We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Castaway Holiday Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Castaway Holiday Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castaway Holiday Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 185: English reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2014 via mobile

Jim is a wonderful host, so helpful and generous. These apartments are ideally located within an easy walk to the village. They are well-equipped for families with everything you need as a base to explore the west coast. Would highly recommend Castaways!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris I
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. It is our pleasure to make our guests feel at home, and provide all the information they may need to make their stay as comfortable and enjoyable, as possible. We thank you for your recommendation.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 7 December 2014

We stayed 2 nights here during the second visit. The best location in Strahan, very close to the supermarket, very short distance to town centre and esplanade. Good value, clean and well equipped apartment. Love the backyard with the great birds sanctuary. A short distance to Ocean Bay, we love the great sunset and awesome beach. Thanks Bev and Jim...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SannyHeng
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We appreciate your kind comments and hope you enjoyed this visit as much as the first time around; it is always good to meet guests on their return. You came at a good time of the year to see all the wildlife in the garden, thank you.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2014

These apartments are spotless, comfortable, roomy, and well-placed for access to the supermarket as well as the main street of Strahan. For our 2-night stay our hosts made us most welcome and provided us with plenty of ideas for sight-seeing around Strahan. The laundry facilities are excellent. We highly recommend Castaway and will certainly stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank y0rkie40
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. What a glowing recommendation, we appreciate your kind words, and time taken to submit your review. We hope our advice, on local points of interest, helped you make the most of your time in Strahan.

Maroochydore, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2014 via mobile

Must say I had doubts over this place mainly due to the internal photos that do NOT come close to doing this place justice!! Really excellent value and would Definately stay again ... Very spacious and impeccably clean with comfy beds... Would recommend highly and after staying in a place in Hobart that costs double what this is... This is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scoobystuey
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. As owners of this property we take great satisfaction to receive such an outstanding review; we never take anything for granted, and always work hard to make our guests feel at home in Strahan. The West Coast is a great place to get away from it all, as you stated, a...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2014

Strahan is a little village and we were very happy to spend our two nights here. Extremely spotless unit, full kitchen with all the accessories needed to cook up a storm. Wish we could have stayed for another day or two. Very reasonably priced wifi gave us a chance to catch up on the world. Close walk down to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ceddy61
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. It is always good to know that our guests take advantage of the kitchen facilities in the apartments, self catering means you don't always have to eat out at night and you can enjoy some good old fashioned home style cooking. We hope you enjoyed your time in Strahan, and all...

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2014

We stayed for two nights in these very clean, comfortable and well located apartments. On arrival we were greeted by Bev who gave us all the information we needed to help us get the most out of our visit to Strahan, we were most impressed with being handed a bottle of "real milk", not long life milk. Washing facilities and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2Buckles
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We try to give our guests good advice on arriving in Strahan, where to visit, what to see, must do's; glad it was useful information for you, and you enjoyed your stay. We were only too pleased to return your travel documents, all part of the West Coast spirit.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Stayed in two bedroom accommodation which was very comfortable and well layed out with toilet separate from bathroom. Super friendly welcome and location is short drive to waterfront. Free DVD's available and good wifi for $5. Good TV reception. Don't miss the Ship that Never Was play on the waterfront if you stay in Strahan.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen580
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Strahan, and great to see you made mention of the "Ship That Never Was", a must see when you are in Strahan.

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2014

Had two nights in one of the apartments. Very well appointed with lots of room. The apartment was very clean. Only complaint was most of the windows had a lot of mildew and mold around them which could have easily been cleaned. Owners were very pleasant and helpful. It is very convenient to the wharf area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denisejackie
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. You will be pleased to know the offending windows have been cleaned, unfortunately, from time to time, we sometimes get a build up of mildew from condensation through the cooler months. We always try to keep on top of all our window cleaning duties as we keep our apartments scrupulously clean;...

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2014

Stayed in October for three nights, three individual adults. The good: IGA was only 300m away which was very convenient. Two-bedroom standard set up with kitchen, bathroom, separate toilet and combined lounge/dining. Extra's were appreciated - individual face cloths, tea/coffee/salt/pepper/milk on arrival, shampoo and conditioner, extension lead, hairdryer. Onsite, free laundry with front-loader washing machine and dryer - detergent provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarrissaIbbott
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are surprised to hear you had a problem with the shower; we have never had anyone mention the size of the showers before. We always like to hear feedback from our guests, sometimes the comments do not reflect the effort we put in, as we always endeavour to make our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2014

The owners were very kind and helpful. The accommodation is a bit dated but was good value and is perfect if you are not looking for luxury - it was clean, warm, quiet, everything worked fine and it was centrally located. Having access to a washing machine and dryer was also a plus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank REmsden
CastawayStrahan, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are always looking to update our apartments; guests often comment how fresh and new they appear. It is an ongoing project to improve our guests comfort, whilst still giving great value for money. Luxury comes at a cost, and as a small business we try to keep everything cost effective...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strahan hotels
0.3 km away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
750 reviews
0.9 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
72 reviews
0.7 km away
Motel Strahan
Motel Strahan
#3 of 4 in Strahan
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Risby Cove
Risby Cove
#2 of 4 in Strahan
252 reviews
0.6 km away
Strahan Holiday Retreat
Strahan Holiday Retreat
#5 of 21 in Strahan
271 reviews
0.7 km away
Strahan Bungalows
Strahan Bungalows
#3 of 21 in Strahan
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castaway offers affordable, modern, self contained apartments with two bedrooms and spacious living area just 5 minutes stroll from the town centre, harbour and restaurants. Our apartments are suitable for couples, families or groups, and offer full kitchen facilities for all your self catering needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castaway Holiday Apartments

Address: 12 Harvey Street, Strahan, Tasmania TAS 7468, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Strahan
Price Range: $164 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castaway Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Castaway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Holiday Apartments Strahan, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Castaway Holiday Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms would be similar with regards to parking and quiet location.”
 of 5 bubbles SMTas, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all units are good”
 of 5 bubbles Somerton2016, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Any room is acceptable”
 of 5 bubbles StayalotNewcastle, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Any are great”
 of 5 bubbles AdieWellington, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We were in unit 4, away from the road and surrounded by garden”
 of 5 bubbles killara23, 25 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay