We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holbrook House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holbrook House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

576 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holbrook House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 575: English reviews
Berkshire UK
Reviewed 7 August 2015

We stay at Holbrook for 1 night as a break from our long journey to Cornwall. The hotel is minutes from the A303 so very convenient. The hotel is set in spacious grounds which are well kept and include a grass tennis court. Our junior suite was very spacious and comfortable but like previous comments was somewhat tired looking in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adorling
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear adorling, Thank you for your comments, Holbrook certainly is in a good vantage point, when breaking the journey up on the way down to Cornwall. Will shall be refreshing the rooms in the coming months, so hopefully you'll see the difference when your next passing. Kind Regards Darren McGinley

Reviewed 7 August 2015

We visited this hotel for a romantic weekend away, and were not disappointed. The hotel was set in beautiful surroundings and the staff were very friendly. Although the room we stayed in could do with a little updating they were very clean and tidy.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Liz S
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liz, Thank you for the lovely comments and we will be refurbishing rooms very shortly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Darren McGinley

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2015

we arrived early-room was ready and absolutely lovely. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was warm and relaxing and we had a wonderful few hours sitting in the beautiful grounds, chilling in the spa and then a lovely meal. Great place.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Poppywishbone
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Poppywishbone, Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad that you had a relaxing stay with us at Holbrook House. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards Darren McGinley

South West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We stayed here for one night on 23/7. The location just a couple of miles off the A303 is perfect The setting & grounds are very pleasing, and the welcome reassuring from friendly staff throughout. Yes some of the furnishings & decor are a little tired but everywhere was clean, the rooms generously sized and characterful. Considering the cost these...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sanders1766
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sanders1766, Thank you for your lovely comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your evening meal with us in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holbrook House the next time you are passing by. All the best Darren McGinley

Wellington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

I stayed here with a friend for my birthday. We were originally booked to stay in February but there was a kitchen fire so we unfortunately had to move to May. We had a smooth check in and were booked for spa and afternoon tea. The room was lovely. A large twin overlooking the tennis courts with a huge bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Spinny4
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spinny 4, Thank you for the positive review and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Holbrook House again in the not too distant future. All the best Darren McGinley

Walton-on-the-Naze, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2015

We were visiting family in Wincanton and this is ideal for access to the both the town and surrounding places of interest (Five minutes drive to my daughters house). On arrival it impressed immediately that this was a building of status, it does have an interesting history and the grounds do not disappoint. Yes the furnishings inside are a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Derek P
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Derek, Thank you for your great review, we do aim for Holbrook to have the 'home from home' atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next come to visit your daughter. Kind Regards Darren McGinley

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015

My friend and I came for a spa day here last weekend. First impressions were great, the Hotel is beautiful and the spa looked lovely and had great facilities. We had booked the spa package for their June offer which was £60 and included a 25 minute treatment, use of the facilities and a glass of bubbly. We arrived about...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tiffany S
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tiffany, I am very disappointed to hear of what happened on your day with us and I will look into the matter personally. However, I am glad that the rest of your day went well and I look forward to inviting you back to Holbrook House. Kind regards Darren McGinley

Reviewed 19 July 2015

Planned as a night away as a surprise birthday treat for my wife. The driveway approach was very impressive. Very warm welcome at reception and soon felt at home. Typical old Manor House with bags of character. We had a room overlooking the tennis court, huge bathroom, very VERY large bed that was so comfortable it was untrue. Various chairs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tara P
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tara, I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us at Holbrook House and I looking forward to welcoming you back for a winter break. Where you can snuggle up next to a crackly log fire in one of lounges. Kind regards Darren McGinley

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2015

Needing a well deserved quiet break we could not have chosen a better hotel and spa. From our first impressions of driving up the curving drive we knew we had chosen well as we were greeted by a stunning ivy clad manor house with fantastic aspects over manicured lawns, tennis court and huge 400 yr old trees. If, like us,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael G
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you for the wonderful review. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Holbrook House in the near future. All the best Darren McGinley

Reviewed 17 July 2015

This is a country house hotel set in lovely grounds. The décor befits the house style but our suite, whilst very spacious indeed and well equipped, was rather tired. What set the stay apart was: the staff, who were really excellent, nothing was too much trouble and they were attentive without being obtrusive; and the food which was of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcus R
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marcus, Thank you for your positive review and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Holbrook soon. Kind regards Darren McGinley

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wincanton
16.0 km away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
900 reviews
26.0 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
783 reviews
1.5 km away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
173 reviews
24.7 km away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
32.5 km away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holbrook House is a privately owned Georgian country house with a warm and welcoming atmosphere, set in twenty acres of unspoiled woodland and rolling pastures. Surrounded by the abundant nature, wildlife and sparkling rivers of southwest England, Holbrook lies within easy reach of London and the Midlands. Holbrook, a unique home in the country, is the perfect venue for your next leisurely holiday, romantic break, or special event. AA 3 Star (85%) - 2 AA Rosettes ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holbrook House Hotel

Address: Wincanton BA9 8BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Price Range: $129 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbrook House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Holbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbrook Hotel Wincanton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holbrook House Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holbrook House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The garden rooms are very dated but are large, take dogs & great for families. Lovely white linen - clean”
 of 5 bubbles 483camillam, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay the small surcharge for a junior suite”
 of 5 bubbles DaiH2904, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not book a Garden room they are remote from the hotel and freezing cold. They are not worth the rate charged.”
 of 5 bubbles 96miken, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Kingsbury lovely”
 of 5 bubbles mare1963, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The garden rooms are very nice”
 of 5 bubbles johnb741, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5