We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Russ Hill Hotel

Hotels.comUS$40*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Russ Hill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Russ Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,135: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely appalling. Dirty, fusty, dusty. Restaurant serves a carvery which is all frozen veg etc. All sweets are defrosted soggy. Thought it looked ok on the Thomson holiday extra site and if I wasn't flying out to sri lanka the following morning, I wouldn't be staying. Stains on the bed throws, carpets not hoovered. Thick with dust in communal areas....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sallyraper
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we apologise you were unhappy with your stay. The issues will be looked in to and action taken to improve.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed the night before travelling on holiday. we arrived thinking it would be a lovely hotel it looked really promising until we went to our room it was really small and cramped. We went to get some dinner and the bar where you order food there was only one member of staff at the bar and when we went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We apologise you were unhappy with your stay.

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is cheap and old fashioned. The only aspect of the rooms which reminds you that you are in 2017 is the weirdly out of place USB port on each power socket. In terms of cleanliness, it wasn't bad. The tea spoons were dirty but other than that everything was fine. The shower head holder was infuriating and wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott S
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived here at 9.30 p.m. from Manchester, we needed somewhere to park our car for a week, the check in was easy, Gerogia checked us in and gave us our room key she was very helpful and friendly, we dumped our cases and went to the bar for a quick drink all the staff in the bar were friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank flossylil
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel in August 2016. I booked the hotel through Booking.com and the main attraction was the price for one night's stay and 15 days parking at the hotel (£109). I knew it wasn't going to be 4*. On arrival it looked 'just okay' - the grounds were nice but the hotel desperately needs a facelift. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CarolineFortune
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, the restaurant opens at 6pm daily and offers a 3 course carvery buffet dinner. We have not run a bus for over 2 years now and all websites we deal direct with have been informed of the change in service. We offer discounted taxi prices.

Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with National holidays. It was a great experience. London and Windsor from the north east of England. The hotel was isolated and you were unable to walk anywhere as the roads were very narrow with no footpaths or lights. The public rooms were very pleasant and the staff helpful. The restaurant was well organised and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dwarchie
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your trip.

Portsmouth UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The only good things are cheap car parking and the staff. The welcome was friendly and she was very helpful. Staff in bar again helpful and polite. Ordered a cheese and ham toastie priced at £5.50. Thinnest bread and hardly and filling. Wifi didn't work and none of us could connect to 4G. The bedroom was a good size. Dated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fiona t
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you found the staff helpful. We have not had any issues with wifi that have been reported in the last few weeks. We apologize if you had issues.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Overnight stay and parking for 17 nights; 3 course buffet dinner and breakfast for two - excellent value for money. Room very clean. Would definitely book here again, no frills but adequate for a night before flying - a bargain.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynn O
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Right, no witty banter, no smart comments, the place was filthy! Dust and dirt in the room, TV smaller then a game boy, (when they first came out is when the room was last cleaned!) bar shut stupidly early, bath not big enough to wash the stupidly small cups that came with the kettle in the room in! Enough limescale...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mikey G
RussHillManager, Guest Relations Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we apologise you were unhappy with your stay.

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were friendly, but the hotel could do with a refurb. I had to get someone to change 2 bulbs in my room because the bedside lights were not working. The restaurant had promotional meals ( gammon for £7.99) the gammon was like one rasher of bacon. If you book on booking.com parking charges apply. Will not go back 😒

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony I
RussHillManager, Manager at Russ Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you found the staff friendly. With booking.com parking is free the night of stay. However long term parking is chargeable. It is usually more cost effective to book a park and fly package with us directly or though a agent that offers long term parking inclusive with us.

419 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (409)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (223)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlwood
5.2 km away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
1,161 reviews
5.9 km away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
7.3 km away
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
2.3 km away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
416 reviews
5.8 km away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Russ Hill Hotel is based in a 19th century manor house and set in nine acres of countryside within the charming village of Charlwood. This Gatwick hotel offers great value, comfortable accommodation and is conveniently placed just 4 miles from Gatwick Airport making it the perfect stopover either before or after flying. Transfers are by taxi with special rates in place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Russ Hill Hotel

Address: Russ Hill, Charlwood, Horley RH6 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley > Charlwood
Price Range: $61 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Russ Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Russ Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russ Hill Charlwood
Hotel Russ Hill
Russ Hill Hotel Gatwick
Russ Hill Hotel Charlwood, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Russ Hill Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Russ Hill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don go here!”
chrisatstjohns, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with an actual window”
CarolineFortune, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room with a window!”
wookiemonster6, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No windows but skylight.”
mardek2016, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room had no window”
Gall57, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$40* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$40
HotelQuicklyUS$49
Booking.comUS$40
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates