We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

692 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 668: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights while walking the Cradle Mountain trails and absolutely loved it. The cottage that we stayed in (Snowgum) was absolutely stunning and immaculately kept, with not a spider or bug to be seen despite the bush setting. When we first entered the room the fire was lit which was a nice touch considering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BIGbUrJe
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was just the perfect place to relax after almost two weeks touring Tasmania. Our trip had been really busy and exciting and now we could relax in this beautiful cabin for two nights. Everything was there that we needed, kitchen, microwave, good size fridge and plenty of crockery etc. It didn't worry us that there was nothing to watch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adventurous56
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well maintain cabins, looks better than the picture, good location and very helpful staff. If you need to stay connected for whatever reason, bring your own sim card, must be telstra as that is the only carrier that cover cradle mountain I suspect. I dont need it anyway but I saw comments about the 80M free access being not enough,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ETRAVEL2013
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I and another couple were spending a week or so traveling around Tassie and we all agreed that the Highlanders Cottages were our favorite! We were only there two nights, but would have loved to have stayed longer. The location is great -- within walking distance of the visitor center where you pick up the shuttle for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sundance1406
cradlehighlander, Manager at Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Sundance1406 Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at Highlanders! I am very pleased to hear Highlanders was a highlight of your Tasmanian holiday, and the cabin met all of your needs. That is the great thing about our cabins, most of them have a full kitchen for self catering,...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved the location of this accommodation. Self-catering facilities provided in room that we had but we had dinner down the street at the lodge. Room was very nice, bathroom was huge--shower stall had no door, just curtain so things can get a little wet. Could walk to national park but car is perhaps desired in area. Internet/tv spotty, especially when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelingYanks
cradlehighlander, Manager at Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages, responded to this review

Hi the Traveling Yanks! Thanks for taking time to leave a review of your stay at Highlanders. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you enjoyed exploring the National Park and the rest of your holiday. I agree, the walk in shower area can get a little damp, but this design allows for...

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

80 MB of Internet access for free. You have to be kidding. Room was fine. We stayed in the Tallowood cabin. Kitchen had microwave, fridge, full stove, spa, and fireplace. Bath products very good. Very private in the woods. Close to the park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
cradlehighlander, Manager at Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Rob C Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at Highlanders, and we are pleased that the Tallow-wood cabin met you needs. Our vouchers are 80MB vouchers, and we recognise this is a small amount of data. We offer one 80MB voucher per person per night, and I apologise if you...

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We r here fr 4 days but i little bit disappointed frm food but last night in Highland restaurant they change the menu that is a great food i had a stake and a fish that plate look so awesome i ask the waters who cook that meal that stake especially on ask the water said Chef arpan cook his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rsheerin
cradlehighlander, Manager at Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, however i think you meant to leave a review for the Highland Restaurant, which is at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge. It is a common mistake for people to get us confused :-) We are Cradle Mountain Highlanders accommodation, and we do not operate a restaurant, but we are very happy...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We, a family of 4, stayed one night at the RingTail cabin which is amidst the forest. It was spacious, comfortable, clean, and has a well stock up kitchen. We bought food from a supermarket in Sheffield and cooked in the cabin instead of having dinner outside. The cottage is also minutes away from the visitor centre where we took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gohgl
cradlehighlander, Manager at Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed staying in one of our Studio cabins, and enjoyed your Cradle Mountain experience overall. Warm regards Lisa

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Our lodge had beds for 6 people plus a sofa. We really enjoyed our baths. Do take your own food with you as it is expensive to buy it in the cafe. Tea, coffee, sugar n 2 small cartons of milk are provided. There is a fire in the cabin to keep you warm. We went out at night n...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Soooo loved the cosy private cabin with heated Bedrooms, electric blankets, a lovely wood fire and Really friendly staff/manager that was happy to give us recommendations where to eat ect :) One night wasn't long enough :( Can't wait to go back with my hubbie. :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H

442 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (412)
Viewed
Room/Suite (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (198)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park hotels
1.0 km away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
953 reviews
1.5 km away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,148 reviews
0.8 km away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountain
Discovery Parks - Cradle Mountai...
#3 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
421 reviews
62.4 km away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
382 reviews
66.0 km away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The cabins are all hand built in a traditional mountain style and feature lovely natural timbers inside and out. All cabins have log fires except for two and three have spa baths with full of rustic mountain charm. With wildlife at your doorstep, spectacular alpine scenery all around and a rustic mountain cabin to call home, you will really feel at one with nature when you make Cradle Mountain Highlanders your base for exploring Cradle Mountain National Park.Take a walk through ancient rainforests, scale snow-capped peaks or just curl up by the fire in your snug wooden cabin and let the peace of the forest surround you.Whether you are in the mood for self-indulgent comfort or a budget conscious family, there’s a cabin here to suit you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Address: 3876 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range: $145 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Larger 2 bedroom cabins available, all are private & away from other cabins.”
460LindaH, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I am sure all the cabins are equipped to the same high standard as ours was.”
Willsy13, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our cabin was called Snowgum,and it was very private as we only had one other cottage nearby.”
annarosabaker, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Buy food before coming to cradle mountain. That way you can cook your own meals.”
, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Booking online is very easy!”
Robyn4269, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5