We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-10-29 2017-10-30
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Old Rectory on the Lake

    Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2017-10-292017-10-30
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Traveller (1168)
    Room & Suite (234)
    Pool & Beach (102)
    Overview
    • Excellent96%
    • Very good2%
    • Average1%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “hot tub” (101 reviews)
    “ricky's cooking” (39 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Hot Tub
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Family Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    Wheelchair Access
    5.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    Oct 29Oct 30
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    View all 0 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (944)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 930 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Such a beautiful location, overlooking the lake. Room was comfortable, with enormous bathroom. Unfortunately we stayed the wrong time of week to be able to eat here in the evening, and judging by the lovely breakfast (fresh spinach in he eggs Florentine) it would have...More

    Thank MrKemp
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 6 days ago

    Hello there and I am sorry we were unable to offer you an evening meal during your stay - Ricky only cooks now on Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights. However I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast. It was my pleasure...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    The location of the Old Rectory is absolutely beautiful, on the edge of a tranquil lake and at the end of a no-through lane, well away from the road through to Tywyn on the other side of the lake. The rooms and bathrooms are high...More

    Thank Gillian B
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 6 days ago

    Gillian, many thanks for coming back to see us and we are both so pleased that you enjoyed your second stay in our home again. Thanks also for mentioning my food and it was my pleasure to cook for you both - to be described...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    Dear John and Ricky, Thank you for a lovely stay - last minute decision on our part. We were just passing through but there actually are many things that we want to do in the area, so we'll be back. The food was great and...More

    Thank katexxxleeds
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 1 week ago

    Hello Kate, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to perhaps welcoming you both into our home in the future. Very best wishes from John and...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    The Old Rectory was a wonderful birthday treat for me booked by my husband - what a find - we went for a long weekend in June, we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble, food & wine were great,...More

    Thank Lynne R
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 2 weeks ago

    It was our pleasure to help you celebrate your birthday a few months back and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our home. Thanks for writing such complementary things Lynne about your time here. The swallows and ospreys have now gone...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    A beautiful, serene location! The views were fantastic! My husband and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary and we couldn't have spent our time in a better location. The food prepared by Ricky was superb. And John was so helpful. We woke to a rainy...More

    1  Thank laineyk2017
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded 2 weeks ago

    Hello to you in Red Deer in Alberta, Canada and we are glad to see that you have returned safely from your silver wedding UK anniversary travels. We are so pleased that your car rental issues did not affect you staying with us and I...More

    The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
    1,619 reviews
    #3 of 7 hotels in Llanberis
     
    Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
    327 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Beddgelert
     
    Swallow Falls Hotel
    542 reviews
    #6 of 7 hotels in Betws-y-Coed
     
    Ty Gwyn Hotel
    686 reviews
    #1 of 7 hotels in Betws-y-Coed
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Travellers' Choice2017 Winner
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hot Tub
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$142 - US$147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 4
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • Wales >
    • North Wales >
    • Snowdonia National Park >
    • Talyllyn
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (1168)
    Room & Suite (234)
    Pool & Beach (102)
    Dining (83)
    Hotel & Grounds (875)
    Bathroom (24)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
    327 reviews
    40.03 km away
     
    Swallow Falls Hotel
    542 reviews
    48.33 km away
     
    Ty Gwyn Hotel
    686 reviews
    46.83 km away
     
    The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
    1,619 reviews
    51.59 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Ty Te Cadair Tea Room
    35 reviews
    2.63 km away
    Caffi'r Ceunant
    104 reviews
    4.34 km away
    Andy & Adam's Cafe and Shop
    41 reviews
    4.75 km away
    Ty'n y Cornel Hotel Restaurant
    45 reviews
    .39 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Cader Idris
    337 reviews
    3.33 km away
    Corris Mine Explorers
    180 reviews
    4.22 km away
    Castell y Bere
    56 reviews
    4.49 km away
    King Arthur's Labyrinth
    491 reviews
    4.34 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    chri2jellett
    15 June 2016|
    Answer
    Response from PompeyJonathan | Reviewed this property |
    Hi Chris - I think you need to contact the Old Rectory directly - regards Jonathan
    0
    Votes
    gixernick
    24 January 2016|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from VandRcardiff | Reviewed this property |
    Look on the Machloop website for flying activity in the area round machynlleth. John at the old rectory may be able to advuse as well. Have fun!
    0
    Votes
    Anthony J
    1 December 2015|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Snowdoniatraveller | Property representative |
    Hello
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Both Craig Goch and Mynydd Rugog have wonderful views of the lake and the mountains"
    Read review
    "All are simply amazing"
    Read review
    "Exquisite views and sublime peace! We stayed in a room with a view of the Lake which was amazing!"
    Read review
    "Best views from the first floor rooms"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing