We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Townhouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George Townhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 106: English reviews
Start your review of The George Townhouse
 Click to rate
Rushden
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel sits proudly in the centre of Shipston. It has 16 rooms of various sizes and cost. Room 5, our room is well appointed with a nice roll top bath. We ate in the restaurant and had the cod and the steak which were both perfectly prepared. Service was excellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank runningman49
WARWICKSHIRE
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here for a birthday treat. It was busy, but the table we sat at hadn't been wiped down when it had been cleared. The service was reasonable, the food ordinary, over all, disappointed, won't be re visiting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MTR001
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The George has had many incarnations over the last 25 years we have lived in Shipston. The latest being modernised by Brakspears Brewery. I understand the bedrooms are decorated to a high standard but a little pricey for the area. We went to the George a number of times since it re-opened but we found the food very average and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
Pete N, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Chris S, Please could you contact me directly regarding this review - 01608661453 Many thanks Pete

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a fantastic experience. Smallish car park where a staff member greeted us and carried our bags to our room. Very Dickenseish. Lovely sofas. Log fires. Very happy obliging staff. We were, in a word, pampered. Our room was a little on the small side but adequate for three days, breakfast freshly prepared as were lunch time snacks. Dinner menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffabbott81
Pete N, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear geoffabbott81, So pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, your comments are greatly appreciated and we do hope to see you back again very soon! Thanks again Pete Nicholas

Shanklin, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our 3rd visit to The George; the location is perfect for exploring lots of lovely Cotswold villages as well as places of interest. The hotel has been updated since our last visit and we were very impressed with our room and the facilities! It was beautifully decorated, well appointed and extremely clean. We also had a meal in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi S
Pete N, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Naomi S, Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased that you had a great stay and enjoyed your meal too. We look forward to seeing you back here soon! Pete Nicholas

Wolverhampton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I spent a lovely evening at The George Townhouse. The hotel room was lovely.Our evening meal was delicious and we woke up to a lovely breakfast too. Staff very friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjtipp
Pete N, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear mjtipp, Thank you very much for posting this review for us. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back very soon! Pete Nicholas

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at The George Townhouse for two nights and had a fantastic stay! The room was a decent size, very well decorated and maintained, and had all the amenities we required. Included within the price was a Breakfast each morning: there was a wide variety to choose from, you could also go and help yourself to cereal and croissants,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RevaBKieranD
Pete N, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear RevaBKieranD, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review for us, your comments are much appreciated and will be passed on to the team here. Thank you again and we hope to see you back with us soon! Pete Nicholas

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A week ago we had a great meal and experience in the restaurant, so we went back and ate in the bar. We were really disappointed, beer off, 10minutes of waiting for a new pint, we went to the bar to get the drink, food arrived, incorrect order and no cutlery or condiments, we waited and asked after 10 mins,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alirivett2017
Pete N, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear alirivett2017, I can only apologies for the service that you received from us when you came to dine the other evening. This is certainly not our usual standards, as you have witnessed from having a pleasurable experience with us before. I have contacted you personally regarding this matter and do hope that you return soon to give us another...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived very early, for a wedding later that day, but were delighted to find our room already prepared for us (an upgrade even). Staff were charming and most helpful; the room exceeded expectations, large and stylishly decorated with a spacious bathroom (bath and shower) and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was enormous and delicious.Everything was just as it should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carefreevoyager
Pete N, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear carefreevoyager, Thank you very much for leaving such a lovely review. I'm so pleased to hear that we exceeded all expectations and will make sure to pass on your comments to staff. With regards to the lack of hanging space, I can only apologies. I'm glad to hear that this would not deter you from staying again with us...

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Lovely break at this recently refurbished town house, great friendly staff always willing to help in any way. Bedrooms are comfortable with everything you need the only thing I would say is at this time of year the radiators aren't too efficient but think they must know this as there was an additional heater in the room....we did stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeni M
Pete N, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this review

Dear Jeni M, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I sincerely apologise about the radiators, I will get housekeeping to look into this further. Other than that i'm pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. I'll be sure to pass all your kind comments on to the team....

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipston-on-Stour
16.3 km away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
139 reviews
9.9 km away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,001 reviews
9.8 km away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,750 reviews
10.8 km away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
975 reviews
6.1 km away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George has been around for as long as anyone can remember, but in early 2016 it was been treated to a huge makeover including all 15 en-suite bedrooms. Standing proudly in the centre of Shipston High Street, it still remains as the tallest building on the street at three and a half stories. We describe the look as modern yet sympathetic to it's late 18th century features with a feel of casual elegance about it. All the rooms are decorated to a high standard, offering a comfy place to stay. Their sophisticated simplicity gives them a luxurious feel. They all have en-suite bathrooms and breakfast is always included. The ground floor of the George Townhouse is spacious, and our extensive menu covers all meal times. Call in at the start of the day and enjoy a freshly cooked Full English breakfast in the parlour, or pop into our garden room to sample a sharing board and glass of wine over lunch. In the evening treat yourself to a steak in the pantry, sourced from Todenham Manor Farm just 4 miles away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Townhouse

Address: 8 High Street, Shipston-on-Stour CV36 4AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Shipston-on-Stour
Price Range: $135 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The George Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Shipston On Stour
The George Townhouse Shipston-On-Stour, England - Warwickshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Townhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look before you book!”
 of 5 bubbles geoffabbott81, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We only had a standard room suspect the other rooms could be warmer.”
 of 5 bubbles 742jenim, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay overnight”
 of 5 bubbles Z2251COrichard, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“11 was spacious, overlooked the high street but on a weekend stay this was not noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles cberti, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book a Dinner”
 of 5 bubbles Brainmike01789, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5