We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Norfolk Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 283: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Norfolk Hotel
 Click to rate
UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed during March with Alfa Travel and found that the Royal Norfolk is one of the old imperial style hotels that is still well looked after and possibly had recent refurbishment carried out. The room was comfy with everything we needed including trouser press, and fairly firm mattress. Bathroom had been refurbished, tiled throughout, with a very good shower. However...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MosesUk
Reviewed 1 week ago

My sister and I stayed for one night on 11th March 2017. We were woken twice during the night, firstly by noisy residents and secondly by a fire alarm bell sounding. No staff were around during both incidents, and nobody provided any information regarding the fire alarm. I made a formal complaint via the website but was provided with excuses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaye G
StaceyBungay, Customer Care Team at The Royal Norfolk Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gaye G, I was sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. I am sure you will appreciate that until a guest stays with us, we do not know how they will behave and unless we are made aware of guests being particularly disruptive, we cannot monitor this matter. As you will be aware,...

Greater Manchester
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have just returned from a 5 day stay with Alfa Travel. The Hotel was very clean, looks like a refurbishment had been done fairly recently. My room was at the back so not a good view but warm,nice & quiet (especially during recent strong winds). Staff were pleasant at all times, bar prices reasonable, entertainment most evenings. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of the best hotels we've stopped in with Alfa travel.. Not got a bad word to say about it.. All staff and waiters very friendly and helpful, food was lovely, entertainment brill, room spotless ,beds comfy and room very warm, drinks nice and cheap.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanne a
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

The staff were friendly. We had a sea view room which was clean, warm and spacious. Breakfast was faultless. I'd definitely stay again for £60. Close to town so plenty of places to eat out. Stayed for 2 nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xavier_Gus
644LucasJ, General Manager at The Royal Norfolk Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Xavier Thank you for taking time to review the Royal Norfolk Hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found bedroom clean and our breakfast faultless, look forward to seeing you again in near future. Best Regards,

London
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Writing this on behalf of my brother as he doesn't 'do' Trip Adviser. The room was cold and after one freezing night he got a small inadequate fan heater for the room. He is recovering from cancer and isn't able to eat certain foods. He asked to have an omelette each night but the Manager told him that the chef...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LouLou56
StaceyBungay, Customer Care Team at The Royal Norfolk Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LouLou56, I was sorry to hear that your brother was disappointed with his stay at the Royal Norfolk Hotel. You mention that your brother was cold and when he reported this, he was given a small fan heater which was inadequate. I am sure that had your brother asked at reception for another heater, the hotel staff would have...

west midlands
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We went on an alpha new year break as usual but this hotel was the best so far. Our room was spotless and a lovely sea veiw food was good and our waitress Marta was very plesant and friendly to top it all the weather was great not a bit like Dec. Our driver Malcolm was also very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jamieWestMidlands
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We had a five day 'Christmas' break at this hotel with Alfa Holidays and thoroughly enjoyed it. Gareth our coach driver was great as always. The food was brilliant and the staff most excellent. We had requested in advance a table for two in the restaurant, which we were given (unlike some hotels which ignore our request). Our waitress, Betty,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher A
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

lovely hotel, on the sea front, decorated nicely for the festive season, we had a room at the back of the hotel, which was clean, t.v and tea facilities and a decent sized bathroom with plenty of hot water, the staff were very friendly and served us promptly, there was a choice of meals, and the theme was for christmas,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suesheff
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

This is a great hotel,The rooms are lovely,and well heated, The food is great and the staff are very helpful its right on the sea front ,I had a sea view and the view was beautiful , Breakfasts had lots of choice and the evening meals were good,some of the desserts were to die for,Will return ,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank b00ble

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachcroft Hotel
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
3.9 km away
The Inglenook Hotel
The Inglenook Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bognor Regis
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,859 reviews
36.5 km away
Bayshore Hotel
Bayshore Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
153 reviews
0.6 km away
Trevali Guest House
Trevali Guest House
#10 of 28 in Bognor Regis
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Royal Norfolk - Bognor Regis (3 Alpha & AA 3 Star). Situated in a delightfully sunny spot on the sea front with extensive lawns and superb Channel views, this exceptional Georgian building dates from the 1830s and has been visited by the Emperor Napoleon III of France and various descendants of Queen Victoria. It is a short walk from the pier and shops. All 60 bedrooms are centrally heated with private bath or shower and WC, internal telephone, TV, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. There is an attractive cocktail bar, a split level restaurant, a relaxing quiet lounge looking out onto the garden and a ballroom with small dance floor. Lift serves most rooms (some rooms accessed via several stairs). Entertainment is provided most evenings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Norfolk Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Bognor Regis PO21 2LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Price Range: $103 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Norfolk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Norfolk Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Norfolk Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 months ago
West Sussex
over a year ago
West Sussex
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Norfolk Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I couldn't say”
 of 5 bubbles 999gayeg, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was a sea veiw room double no 36 our friends was a sea veiw twin no34both lovely rooms”
 of 5 bubbles jamieWestMidlands, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the western side would probably be quieter before 2300.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristopherA111, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My room was on the second floor, No 43, and was next to a lift, which could be noisy at times.”
 of 5 bubbles MariaW100, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles sophiepX450WO, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5