We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Heemskirk Motor Hotel

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Heemskirk Motor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Heemskirk Motor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 17 December 2016

The poor town looks run down and so does the motel. I think it caters for workers and the whole place is dated and run down. I would not suggest you stay and just drive on. Nothing much good to say about our whole experience at Zeehan.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deborah f
Hobart
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Little things like a small bedside table beside each side of the double bed are often missed by more upmarket hotels. And at last the motel has a good cook. Lots of friendly young staff on this trip. The motel does well for a bush location and the tariff is in keeping with what is an older motel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dehnem
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We always have a meal here when in Zeehan and today it was the same friendly service and great tasting, generous, value for money meals. The drinks are well priced too. Friendly staff and prompt service makes for a relaxing break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iwonthelotto
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed elsewhere, but ate in the bistro, the service was great, very friendly barstaff and a very well cooked meal. Reasonable prices and a good atmosphere. A welcome steak with vegetables, cooked to perfection, Thankyou! 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 April 2016

This motel is overpriced offering poor, outdated facilities ( shower in a bathtub!!), a horrid, poof y lounge, dirty carpet, a weedy ugly outlook, etc.etc. the list goes on! To top matters off they tried to charge me $190 per night, when the booking agent quoted $160 ( still too much). The meal at the attached Oasis pub, supposedly grilled...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 36johannat
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 36johannat, We are disappointed and surprised to read your review. The manager remembers checking you out and that yes, you were incorrectly quoted. This was amended immediately for you when you mentioned the amount was incorrect. The booking agent you used incorrectly stated the room type you booked so we honoured this and gave you a bigger self contained...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 20 April 2016

We have been very disappointed with the services and reception in Heemskirk Motor Hotel. We had to look for receptionist for 15 minutes and nobody could tell where she is. When she finally arrived, we were told that we could use INternet in the lounge, and this could be OK, because hotel has a nice and spacious lounge where you...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank nicholas z
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas Z, Thanks for your review. I have spoken with management about your issue and they were aware of your problem. The owner was there at the time with her friend who was able to access wifi so we are surprised at to why you could not? I apologise if the receptionist was difficult to find. Being a small...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Both my husband and myself are from Hobart and doing a roadie of the magnificent West Coast of Tasmania. After staying at various accommodation on the way and about to stay for 2 nights at the Eco Wilderness accommodation at Corinna,we can't thank everyone enough at the Heemskirk Motel Hotel for making our stay very comfortable in every way. From...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amelia W
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amelia W Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Heemskirk Motor Hotel. We are so pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and found everyone to be so friendly. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Stephanie

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2016

However, we had a couple of drinks here, and used the attached bottle shop ,you can not fault the staff, they are so friendly and helpful. Even carried out bottle shop purchases to the car. Prices are reasonable. It's a country Tasmanian pub. Next door to IGA, plenty of parking. Didn't stay here, but enjoyed our couple of visits.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie F
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Reviewed 18 March 2016

We had a comfortable nights stay but unfortunately not a good nights sleep. There was an adjoining door between ours and the next room and it wasn't soundproof. The neighbours were noisy and talked late into the night and we were tired from travelling. The big plus to this stay were the meals we enjoyed at the adjoining Hotel. We...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine123456
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine123456, Thanks for your review of the Heemskirk Motor Hotel. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your meals and had a comfortable stay. I am sorry to hear however that you experienced noisy neighbours which kept you up. I hope this did not take away from the enjoyment of your stay in the beautiful West Coast of...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2016

A group of us ate in the restaurant for two nights when we were staying in Zeehan. The meals were very hit and miss as the first night it was quiet and the meals were acceptable. Steak and pasta was pretty good. The second night it was quite busy and all of the meals were really poor. I ordered steak...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Damian T
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Damien T, Thank you for taking time to review your experience at the Heemskirk Motor Hotel. I am very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy the meals and had a poor experience in the restaurant. I will definitely be passing your feedback on to our manager and chef. Thank you again for letting us know. I can assure...

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zeehan
29.0 km away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
868 reviews
34.9 km away
Corinna Wilderness Experience
27.2 km away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 km away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
119 reviews
1.8 km away
Zeehan Bush Camp and Caravan Park
28.2 km away
Tullah Lakeside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Heemskirk Motor Hotel

Address: 1-25 Main Street, Zeehan, Tasmania 7469, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Zeehan
Price Range: $121 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heemskirk Motor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heemskirk Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Heemskirk Motor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you check and recheck your reservations before arriving.”
sharond940, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check your shower and get as far away from the road, smoking area and bottle shop as possible. Stay for a night, but only if you have to.”
GilbertandYumi, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Queen rooms have queen bed, loung & table for 2 so very good size.”
andyj19702015, 26 May 2015 | Read review
“Choose another venue”
Evie2011, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Strahan is only a 20 min drive away without paying exuberant prices for accommodation. Zeehan is a great alternative.”
  • 'The Hemmy'
HumanitarianV4V, 4 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Hotwire.com
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates