We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Russ Hill Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Russ Hill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,091 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,065: English reviews
Wareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Budget priced stay & airport parking. Staying in January, the hotel was cold, no where warm & comfortable to sit the evening prior to out flight. Rooms clean, basic, dated - ok for overnight stay. Food - not a wide selection. No veggi option. Not really fresh. Breakfast was better than the evening meal. Good taxi service to & from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GJX
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My Fiancé and I decided to have a weekend coach trip (our first) as it was a good price but didn't say were we where staying. The coach brought us here, the lobby looked okay but as you went to your room and down the corridor you began to notice things, mouldy windows, no ventilation anywhere and buckets on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
Moscow
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked this place because of such a LOW price per ROOM, its proximity to the airport and the ease of returning my rental car prior to our flight back to Russia. After looking at many 'guest's' photos of the hotel, I started regretting my booking, but the other reasons kept me on track! We arrived very late! Parked by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank granmar
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to welcoming you back.

chester uk
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Value large b&b/hotel great value taxi service also. Clean tidy presentable. Shall book again when flying from Gatwick. Lots of onsite free parking with room reservation for duration of holiday. Bar is boring but overall very acceptable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank juwcherokee
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad your stay was a good one.

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Pleasantly surprised, the entrance is really welcoming and the staff are really nice and friendly. Our room was small but clean and cosy, the TV worked with good quality free view signal! It's always a disappointment when the telly doesn't work so we were really pleased! I was quite worried about staying here however I've really enjoyed the stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise C
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't do it !! Never again room tiny beds so hard you will get no sleep and I mean no sleep ! Charged £10.50 for a meal that looked like the roast potatoes had been there for a week ! Sorry wouldn't recommend even for 1 night ! Price should have given it away really !

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jew1971
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we apologise you were unhappy with your stay. The roast potatoes are made fresh each day, however I will ask my chef to investigate.

Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On arrival the place looks impressive large old Manor House lovely reception area ( although dated. ) friendly reception staff. Unfortunately that's where the good comments end. First room had water stains on the ceiling. Dust hanging from curtain rail and very grotty appearance. No wifi in room so asked to swap. Was shown another room on ground floor which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bmbplastering2016
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We apologise you were unhappy with your stay. We offer free wifi in all public areas. We do not have wifi at present in the bedrooms, however this is due to be added soon.

Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We used this hotel for a one night stay prior to our early morning flight and for parking while we were away. My only major criticism is that they were not particularly communicative. We were travelling with our baby daughter and we wanted to check if they could provide a cot. The hotel website didn't have a phone number and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David F
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad your stay went well. I apologies for the communication issue, on the website is listed our central number, where you can connect to the hotel. I will report back regarding the contact us form.

Birmingham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night at the Russ Hill Hotel on a park and stay deal due to an early Gatwick flight. It was an excellent deal! I'd read reviews where people were quite nasty about the hotel and although it is a little tired in places, when compared to prices for parking alone, the hotel actually worked out practically free! I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tez C
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad your stay went well. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Accessed by unlit quiet roads that could be difficult if very cold and icy. The hotel staff were very pleasant but the place is very tired. Our room was reasonably clean apart from two large metal staple/pins found on the floor together with the remnants of broccoli and significant dust and bits clearly visible under the bed (which was on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments.

416 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (406)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (220)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
5.2 km away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
1,102 reviews
5.2 km away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
2.3 km away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
5.7 km away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Russ Hill Hotel is based in a 19th century manor house and set in nine acres of countryside within the charming village of Charlwood. This Gatwick hotel offers great value, comfortable accommodation and is conveniently placed just 4 miles from Gatwick Airport making it the perfect stopover either before or after flying. Transfers are by taxi with special rates in place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Address: Russ Hill, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Price Range: $53 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Russ Hill Hotel Charlwood, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Russ Hill Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Russ Hill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Proximity to the flight path - obviously there's going to be noise but none noticed from the coming & goings of other guests.”
 of 5 bubbles GJX, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room 207 or a recently refurbished room!”
 of 5 bubbles granmar, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If arriving in the evening, it's worth having the buffet meal in the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles davidfC9017PI, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room did not have any windows, foot traffic could be heard as an old building - lots of creaking.”
 of 5 bubbles Q1718QWsuet, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A room close to the reception”
 of 5 bubbles Dr_Ekanayake, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay