We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The New Sussex Hotel

0.8 km from Lancing centre
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
182 South Street, Lancing BN15 8AU, England
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 119: English reviews
Bolton
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a hotel attached to a pub. The pub was nice, friendly staff and clientele and a good choice of food and beer. The hotel room was lovely, large, spacious, nice decoration, huge comfy bed and a nice bathroom. Breakfast was deliciouse. Location is on the sea front, about 10 minutes walk from the train station, ten minute train...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon_Fields
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently popped into the New Sussex with the intention of a quick drink after a blustery walk along the seafront. But as soon as we saw the log burner and cosy chairs...how could we resist staying for a couple of hours!! The staff are all really friendly and the food was tasty and great value. Love the pool table...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Loveday13
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always busy, and well deserved, Fiona and Andy do a great job. Small hotel busy bar and very good food representing excellent value. Also try hard to give great service, although they are sometimes stretched! Definitely one to return to. Reasonable street parking nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin O
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Great NYE party...Great people, the staff were friendly and welcoming. Very Good food with many choices Generally hospitality was fantastic, large rooms in very comfy setting. Definitely a place to go check out.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pete M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Really lovely pub/restaurant and great staff. had fish and chips with drinks. not to busy in there as the place across the road on the beach was heaving with people, kids, dogs and what ever else. Glad we went here and would go back for the food.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 8,888,888,888,888,888
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed that I had to pay £20 extra for less then an hour over stay. On booking, I requested I will checking out at 1:30 pm. But I left at 11:55 am. Mr. Andy was very nice to me. He opened the door for me at 4:00am while i was checking in. I really appreciated. But I had no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zia H
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Haque, We had missed that you were a 3- 4am arrival, but as you say Andy let you in no problem. Regardless what time you arrive we still have to hold the room the whole previous day for you. I personally explained why check out later than 11am the next day is chargeable because I have to keep...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed a fab night with friends at DJ Rocky Soul Night. Lots of dancing and fun at the bar at the New Sussex Hotel in Lancing. Finally falling into the most comfortable bed ever - and a room with sea view -followed by a fab breakfast. Wow what more could you ask for ❤️

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Oh thank you Heather what a lovely review ... hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Fiona

Reviewed 28 November 2016

Nice room right at the top of the shop, on a Saturday night. Very clean, great friendly staff, excellent bed. Unfortunately even on the third floor the music from a function down in the bar was very audible. Not a real gripe - it was a Saturday night, and these things happen, but I knocked it from 5 stars to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidbL7403OF
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David thanks so much for the review, Friday night is normally our live music night sorry if they were loud on your particular Saturday ... unusual for it to run much after 12 so I hope we see you again soon : ) !

St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Dropped in and had a few drinks with friends, good location, reasonable prices and friendly staff. The menu looked ok, basic pub grub. There is a separate room for dining which wasn't very busy on Friday night but the bar was buzzing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flipside30
Fiona K, Owner at The New Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Flipside thanks for the review, we are working hard on the food and upping our game continuously. I hope next time you are in there is something on the daily special to tempt your fancy, our home-made pies are getting rave reviews at the mo. If you are ever having a larger party we can put your own menu...

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

my partner and I and our dog Dave stayed here this past Saturday after finding this little gem at last minute for an unexpected weekend away . Thoroughly enjoyed it. A couple of minor niggles but nothing to complain about at all. The accommodation is spot on , Good sized beds, lovely and quiet although we were at the top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancing
4.3 km away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
3.9 km away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
3.2 km away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
6.9 km away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
326 reviews
10.7 km away
Premier Inn Littlehampton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The New Sussex Hotel

Address: 182 South Street, Lancing BN15 8AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Lancing
Price Range: $121 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Sussex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The New Sussex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The New Sussex Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The New Sussex Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think there is a lift so you need to be ok with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Simon_Fields, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I only eat here - on a busy roundabout overlooking the beach”
 of 5 bubbles 142martino, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 2 with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles flavia1243, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have great sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles cjn0rm, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles Manager_Rentals, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5