We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
2nd Avenue Parkway 100 Centrum, Burton upon Trent DE14 2WF England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (54)
Dining (13)
Room & Suite (7)

About

#6 of 11 hotels in Burton upon Trent
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

38Car recommended
Grade: 38 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
437Reviews3Q+A71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 140
  • 174
  • 87
  • 24
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Keith H wrote a review Sep. 2022
London, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
IHG hotels are always clean with the clean promise they do. Never a issue with and holiday inn or express iv stayed in. Free breakfast is always the bonus with these budget hotels. Dinner in evening avoid bad bad bad
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Staycationf00die wrote a review Aug. 2022
14 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel is very clean and comfortable, we had 2 adjoining rooms in 1 of the rooms we needed to use the sofa bed this does make it a tight squeeze. We used the hotel as a base for Alton Towers so weren’t in the room much. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast wasn’t the best no individual cereals, preserves etc. ok to grab toast and fruit on the run. Room was red hot and we had to use standing fans to try and cool the room overnight. Overall a great stay and would certainly stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Pauline H wrote a review Aug. 2022
10 contributions4 helpful votes
Staff were friendly. Room was clean, bathroom was well stocked with towels. Great walk in shower. It was our pups first overnighter in a hotel, despite advance notice, we were on the 3rd floor. (Bit of a dash when she wanted to spend a penny). Air-con didn't work, but we were given a fan from reception. Pub next door did nice food and offer a discount for hotel guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ellythemoo wrote a review Jul. 2022
Cheltenham, United Kingdom52 contributions34 helpful votes
This is a budget hotel and you get what you pay for. You won't get a set of towels, as an example. But the staff are second to none. They are so friendly and personable that you get first class service from them. The hotel is basic but it's clean and the breakfast was very good. Recommended for budget travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dmitry K wrote a review Jun. 2022
9 contributions3 helpful votes
The rooms are very small but quite fresh and clean. WiFi was also fine. I had very noisy ventilation. The worst thing is breakfast: no single piece of cheese fruits or veggies.. only cereals, bread, scramble egg, beans and beacon..
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan Northern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jun. 30, 2022
Hi Dmitry K, Thank you for your comments, I was sorry to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. Our complimentary Express breakfast has over 40 items available, including yoghurt, fruit compote, apples, oranges, bananas, croissants, muffins, sausages and other items, including what you have already mentioned. On a more positive note, I was pleased to hear that you found the room to be fresh and clean and enjoyed the wifi. I do hope that you chose the brand again on your next travels. Kind Regards Alan Northern General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Durutydelloyd wrote a review Jun. 2022
Coleford, United Kingdom650 contributions245 helpful votes
The staff were friendly, room comfortable and clean. However, no WIFI in room, no fan, no AC. Room was particularly warm even though windows were open. Breakfast was disappointing, sausages were rubbery, bacon hard and Scrabble eggs were tasteless and insipid
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid the breakfast
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan Northern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jun. 30, 2022
Hi David D, Thank you very much for your comments, they are appreciated. I was sorry to read some of your comments. Wifi is always available in all rooms, so I am not sure why you thought this. Did you report it to Reception at the time? I was also sorry to hear about your breakfast comments, this is not the usual reaction of our guests to the food that we offer, and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. On a more positive note I was pleased to see that you found the team friendly, and the room comfortable & clean. I do hope that you do choose the brand again on your next travels. Kind Regards Alan Northern General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
smudger6 wrote a review May 2022
Muntinlupa, Philippines103 contributions25 helpful votes
The one thing about Holiday Inn Express always consistent, this one no exception. Rooms OK, good breakfast and friendly staff, value for money plenty of parking space. Good restaurant next door called the Corner House with a large varied menu.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan Northern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel
Responded Jun. 14, 2022
Hi smudger6, Thanks for the great comments, they are appreciated. We do hope tro see you again soon. Kind Regards Alan Northern General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FaraLu wrote a review May 2022
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom8 contributions
The food is truly awful. All food tried was just greasy, fried and clearly out the freezer. I understand that out of hours there are limitations but even during the ‘chef’ hours it was terrible. Breakfast in the morning I was after a healthy option and one morning there was 1 moldy banana in a bowl.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan Northern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel
Responded May 19, 2022
Hi FaraHurr, Thank you for the review, we do appreciate your feedback. I was sorry to learn that the food quality did not meet your expectations. Your comments are not indicative of our usual guest feedback, however they will be shared amongst the team, in order that we can try to improve upon our future guest experiences. Kind Regards Alan Northern General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChrisJRP wrote a review May 2022
Aylesbury Vale, United Kingdom19 contributions16 helpful votes
Stayed for one night with my Partner. Reception staff were welcoming on arrival. Room was lovely. Nicely decorated, immaculately cleaned and had all we required. Bed was comfortable. Had breakfast the next morning which again was superb. Buffet style but hot, tasty and plentiful. A brilliant stay and would stay again if need arose.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 127. We had a double standard which had a settee and table in it which was handy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan Northern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel
Responded May 19, 2022
Hi ChrisJRP, Thanks for the great comments, we do appreciate them. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards Alan Northern General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PTW7 wrote a review Feb. 2022
234 contributions162 helpful votes
Extremely disappointed. £77 for our room including £10 for our dog and £3 for parking. I don’t mind the parking or the fee for the dog at all but the room was unacceptable. Cleanliness not up to standard at all, stained sheets, and the bed gave me back pain due to the clear dent in the bed. There was an alarm clock going in the room next door from 6am, which woke us up. This went on for over 90 mins. We told reception and went back to our room after breakfast to hear the alarm still going! I was offered a £3 refund. Personally, I should have been refunded more due to being in pain, poor cleanliness and lack of sleep. Will not be returning or recommending. I hope to hear back back holiday inn regarding this.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alan Northern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel
Responded Feb. 21, 2022
Hello PTW7, Thank you for your review of the hotel. I was sorry to learn of the issues you encountered. These are certainly not indicative of the usual guest experience here at the hotel. Your comments will certainly be shared amongst the team, in order that we improve upon our future guest experience. thank you once again for bringing these matters to our attention Kind Regards Alan Northern General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$79 - US$136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express burton-upon-trent hotel burton upon trent, holiday inn burton upon trent, burton upon trent holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandStaffordshireBurton upon Trent
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sinai Park House (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bridge Inn, Miller & Carter, and Beefeater.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Claymills Victorian Pumping Station (5.5 km), Tutbury Castle (7.0 km), and Priory Church of Saint Mary the Virgin (7.0 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.