We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Colton House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Colton House
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Colton House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 359: English reviews
Birmingham
Reviewed 3 March 2015

We have just come back from a wonderful weekend stay at Colton House. On booking the rooms last month, Ron and Gay promptly contacted me via email to ascertain if there were any extra requirements for our stay such as extra duvets or an evening meal (they are primarily a B&B but Ron was more than obliging with an evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarenLovesTheBeach
RonLawrence, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review

Wow, what a wonderful review, many thanks for that. We enjoyed having you with us and our discussions. As you noted have tried to provide modern furnishings and facilities so as to enhance the feel of the house. We are please that you enjoyed Ron's award winning breakfast and evening meal. We do hope that you will be able to...

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

I had a great time here, the service was fantastic, as was the breakfast! The bed is comfortable and the room is warm. Reasonably priced mini bar... One draw back is its too far from civilisation, certainly not walking distance. Perfect for a quiet get away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robkay123
RonLawrence, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, you are right we are in a very quite village about two miles from the town. The 1.5 acre garden also helps with the sense of tranquility. We are pleased that you noted that the mini bar prices are reasonable. Many guests have been known to indulge.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Really enjoyed our weekend break. Attending a wedding locally and arrived later than advised and had dinner (despite being over an hour later than planned, it was no problem). Warm welcome, lovely comfortable room, which was a mix of character and mod cons (tv, good shower) and some nice touches (e.g. fresh milk in the fridge for a proper cup...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FinnK001
RonLawrence, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review as a senior reviewer we appreciate that you are able to compare us with the many other places that you visit. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you find the opportunity to return.

Reviewed 22 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding in the area. When we arrived quite late we were immediately made to feel welcome, as if we were old friends, and this level of service didn't stop the whole weekend. The breakfast was delicious and the servers more than happy to provide us with whatever we wanted. The room was beautifully decorated in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mesp_12
RonLawrence, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are pleased tat you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Norfolk
Reviewed 18 February 2015

This was my first stay at Colton House and I was very impressed! I travel and stay away regularly and find so many establishments the same - not so with Colton House. A home from home in every detail. Attention to detail is very apparent and the room I stayed in had everything one could wish for. Excellent value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkRumdoodle
RonLawrence, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review

Many thanks for a great review, we do hope that you manage to come back to stay with us. We do appreciate that you noticed the attention to the many small details that went into making your stay impressive.

Wiltshire
Reviewed 16 February 2015

This is the 2nd time that we have stayed here and once again were not disappointed. Stayed in Stephens room this time. Gorgeous room with loads of character. Rooms have everything you need. Breakfasts are great and just what you need to start your day off right.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LkWiltshire
RonLawrence, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review

Thanks you for your second review, its great to know that you had another good stay. We are pleased that you are trying all the rooms just another 9 to go!

Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2015 via mobile

This was our second visit to Colton house and, once again, we were treated extremely well. It really is a home from home and nothing is too much trouble. All the staff are lovely and we did not want to come home. I wish we could live there! Anyone who rates Colton House lower than excellent in any area will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayline
RonLawrence, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to give us a wonderful second review.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2015

Having stayed in many Hotels over the years, both for business and pleasure, This is the first hotel that I felt happy to write a positive review for. The hotel and room where immaculate throughout. The home cooked evening meal was superb, on a par with any quality restaurant. Ron and Gay are very welcoming, but not over attentive. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
RonLawrence, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review

Many thanks for such a great review and for recommending us to your colleagues. As a man with a wealth of experience we do appreciate you comments, particularly about our breakfast and evening meal.

Reviewed 21 January 2015

Incredible !!! Rare Find !!! Quality Benchmark!!! I stayed overnight at The Colton House on a business trip whilst visiting customers at a local site picking this location using only Google Maps. I have stayed at many B&B's for business and pleasure over the last 30 or 40 years and this stay surpassed all expectations. All the extras and individual...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
RonLawrence, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review

What a great review who could ask for anything more! We do enjoy making our guests feel special and are happy when they appreciate the local produce.

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2015

We stayed here on New Years Eve 2014 for 1 night as a couple for a relaxing New Year celebration. We found the guest house on laterooms but booked directly with Gay who was extremely helpful and let us choose which room we wanted, having described the features of each one that was available. Before our arrival, we were emailed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
RonLawrence, Owner at Colton House, responded to this review

Thanks for a review that covers many areas that we are proud of. Yes, its a good idea to ring before booking, it helps us tailor the right room for you as people may well prefer a larger bed or garden view etc. Please don't leave it till Christmas before coming again. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugeley
2.7 km away
Premier Inn Rugeley Hotel
11.9 km away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
39.6 km away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
748 reviews
10.5 km away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
689 reviews
32.4 km away
Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Colton House

Address: Colton House Bellamour Way | Colton, Rugeley WS15 3LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley
Price Range: $154 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Colton House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Colton House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all very different rooms of character.”
grahamkirby316, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Quiet country location”
HazelNut963, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I chose one with a huge claw-foot bathtub - delish! The photos are accurate so pick what you like and you won't be disappointed.”
444jeh, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are beautiful and the four-poster rooms are outstanding.”
403lesleym, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The owners will do their very best for you.”
Rillo, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5