We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Amber House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amber House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 47: English reviews
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The owner was away and unfortunately there was a heck of a mix up with the booking website, and a friend of the owner had to unexpectedly be our host, however once we were in, the room was clean and quiet (although having to move a bed to be able to access a socket to plug in a phone charger...

Thank WillDatsun
Reviewed 12 January 2017

I am both ex Army and a retired Sales Manager, and have stayed in many locations, this rates amongst the best. Very close to the Arboretum and the historic City of Lichfield, so ideal for a visit to either. The owner Gill make you very welcome the breakfast is locally sourced quality food and is very varied, I stayed for...

Thank Steve H
lichfieldhotel, Owner at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. It's a real pleasure and comments are pivotal in finding the best way of making sure everything is as good as it can be for everyone who comes to stay at Amber House.

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

A warm welcome from proprietor Gill, this b&b is homely and comfy - although we didn't have an ensuite room, we did have our own loo and separate shower/bathroom with additional loo just a couple of steps away. The price is very reasonable and includes a truly magnificent breakfast - loads of choice, local top quality ingredients and eggs from...

Thank linden-s
lichfieldhotel, Owner at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I have worked on a continuous programme of improvement in every way I can and your comments, along with offering encouragement, help to guide me as to how I can continue to make the stay at Amber House the best it can be.

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed on two consecutive weeks at Amber house and genuinely loved every second. Gill made it feel like a home from home. Everyday I walked in from work and was greeted with tea/coffee and cake. Room was gorgeous, the breakfasts even better. Local takeaways and pubs within a 5 minute walk and easily accessible. Thanks for everything Gill and...

Thank andreataylor54
lichfieldhotel, Owner at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. They are greatly appreciated and as always it is an absolute pleasure. I am continually working towards making sure that a stay at Amber House is the best it can be for guests.

Reviewed 27 November 2016

Myself and a colleague stayed overnight at the Amber House B&B whilst visiting the Arboretum and the NEC Motorbike show. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Gill with a nice cup of tea and slice of cake. My bedroom was situated on the ground floor and despite being ok outside all afternoon,it was so cold that I put on...

1Thank PhilAWisbech
lichfieldhotel, Owner at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Amber House has been awarded the accolade of the Best Bed and Breakfast in Staffordshire 2016 by Destination Staffordshire and also given the award of the Tastiest Breakfast 2016 in the UK by Eviivo The heating is on for 18 hours each day. There are always additional heaters and fans for people who do want...

West Sussex
Reviewed 25 November 2016

I visited the Amber House B&B for an overnight stay last week. I was warmly welcomed by Jill and shown to The Amber Room. (Upstairs, front of the house) My initial impression was that it appeared clean and suitable. Sadly this was not the case. The cleanliness was poor. Lots of dust in and around the bedside lamps. A large...

2Thank FJR999
lichfieldhotel, Owner at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I take your comments very seriously. With the change in the weather I have had the heating on 24 hours a day, particularly with guests visiting from different time zones or who are more senior in age. However, even though the temperature was reduced to a lower setting I found I was waking up...

Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night at Amber House with our dog whilst my husband was on duty at the National Memorial Arboretum. Gill could not have been more welcoming and helpful, and the room was very comfortable - we got a good night's sleep. Breakfast was very good (it was sad we had to be away by 0815 so had no...

Thank Flibbertypippit
lichfieldhotel, Owner at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure preparing breakfast, especially to appreciative guests! We have a rigorous approach to cleaning and are continually working to improve the comfort of all our rooms, with a good nights sleep at the forefront. All beds have orthopaedic mattresses and there is a continual programme of redecoration and refurbishment. It is...

Birstall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed one night whilst visiting the National Memorial Arboretum. Gill was very welcoming and gave us tea and brownies. Gill also gave us advice on places to eat and places to visit. Our room was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Her breakfasts are excellent with a vast choice of cereals, fruit and any combination of...

Thank jillbeverley
lichfieldhotel, Owner/Manager at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated and very important to me. I always serve complimentary afternoon tea and cooking breakfast is always a pleasure! The National Memorial Arboretum is just half a mile away so we are ideally placed for that and of course all the local amenities of the village which...

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Our 3rd year running at Gills lovely B&B, staying with our dogs. Gill is the perfect hostess, friendly and knowledgable. Our room was fab - slept so soundly each night. Breakfast is one thing my husband and I love about this B&B - fresh fruit each morning before a delicious cook up.

Thank Paul and Helen Y
lichfieldhotel, Owner/Manager at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Amber House has been shortlisted for the Eviivo Tastiest Breakfast in the UK Award 2016 with the announcement to be made in October. I specialise in using good local produce, with home made bread and preserves. There are some new dishes which reflect the best of our fruit in season

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We enjoyed a very pleasant one night stay Gill is the perfect host, the tea and scones on arrival were very much appreciated !! very comfortable room, great choice for breakfast. We will definitely be returning

Thank Jeremy B
lichfieldhotel, Owner/Manager at Amber House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Complimentary afternoon tea is always available, and I always have smoked salmon, haddock and kippers on the menu as well as good quality local ingredients for the best traditional British Breakfast!

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (14)
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (41)
Dining (10)
Room/Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
431 reviews
2.4 km away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
417 reviews
1.3 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
289 reviews
7.6 km away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
6.4 km away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WINNER of the EVIIVO TASTIEST BREAKFAST in the UK 2016 AWARD presented by Prue Leith following a cook off in London, using local produce and eggs from our own chickens! Also serving home-made breads and preserves. VOTED BEST BED and BREAKFAST IN STAFFORDSHIRE 2016 BY DESTINATION STAFFORDSHIRE with 4 further BREAKFAST AWARDS Complimentary afternoon tea offered on your arrival. Delicious evening meals by arrangement Vegetarian and special diets catered for. Early morning starts? No problem. Packed lunches can be provided. Free WiFi and car parking. En-suite facilities feature selected natural products. All rooms have TV's, free wifi & hospitality trays. There is a ground floor bedroom. The Resident's Lounge has a small library of books music & DVDs available Amber House is 1/2 mile from the NATIONAL MEMORIAL ARBORETUM. It is also within walking distance of historic Alrewas village with it's pubs and shops, takeaways, Indian restaurant & Royal British Legion. Nestling beside the River Trent, it still retails its historic charm with half timbered thatched cottages, Old Mill and 12th century Church. Enjoy the tranquil scenery of local canal walks or seek the thrills of nearby Drayton Manor Park & Alton Towers. The Trent & Mersey canal runs through the village where locks & bridges and tow paths make for picturesque walks. 1 mile from Amtrain training Centre. 2 miles from Fradley & Graycar Industrial Parks and Barton Marina, 5 miles from Lichfield & Burton-on-Trent. 7 miles from Tamworth. Lichfield offers 2 railway stations with a 75 minute direct service to London Euston There is easy access to the A38/ M1/ M6 Toll/ NEC & M42. Birmingham & East Mids airports are just 20 miles away. We also offer a 'meet & greet' airport service. DIRECTIONS: From Lichfield to Burton-on-Trent, take the turning for Alrewas & The NMA, keep on the service road, go past the garage & we are 200 yards on the left. Amber House is well signposted and is the 3rd house from the end of the road. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amber House

Address: 18 Burton Road | Alrewas, Burton upon Trent DE13 7BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Price Range: $75 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Amber House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Amber House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back room 'Garden room' fairly quiet, i would imagine rooms facing main road quite a bit louder.”
 of 5 bubbles WillDatsun, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were occupied and I heard no complaints”
 of 5 bubbles T4444LIsteveh, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room at the back (where we stayed) probably worth asking for as it's near a busy road”
 of 5 bubbles linden-s, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Take a warm coat and a hot water bottle”
 of 5 bubbles FJR999, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room at the front was quite close to the main road, but double glazed windows keep out the noise”
 of 5 bubbles JGWD, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5