We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 254: English reviews
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Great holiday! Checked in and were suprised on how big the rooms were. A very nice tight nit park close to shops/ beaches and relatively close to all the walks aswell. Still had a view half way up the hill from the chalet. Will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Emily B
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

At the reception they have been really rude, they didn't suggest us the unpowered place because It was so cheap, inventing a story, because there were some Kids. We asked where we can buy some food and they said the only one supermarket is just around the corner. Of course, same business, and the supermarket was with poor choise and... More 

Helpful?
Thank domenico g
Iluka_Holiday, General Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Domenico, Clearly, you were not happy with your stay. Unfortunately, your comments are untrue. The facts are; -There was a school group occupying the unpowered sites, no story invented. -The time you checked in, 6PM, there was only one supermarket open, it is a separate business to the park. - You were more than welcome to get 2 amenity... More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cabin was comfortable and large enough to accommodate a family if necessary. TV reception was a little problem as was finding the Park - sign posting was not really clear but we got to see a lot of the township searching for it. We enjoyed sitting out on the verandah with a wine or two watching the sun set and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judy H
Iluka_Holiday, General Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Dear Judy, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Yes, TV reception can be a problem on windy days, we are in a remote spot. The sunsets over Coles Bay are very special & so pleased you enjoyed them. Hope to see you return another day. Kind Regards, General Manager More 

Victoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights recently in a 2 bedroom holiday unit and really couldn't fault it. A newly renovated kitchen, hot showers, comfortable beds and amazing views. Being a part time camper we checked out the camping sites and they looked lush and I really liked the feeling of being in the bush, even though this is a large... More 

Helpful?
Thank wildpoppy_8
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Dear Wildpoppy, Many thanks for submitting feedback it is very much appreciated. So happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our rustic natural bush setting, it really is a stunning area & we love it too! Kind Regards, The Manager More 

Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a cabin on a hill with an ocean view from the deck that was gorgeous. The park has a beautiful natural setting and was well kept. We would have liked a few days to explore the amazing Coles Bay area. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Brenton S
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Dear Brenton, Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback we do appreciate it. Yes, the water views are memorable here at the park & very happy you enjoyed them. Kind Regards, The Manager More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night. Reception staff rude and unhelpful. Booked for two adults and a child. Somehow there was confusion about the child's bedding, which would have been fine if the lady at reception didn't argue that we told her we did not require bedding. The room was dated but had what you needed. The $15 charge for extra linen... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abie2
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Abie, Sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. Happy the cabin had what you needed though. To clear up some confusion,the extra child charge is not for the linen it is for the additional child. Our linen is supplied by a commercial laundry & if the towel was threadbare we will bring it to their attention. Yes, you... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I guess that writing a review you are in effect being a judge so as judges do let’s start with the good points. The lady in reception was cheerful and helpful – from the site we stayed on there was water views – the park is easy walking distance to the local shops and tavern but that’s pretty much where... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom D
Iluka_Holiday, General Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Tom, We are happy all of your stay was not a disappointment. But do feel we have to respond to your comments in a factual sense. Our park is on 10 acres of well treed natural bush setting, the groundsmen go to great lengths to ensure it is kept clean & not over manicured. Yes, you are right the... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We booked a cabin for two nights while visiting the Freycinet National Park. Big4 offers both cabins, caravan and camping sites. Our cabin was clean and tidy, with relatively new appliances. One bedroom had a comfortable double bed, while the second bedroom had two bunk beds. We were there in Spring, and the small heater was adequate. It might struggle... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
Iluka_Holiday, General Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay at Coles Bay. The cabin you were staying in has beautiful views over Coles Bay & Muirs Beach, the former being the village on the Freycinet peninsula, the drive that took you 10 minutes was into the Freycinet National Park. It is a... More 

Bairnsdale
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016

For our time visiting the Freycinet National Park, we booked at the Big 4 being members. We had booked a "Superior" cabin, which was for 6 guests, and not much about the accommodation was "superior". The word gives the impression of something special or out of the ordinary, it was not. The cabin was reasonably modern, and well appointed with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we are sorry that you were disappointed with your cabin. We tried to differentiate the park cabins with the terms standard and superior as the superior ones have a queen compared to the double in standard and the superior are newer units, obviously we may need to change our wording. More 

Melb VIC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We travelled in our camper van from Hobart to Freycinet and were very happy with what we found. The check in was very helpful and we were issued a very spacious site for our 4 berth van ( approx 6m) we were in Eel Walk which was a stones throw to amenities block and BBQ area and playground. The amenities... More 

Helpful?
Thank happybananas
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
18.1 km away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
391 reviews
27.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
2.5 km away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
342 reviews
2.2 km away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
479 reviews
7.5 km away
Freycinet Eco Retreat
Freycinet Eco Retreat
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet (formerly known as Iluka Holiday Centre) sits opposite Muirs Beach at Coles Bay on the beautiful East Coast of Tasmania. It's an ideal location from which to explore world renowned Freycinet National Park and Wineglass Bay. The area is rich in stunning natural beauty, great walks and history. It abounds in fresh local produce from berries to wine and seafood. Whether a couple looking for a quiet weekend or a family wanting a fun holiday we offer a wide variety of accommodation options: 2 bedroom units, cosy cabins, powered and tent sites, YHA backpackers hostel. Minimum booking periods over long weekends, Christmas and Easter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Address: 15 Reserve Road | PO Box 44, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia (Formerly Iluka Holiday Centre)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Price Range: $118 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Iluka On Freycinet Coles Bay, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Having a self-contained Cabin was worth paying extra”
 of 5 bubbles 519judyh, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are plenty of options for accommodation here ranging from camping to hostel to luxury holiday apartments.”
 of 5 bubbles wildpoppy_8, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book the 2 Bedroom Holiday unit if you are a family, the other cabins are too small.”
 of 5 bubbles markkarenr, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Double rooms”
 of 5 bubbles DrAbhijitDas, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a cabin with view to the bay, or in a quieter area.”
 of 5 bubbles Waratah10, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay