We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Townhouse

Expedia.comUS$83*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The George Townhouse
The George Townhouse
Panoramas (54)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 131: English reviews
Start your review of The George Townhouse
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A great hotel with everything you could need at hand - central to lots of places but also ideal for relaxing and staying in one place. Great menu choices and the staff were all very friendly and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I often go for a nice coffee here and I love the informal big bar area. But today I took a friend for lunch in the restaurant which was excellent. We had a nice table, in the window overlooking the old market square, and the service and meal was first class.The whole place has fairly recently been refurbished and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z2251COrichard
Pete N, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Really pleased to hear you had a wonderful experience, we hope to see you and your friend back in here for coffee very soon!

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights on a Telegraph deal which was great value. The George is a lovely place and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff are all very friendly and attentive, especially Danni, who looked after us at breakfast and always with a smile. We had dinner on both nights and enjoyed the food and wine. There's also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buzzered
Pete N, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Buzzered, Thank you very much for your review, im so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. we look forward to seeing you in July! Many thanks Pete Nicholas

Dersingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A warm welcome on arrival, very comfortable room tastefully decorated. Obviously well frequented by the locals which is always a good sign. Good selection at breakfast and well presented, eggs benidict were to die for. Evening dining staff were very efficient, knowledgeable and atttentive without being too obtrusive, Menu on offer did not disappoint, especially twice baked cheese soufflé, breast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
Pete N, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Pam D, Thank you very much for your very kind review, im so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much hope to see you back again soon! Pete Nicholas

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rooms at the venue are amazing - really great refurb. Food also great. Staff whilst friendly made too many mistakes for a solid recommendation - we were assured we had booked the whole venue on two separate occasions only for them to double book rooms twice. In fairness to them they managed to cancel all bar one room of other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Pete N, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Peter B, Thank you for your comments although i am slightly surprised. Given the fact that i picked this booking up from an ex-colleague only a few week before your arrival & on numerous occasions shared the names we had booked in with your party, we still ended up with 2 empty rooms over 2 nights. Having outsourced a...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the pleasure of visiting the recently refurbished George Townhouse on two separate occasions recently. Both were with good friends and a party of six on each occasion. The overall experience was extremely good. The service was friendly and quick. The food was on time and of an excellent quality. The wine was very well priced and extremely quaffable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdsnape
Pete N, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear mdsnape, Thank you very much for your review, it is greatly appreciated and i will pass it on to the whole team here. We very much hope to see you and your guests back again very soon! Thanks again Pete Nicholas

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely hotel on the smallest high street in the tiniest town! You can tell when you enter through the reception/bar area of the hotel that it's well kept and of a high standard. Our room was a double, good size with an en-suite toilet and shower. Very clean and generally a nice place to relax. The hotel bar is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warren W
Pete N, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Warren W, Thank you very much for your comments, i'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit & we hope to see you again very soon! Pete

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently had a family birthday celebration dinner at The George -using their carriage room which is comfortable and atmospheric. The quality and variety of food was excellent and the service also very good and attentive. Would definitely recommendand and will be returning in the near future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L L
Pete N, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Deborah L L, Thank you very much for your comments, i'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit & we hope to see you again very soon! Pete

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A cheerful busy venue with very quirky service, the lads looked a little like lumberjacks with tea towels in their back pockets, but were pleasant and polite if not knowledgeable. The ambience was Northamptonised country hotel, the duck was frankly delicious, and all the meals were very filling. Prices on the high side.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happy T
Pete N, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Happy T, Thank you very much for your comments, we hope to see you again very soon! Pete

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the George Townhouse for lunch on Easter Sunday with my wife and our Dads, lunch was superb. The venue is fantastic and felt really comfortable and at home. Service was good and can't complain about anything and would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craig s
Pete N, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear craig s Thank you very much for your comments, we hope to see you again very soon! Pete

364 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (290)
Viewed
Large Double Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (74)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (with Bath) (33)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (with Bath and Shower) (43)
Viewed
Suite (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipston-on-Stour
9.8 km away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,814 reviews
6.1 km away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
985 reviews
10.8 km away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,043 reviews
10.9 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,011 reviews
17.7 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George has been around for as long as anyone can remember, but in early 2016 it was been treated to a huge makeover including all 15 en-suite bedrooms. Standing proudly in the centre of Shipston High Street, it still remains as the tallest building on the street at three and a half stories. We describe the look as modern yet sympathetic to it's late 18th century features with a feel of casual elegance about it. All the rooms are decorated to a high standard, offering a comfy place to stay. Their sophisticated simplicity gives them a luxurious feel. They all have en-suite bathrooms and breakfast is always included. The ground floor of the George Townhouse is spacious, and our extensive menu covers all meal times. Call in at the start of the day and enjoy a freshly cooked Full English breakfast in the parlour, or pop into our garden room to sample a sharing board and glass of wine over lunch. In the evening treat yourself to a steak in the pantry, sourced from Todenham Manor Farm just 4 miles away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Townhouse

Address: 8 High Street, Shipston-on-Stour CV36 4AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Shipston-on-Stour
Price Range: $132 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The George Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Shipston On Stour
The George Townhouse Shipston-On-Stour, England - Warwickshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Townhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the large bay windowed room facing high street, was quiet at night.”
294pamd, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a special room and tariff”
mdsnape, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“We picked the cheapest double room which exceeded our expectations.”
johnhsaxon, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade your room”
godfreyr55, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Number 15 has an in room bath which was memorable”
GillianH640, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$83* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$83
Booking.comUS$83
Hotels.comUS$83
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates