We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Russ Hill Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Russ Hill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,086: English reviews
Start your review of Russ Hill Hotel
 Click to rate
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

A nice hotel but budget once you get inside, evening meal was very average and wouldn't have again. Had to keep getting bar staff and chef from out the back didn't seem to want to serve anyone. Wouldn't go to hotel again even though it was reasonable priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelley L
South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked a family room for an overnight stay and will never come back again. Room was freezing cold with a tiny radiator which was ready to fall off the wall. Disgusting dirty carpets and smell overall was awful. Will never come again! Luckily it was only for 6 hours!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marita E
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Outside the Russ Hill Hotel, I urged myself not to judge a book by its dilapidated cover. However, as I walked through the dated entrance hall past the plug in fire, a burgeoning sense of despair began to overwhelm me. This was just the tip of a very ugly Iceberg. Time came to check in..It seemed I was being punished...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lcliff101
bognor regis
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great Budget Hotel near Gatwick airport also offering long stay car parking. Quite noisy with planes taking off but ideal place to stay for an early flight. Room was clean and comfortable although a little dated and tired. They also offered smoking rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alison299
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad your stay went well.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The place is very dated. The room was very small and felt like a rabbit hutch. The bed was so uncomfortable and I barely got two hours sleep the whole night. The food wasn't too bad but basic and not much choice If u have the carvary. But In a positive sense the price for hotel and parking is good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kparker2308
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments.

portsmouth
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Russ Hill as a base for our early flight out the next morning. Paid 50 for the room 3 nights parking and an evening meal. So a brilliant price. Have used this hotel many a time and generally find it ok. This time we were in room 256. It was clean and bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayne1981
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad your stay went well.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel was Cold. Dirty. I'm not even sure my room was cleaned. I wasn't expecting much anyway but just little things? Rubbish under bed! Lights not working plugs with snapped pins in??? This hotel is from the dark ages!! It need to be refurbished it needs different ownership Britannia staff were rude and absolutely rubbish... as soon as I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luke S
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies you were unhappy with your stay. The issues will be investigated and action taken to improve.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well where do I start. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere on a hill, and to reach the hotel there is no public transportation for those who don't drive, you have to get a taxi, yet is just 15 mins away from the airport. The hotel is OLD. It's creaky its dated, it's STONE AGE! The receptionist was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonny Bentley S
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you found the room clean and staff friendly. We are located in the country 15 minutes from the airport, we have discunted proced with local taxi firms if needed. Smoking rooms are on the furthest section of the hotel, with corridor doors so they do not affect non smoking rooms.

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My son and I just arrived at this hotel which is more or less empty. I asked the manager if we could check in early and he said only if we pay £10, which I could not believe did pay to save hassle. We were then given a key to a room which could only be described as a prison...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark T
Leiston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This may be cheap but believe me, this place is abysmal. Food disgusting, manager and barman said bar closed at 10.30pm but clearly states 11pm in the room info, so both are liers and frustrating when just got back from holiday. There is ONE plug in room so you can't watch TV and charge a phone at same time so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kingy1973
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The bar closes at 11pm usually, however on quieter nights they may close early due to business levels. In this case and after the bar closed every day we have a night porter drinks service on request from reception and 3 lounges for guest use. Towels are standard hotel bath town sizes and we are...

419 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (409)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (223)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
5.2 km away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
1,121 reviews
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
5.2 km away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
409 reviews
5.8 km away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
5.9 km away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Russ Hill Hotel is based in a 19th century manor house and set in nine acres of countryside within the charming village of Charlwood. This Gatwick hotel offers great value, comfortable accommodation and is conveniently placed just 4 miles from Gatwick Airport making it the perfect stopover either before or after flying. Transfers are by taxi with special rates in place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Address: Russ Hill, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Price Range: $57 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Russ Hill Hotel Charlwood, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Russ Hill Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Russ Hill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room downstairs if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles JonnyBentleyS, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were at the back and it was silent.”
 of 5 bubbles ali-crystal, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Proximity to the flight path - obviously there's going to be noise but none noticed from the coming & goings of other guests.”
 of 5 bubbles GJX, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room 207 or a recently refurbished room!”
 of 5 bubbles granmar, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If arriving in the evening, it's worth having the buffet meal in the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles davidfC9017PI, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5