We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Rectory on the Lake

Save
Traveller (1203)
Room & Suite (264)
Pool & Beach (102)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent95%
  • Very good3%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“hot tub”(97 reviews)
“ricky's cooking”(43 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (987)
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
970 results
Traveller rating
931
29
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
931
29
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubricky's cookingthe craig goch roomhosts johnfree standing bathmynydd rugog roomroll top bathstunning viewscadair idriswarm welcomeeggs benedictbed and breakfastbefore dinnerlocal areaidyllic locationicing on the cakethe main house
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
411 - 415 of 970 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We spent a night here last weekend and enjoyed the tranquility of the beautiful lakeside setting. The host was attentive and informative. The dinner was excellent and there was a wide choice for breakfast. Our room was comfortable, clean and had a view of the...More

2  Thank Karen R
Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded August 26, 2014

Karen, many thanks for posting this kind review which is really appreciated and I am so pleased you found us to be a 'really pleasant find'. We look forward to perhaps welcoming you back to our home in the future. Kind regards, Ricky - chef...More

Reviewed August 21, 2014

We were lucky enough to be able to pop over from Yorkshire again to the Rectory on the lake recently driven by my wife's over whelming urge to try Ricky's wonderful food again. It didn't disappoint ...nor did the Rectory retreat where we stayed this...More

2  Thank acefaceWestYorks
Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded August 22, 2014

Thanks for returning a year later to see us again and for leaving another review here on TripAdvisor - both are truly appreciated. Thanks also for describing my food as 'wonderful'! Best wishes from chef Ricky!

Reviewed August 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Old Rectory on the Lake from 1-3 August and we loved it. The first thing that struck us upon arriving is just how much John and Rick care about their charming house on the lake, and from the...More

1  Thank Talarsb
Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded August 22, 2014

What an incredible account of your stay with us and thanks so much for sharing your thoughts about what we try and offer here at The Old Rectory on the lake. Indeed we are bowled over by what you have written! However the only small...More

Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

It takes a lot to draw us out of Cornwall, in fact almost every time we leave we end up yearning to be back in our own little piece of paradise. However this charming B&B (although this title really doesn't do the rectory justice, think...More

2  Thank Danielle R
Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded August 22, 2014

Thanks for prising yourselves out of Cornwall and coming to stay here with us at Tal-y-llyn in southern Snowdonia. It was great to meet you all. This very detailed review is truly appreciated and thanks for the Danielle top five hot tips of must do...More

Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights last week and wish we could have had longer. What an amazing and stunning place to stay. We stayed in the Craig Goch room which was just beautiful. The Website tells no lies. The Rectory on the lake is...More

1  Thank Joanne3369
Response from Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the LakeResponded August 21, 2014

Thanks for scoring us so highly Jo and George! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to your return and perhaps sampling some of Ricky's evening cuisine. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable three days at our...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Talyllyn
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
US$143 - US$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$143 - US$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (1203)
Room & Suite (264)
Pool & Beach (102)
Dining (93)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
chri2jellett
June 15, 2016|
Answer
Response from PompeyJonathan | Reviewed this property |
Hi Chris - I think you need to contact the Old Rectory directly - regards Jonathan
0
Votes
gixernick
January 24, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from VandRcardiff | Reviewed this property |
Look on the Machloop website for flying activity in the area round machynlleth. John at the old rectory may be able to advuse as well. Have fun!
0
Votes
Anthony J
December 1, 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Snowdoniatraveller | Property representative |
Hello
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Mynydd Rugog room offers great views across the lake"
Read review
"All I can say is monkaS"
Read review
"Just ask for a view of the Lake."
Read review
"There are only four rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing