the charm. Arrived today at about 1030 to be greeted by a more mature...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waffler_2
west mids
Reviewed 26 April 2015

good points lovely friendly staff beautiful food (must try is the steak and ale pie and the chicken with leeks wow) very clean little bit pricey beautiful location with many old style pubs to dine out in ten minutes in car to ironbridge and bridgnorth definatley would love to return soon as possible bad points we had to come home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melanieWestMids

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
0.2 km away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
400 reviews
5.8 km away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
874 reviews
10.0 km away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
702 reviews
17.8 km away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
582 reviews
9.0 km away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Gaskell Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Price Range: $144 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gaskell Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Gaskell Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Gaskell Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“southside is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 21mickb, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were excellent standards”
 of 5 bubbles 329maureenm, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“have a meal in the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles jules601, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“As Hotel on cross roads you hear traffic noise but after midnight not really a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles DouglasB390, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I would not visit this hotel again.”
 of 5 bubbles VictorianMum, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5