We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Russ Hill Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Russ Hill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,132: English reviews
Start your review of Russ Hill Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We travelled by coach to this hotel with David Urquhart Travel. It was a one night stay luckily because you are directly un dear the flight path of Gatwick. The planes do stop around 10.30pm and start again at the stroke of 6am. The room was of good size with a window and was comfortable. Food both at dinner and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just got back from a three night stay here with National Holidays. The hotel is crying out to be refurbished,the decor is like stepping back into the 80s ! My room was very clean and I had fresh bedding and towels every day. The food was very good, breakfast was lovely, loads of choice and buffet style so you could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue l
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited for three nights with national holidays . I'm really glad I didn't read trip advisor reviews before arriving! On the whole we enjoyed the stay - just! rather than endured it like others have reported . We won't go back though . The staff ranged from indifferent, extremely rude through to very helpful and pleasant - although I can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebnKatie
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stopped for 3 nights ,17 /4/2017 .On arrival we were greeted by the reception staff who didn't have a smile between them. Our room 228 and my mother's room 227 . Our room was overpowered with the smell of damp and foist,windows were thick with black mould and the room was tired and dated . The bed the other hand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked our room for when we flew back, it was late just wanted a good night sleep, but no, room was dark and musty room, my husband couldn't sleep on his bed as it was that lumpy and just as well as I was bitten all over my feet, a week later and just stopped itching!! As I said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisatstjohns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff very rude. The young lady on reception (Amber?) was almost offensive. The steak was inedible, the lasagne little better. The whole establishment was run down, but at least the bed was comfy. I know it's cheap, but there really is no excuse for this sort of thing in the 21st century.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nick32robinson
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Without doubt the worst hotel room I have ever stayed in. On opening the door the smell of damp hit us, dark dingy room looks like throwback to the 1970s The beds before we even sat on them u could see the dips in the mattresses Mould on wall by windows and added big cobwebs We expected the worse when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ladycroft68
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely appalling. Dirty, fusty, dusty. Restaurant serves a carvery which is all frozen veg etc. All sweets are defrosted soggy. Thought it looked ok on the Thomson holiday extra site and if I wasn't flying out to sri lanka the following morning, I wouldn't be staying. Stains on the bed throws, carpets not hoovered. Thick with dust in communal areas....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sallyraper
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we apologise you were unhappy with your stay. The issues will be looked in to and action taken to improve.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed the night before travelling on holiday. we arrived thinking it would be a lovely hotel it looked really promising until we went to our room it was really small and cramped. We went to get some dinner and the bar where you order food there was only one member of staff at the bar and when we went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We apologise you were unhappy with your stay.

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is cheap and old fashioned. The only aspect of the rooms which reminds you that you are in 2017 is the weirdly out of place USB port on each power socket. In terms of cleanliness, it wasn't bad. The tea spoons were dirty but other than that everything was fine. The shower head holder was infuriating and wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott S
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments

419 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (409)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (223)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
5.2 km away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
1,157 reviews
5.9 km away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
7.3 km away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
2.3 km away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
415 reviews
5.8 km away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Russ Hill Hotel is based in a 19th century manor house and set in nine acres of countryside within the charming village of Charlwood. This Gatwick hotel offers great value, comfortable accommodation and is conveniently placed just 4 miles from Gatwick Airport making it the perfect stopover either before or after flying. Transfers are by taxi with special rates in place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Address: Russ Hill, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Price Range: $61 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Russ Hill Hotel Charlwood, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Russ Hill Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Russ Hill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don go here!”
chrisatstjohns, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with an actual window”
CarolineFortune, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room with a window!”
wookiemonster6, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No windows but skylight.”
mardek2016, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room had no window”
Gall57, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5