We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bayside Inn

PricelineUS$64*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$82*
US$64*
US$66*
US$67*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Bayside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 329: English reviews
Start your review of Bayside Inn
 Click to rate
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overlooking the St Helens waterfront this hotel/motel provides accommodation, large dining room bars and a bottle store. The accommodation is in several groups; firstly upstairs within the hotel, secondly in a ground level semi-circle overlooking the foreshore and finally in a block around a covered swimming pool. The premises are quite dated but renovations have started and the facilities are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger J
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was quiet,the fittings where tired,had to go to the bar for Wi Fi. Reasonable value nevertheless. The location was fine being on the main street.Involves an ouside walk to the Bar.The Bar meals where quite acceptable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianirene09
Ulverstone, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stay here regularly with a group of friends because of the location and otelgreat covered pool communal area. Meals and staff are great but the poolside rooms have become very tired. Even at the cheap rates they desperately need updating and repairs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CRCTravellers
Safety Bay, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

4 of us stayed for an overnight stay while touring Tassy with friends from NZ. The hotel was in great location overlooking the St Helens waterfont, good menu. The rooms were large with very comfy big bed. The decor is a bit old and the hotel could do with a bit of a reno.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A7404TMdaver
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Afte seeing the trip advisor pics my colleague and I decided to book into this hotel. Bad mistake. Firstly we waited at reception along with other people while the receptionist was in a nearby room and she must of known as she had people waiting there as she was talking and oblivious to her hotel guests. A person had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joey60_13
Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Every time we visit St Helens we stay at the Bayside Inn. We always choose a room overlooking the bay and just enjoy the view with a relaxing glass of good wine!! The other real bonus is the crumbed scallops they have on their menu - it is a generous serving, only lightly crumbed and absolutely full of flavor!! Definately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Ok to look at it doesn't look great. Staff excellent so organised. Room very basic but very clean. Food in restaurant great. Location was great close to everything. Couldn't believe how quite it was. Very basic but clean and very handy definitely recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ang835
Queensland
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Great location dirty hotel. Pity as ST Helens is a lovely place. Major revamp is required for this great location. Due to hotel being dirty wasn't about to try the food..a drink was enough. Owners need to refurb sooner than later!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elliotQueensland
EBCLeisureHotels, Marketing Coordinator at Bayside Inn, responded to this review

Hi elliotQueensland, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We were disappointed to read that you found our hotel dirty. Our staff endeavor at all times to deliver a clean hotel and take pride in their work. Yes, we agree that a refurbishment is in need as this is a very old hotel. Renovations to our accommodation...

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Didn't stay at property as we have other accommodation in the town. Got our usual neptune chicken which was OK but a bit light on in the sauce and seafood. have stayed before in the cheap rooms and they are just that. Good view of the bay. Bottle shop usuallly closed as there is a large chain outlet araound the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kayceesophie
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Let's start with the bad. Booked a table well in advance because it was a long weekend and celebrating a birthday. We booked a table next to the window which was occupied and we were down in lower section nowhere near a window. Complained and they gave us a window table at the expense of somebody else that had also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Scotan
EBCLeisureHotels, Marketing Coordinator at Bayside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Scotan, We were disappointed that you did not enjoy your time in our Bistro. After investigation with our manger, we were advised that it was an error that you were not seated near the window, but this situation was quickly rectified. This weekend was a long weekend and is traditionally a very busy time in St Helens with a...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
15.4 km away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
14.9 km away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
87 reviews
0.4 km away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
3.9 km away
Hillcrest Tourist Park
Hillcrest Tourist Park
#9 of 10 in St Helens
47 reviews
14.9 km away
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
#2 of 3 in Scamander
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Bayside Inn

Address: 2 Cecilia St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Price Range: $95 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bayside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a view book upstairs or in the semi-circle”
RogerJ39, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid upstairs rooms if you have heavy stuff”
brianirene09, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Main hotel rooms are more comfortable”
CRCTravellers, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
Joey60_13, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on the first floor with a view over the bay - you won't be disappointed!!”
ianj569, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$64* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$66
Hotels.comUS$67
HotelQuicklyUS$82
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates