We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hanlon House

230 reviews
Save
Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (9)
Overview
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good8%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“b b”(77 reviews)
“other guests”(21 reviews)
“breakfast room”(7 reviews)
Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Self-Serve Laundry
4.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (230)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Hanlon House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
201
18
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
201
18
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bother guestsbreakfast roommary ellendinner reservationsgenerous hospitalityfamily suitelocal knowledgelovely roomfluffy towelswonderful hostsmoked salmonhome away from homeupstairs roomperfect locationfront doorattention to detail
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We arrived in Tasmania early Spring to be met with unseasonal cold and snow. Our West Coast trip was abandoned as we were unable to get to Strahan. We stayed an extra day at Hanlon House(3 in all). We could not have been made more...More

1  Thank Tony B
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Unfortunately it has changed owners and as the new ones do not live at the property there is no one to greet you. We felt something missing here, quiet sad really. Presentation has not changed which is positive however the atmospher is not there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joyandrod
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Paid for a continental breakfast, English breakfast and WIFI but they were not provided. We rang the manager many times - and emailed - to ask for a part refund but we received no replies. Don't go there.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank peternU1156NB
Management response:Responded 8 August 2017

Thank you for your review. i am sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us, we have the WIFI password along with emergency contacts and my personal contact number clearly visible in the main kitchen area. I did in fact attempt to call you...More

Reviewed 1 August 2017

Returned after such a welcoming stay a few years ago. "New owners" used off site managers. we arrived to keys in a mailbox and a freezing cold house. (took a good few hours to resolve how we could get our room warm borrowing electric heaters...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 224Karin
Management response:Responded 4 August 2017

Thank you for your review. I do apologise for the lack of heating, we were apparently left off the delivery, sadly mistakes do happen as it is human to error. It was max 40 mins for us to resolve your heating issue, considering i was...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Just like staying at grandmas house. Enjoyed it immensely as we stayed in Mary Ellen with a great view of the water Great location so easy to walk around the town Breakfast included which started our day in the right way

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robertdL130WT
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345646
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$105 - US$154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$105 - US$154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (9)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
chansuetyee5
8 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David H | Reviewed this property |
I agree with Roxanne, the owner is very approachable. Best to ask them directly
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Amy Belle has a lovely little patio and beach views, but needs the glass doors open in summer, even at night."
Read review
"Avoid the separate room at the rear of the building."
Read review
"Mary Ellen room if you like space and a king bed."
Read review
"Take the breakfast option for a hearty well priced treat."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing