We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Friendly Spirit Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Friendly Spirit Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
Start your review of Friendly Spirit Inn
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The food is great, nice choice of beverages and a real friendly atmosphere. Stopped off here a few weeks ago and will stop off again. The young chef with the london accent is is very good, and polite, picturesque surroundings, I would recommend to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As part of the Britstops scheme, we stayed the night in our motor home. The staff were very personable, extremely helpful and friendly and the food lovely. As we are vegetarians/vegans, cruelty-free food is essential to us, and there were several vegetarian options on the menu. The spicy tomato tagliatelle was marvellous and the vegetables perfectly cooked. The two ladies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vegancaroline
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here just the one night with family and we were not made to feel overly welcome . The rooms in the main building were exceedingly cold and when we commented on this it was dismissed, and no apology .. when we couldn't get our key to work when we arrived back late and had to wake another of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JacquiB1107
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Visited The Friendly Spirit Inn in Cannington on Saturday 12th November 2016 for an evening meal. I must say that we were all made to feel very welcome. The meal was excellent as was the service. It was a pleasant change to find a place where everything was spot on. The meals were all delivered to our table at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bevmart
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Its near to Steart so handy for Birdwatching, Breakfast was nice, shame the heating went off in the night so woke up very cold, it says next to the heater not to touch it as it is on a timer,so we never touched it, but apart from that we had a lovely weekend, there is a really nice Indian Restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Birder186220
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Yes I can agree with the comment on here don,t dare complain. We booked dinner for 6.30pm the place was almost empty apart from one table and a few people at the bar. We were shown are table and waited ages before our order was taken after we asked them to take our order. The main courses were good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesliechnt
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Booked 4 nights due to work in the area, what a dirty experience, room had a shared bathroom covered in other people’s body hair, complained to staff who were rude and offensive, It was clear then that my stay was going to be hostile, I was made to feel very unwelcome and could not wait to leave. When checking out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jackie W
Betty B, Manager at Friendly Spirit Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all I would like to apologise for your experience at our hotel. I am afraid when you booked the room you did know that is a shared bathroom that's why is cheaper on the price than the other rooms. Unfortunetly if someone using it during the day or night and not clean it we do not...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We were just passing enroute to Kilve beach and this place looked inviting, so we stopped for sandwich lunches. The baguettes are well cooked and service is quick. As I said, the few tables by the door catch the sun, and there are hanging baskets by the garden. That makes for a lovely setting on a nice summer day. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
Betty B, Manager at Friendly Spirit Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback we take everything on board. Sorry about the dirty menu and missing napkins it should not happened. I had a word with front of house about it. Take care. Kind regards

Reviewed 27 July 2016

Stayed here in a large group that has used the Friendly spirit for over 20 years on and off and for the last ten years on the bounce. It will sadly be the last time. No hot water in some of the rooms, making us pay for breakfast that had already been agreed with the room price, being told no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jerzy S
leatherhead
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Been going to the Friendly annually for 10 years in a large group but this will be the last. The previous owners went out of their way to look after us and nothing was too much trouble but things have changed. No hot water for two days meant my arm pits matched my mood. No offer on a discount for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scoop_10

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgwater
4.9 km away
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel
8.7 km away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.4 km away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 4 in Cannington
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Babbling Brook
The Babbling Brook
#12 of 31 in Bridgwater
23 reviews
6.5 km away
The Bower Inn
The Bower Inn
#2 of 31 in Bridgwater
338 reviews
1.0 km away
Malt Shovel Inn
Malt Shovel Inn
#2 of 4 in Cannington
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Friendly Spirit Inn

Address: Friendly Spirit Brook Street | Cannington, Bridgwater TA5 2HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Price Range: $82 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Friendly Spirit Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Friendly Spirit Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendly Spirit Inn Bridgwater, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Friendly Spirit Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Friendly Spirit Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good parking, excellent food, quiet”
A3933ELmichaelh, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room outside away from the pub as they have live music on saturdays.”
Birder186220, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check where the Friendly Spirit ( a not unpleasant ghost the story says) is expected to be”
grrperry, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 7 its the haunted one ;-)”
Traaacer, 27 Oct 2011 | Read review
“There are 3 or 4 rooms on ground level at the back of the hotel. Excellent if you have a problem with stairs.”
Lulu629, 19 Sep 2011 | Read review
5 of 5