We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holbrook House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holbrook House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

583 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 582: English reviews
Start your review of Holbrook House Hotel
 Click to rate
St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautiful old house with lots of character. The rooms are all individually decorated and very comfortable. The bed linen was top quality. The staff are so helpful and friendly, you really feel that they care about you enjoying your stay. Six of us met up for the weekend. We had a spa treatment and relaxing swim and sauna in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Les_and_Rhod
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our third visit to this place and sadly our last. Although a large hotel it needs lots of money spent on it as it looks old and tired. Again the room was cold to the point we had to ask for additional heating. Breakfast is wonderful staff are lovely prices reasonable just cannot bare bring cold

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Surreysurfers
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this table so my partner and both our daughters could enjoy a lovely lunch together, We had to change our booking time due to having to pick our children up from different parts of the country, heavy traffic,the staff were very accommodating, and made us feel very welcome. Lunch was so lovely, taste ,presentation, I would highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dimeaden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cosy, comfortable congenial. Friendly, helpful staff, can't do enough to make your stay a pleasure. Log fires, blazing away to enjoy a drink before a superb dinner in the restaurant. Big spacious twin bedded room, very good linen and comfy beds. What more can you want. We'll be back again and again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol B
Gloucestershire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I noticed the reviews by those who said the furniture was dated and faded, but if people want new furniture and fittings they should stay in a new 'concrete' hotel in a town or suburbs. Everywhere in this hotel was scrupulously clean, and the furnishings were in keeping with a lovely 19th century house. I was disappointed that the spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank St_Briavels_Glos
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I received a spa day for 2 as a Christmas gift from my husband, he didn't want to go, so I took a friend. We had a lovely relaxing day and both had massages as part of our package. We both had the best massage we've ever had. However, we did feel that the whole spa area good do with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jude W
Darren M, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jude W, Thank you for taking the time writing, I am delighted to hear of your massages. I understand the general points you have raised regarding the club and we are beginning a plan to improve all aspects of the club. We do hope that you will return soon. Kind Regards Darren McGinley

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for the weekend as we had a wedding to attend in the area and it was an excellent find. Beautiful old house with gorgeous grounds with a real oldy worldy feel to it whilst offering all mod cons. The room we stayed in was very spacious and the bathroom was almost as big! Lovely free standing bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Widget67
Somerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I visited the spa for a relaxing bit of r and r. I had a back, neck and shoulder massage while my wife went for the Indian head massage. While the treatments were excellent for both of us the facilities are not up to scratch. We arrived, had our treatments, went for a swim and made use...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tomaoram
Outwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Holbrook House is a beautiful country house hotel. Convenient location (just off A303). Excellent food, great service, crisp white linen, spa, beauty salon, large gym & fitness studio, beautiful rooms, original features & fabulous gardens & surroundings. It's clean; but it's very tired. It's desperately in need of a refurb (although kitchen looks brand new). It has all the makings...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Camilla M
Mere, Wilts
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Beautiful country house, in lovely grounds. The staff are so welcoming and helpful, and it feels as if you are the only visitors, such is their care and attention. We had afternoon tea, which was very extensive, far more than we could eat, and it kept coming. Warm atmosphere, comfy armchairs - didn't want to leave.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wincanton
16.0 km away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
921 reviews
26.0 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
809 reviews
6.3 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 km away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
32.5 km away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
666 reviews
10.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holbrook House is a privately owned Georgian country house with a warm and welcoming atmosphere, set in twenty acres of unspoiled woodland and rolling pastures. Surrounded by the abundant nature, wildlife and sparkling rivers of southwest England, Holbrook lies within easy reach of London and the Midlands. Holbrook, a unique home in the country, is the perfect venue for your next leisurely holiday, romantic break, or special event. AA 3 Star (85%) - 2 AA Rosettes ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holbrook House Hotel

Address: Wincanton BA9 8BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Price Range: $152 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbrook House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Holbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbrook Hotel Wincanton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holbrook House Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holbrook House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lift, so higher floors are only for the fit.”
 of 5 bubbles St_Briavels_Glos, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rupert room”
 of 5 bubbles Widget67, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The garden rooms are very dated but are large, take dogs & great for families. Lovely white linen - clean”
 of 5 bubbles 483camillam, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay the small surcharge for a junior suite”
 of 5 bubbles DaiH2904, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not book a Garden room they are remote from the hotel and freezing cold. They are not worth the rate charged.”
 of 5 bubbles 96miken, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5