We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
See the most recent reviews
Showing 173: English reviews
Hillsdale, New York
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 5 nights while at Cedar Point and went to a Cleveland Indians Game. The hotel was nice , except for the few flaws. Walls are thin, there is a near by freight train, and upstairs neighbors where kinda of loud. Need to sleep with TV or fan on to to drown out neighbors and near by freight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L389
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of our Motel! I'm sorry to hear that you had a few noise issues during your stay with us. I to wish that the trains didn't blow their whistle as much as they do! If you stay at our location again, please just ask and we can try and...

Twinsburg, Ohio
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First the good - the hotel is nice and clean and the staff was friendly. If you are hearing impaired, this hotel is a great value. If you are not, please do not stay here. You will not sleep at all. There is no insulation in the place. Doors and walls are paper thin. There were loud patrons and that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry that you didn't have a great experience at our hotel. We enjoy hear any and all feedback from our guests to help us make improvements in the areas that we are lacking in. I regret that sometimes guests are inconsiderate of their fellow guests and are loud. We...

Toledo, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here this past weekend (Saturday May,31st). We didn't spend much time in the room, basically just slept there but the bathroom was clean, the beds were clean, and everything was nice and up to date. No carpet in the rooms is perfect, more hotels should do this! Train woke us up once but not too bad. Close to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hiashley1987
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a nice review! I'm glad that you had a great time while you were staying with us and hope that you will come see us again the next time you are in the area!! Thanks again, Matt

Winchester
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed at this motel for the past 3 years and was so disappointed this year. the first room they sent me to, the door would not unlock, so they gave me a different room in this room the floor was dirty, the hallway carpet stayed dirty the 3 nights I was there,. the sink in the bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol O
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. Let me start by apologizing for not meeting your expectations during your stay, for that I'm truly sorry. We love getting any and all feedback from our guests whether it's good or bad as it lets us know what areas we need to improve. I'm sorry that...

United States
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed on Sunday of Memorial Day weekend so we could go to Cedar Point on Sunday and Monday and save a drive home and back. We would definitely stay again. In fact, it was so inexpensive, I thought twice about posting about it on Tripadvisor since I suspect it fills up on weekends when Cedar Point is open. HOWEVER:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny-Q2
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of our hotel! We greatly enjoy hearing how we are doing from our guests perspective. It lets us know where we are meeting our expectations, as well as where we are missing our goals. The reason that we don't offer many extra amenities is to keep our cost...

Lewisburg
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The room wasn't very expensive at all. Only about ten minutes from Cedar Point. This is a very bare bones hotel and is pretty clean, especially considering how economical it is. The hotel is literally right off the highway and adjacent to Wendy's. Bathroom tub had some hair in it and the toiletries were extremely limited. Bed was average and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M P
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy life to leave us a review of our hotel. I'm sorry your stay wasn't perfect. You pointed out a few things that we need to focus on to make our future guests stays an exceptional experience! Thank you again for staying at our hotel and I hope that we will...

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 19 April 2014

A nice hotel, with really cool looking newly remodeled rooms. I would stay here again. This is not a high end fancy hotel.. There was no breakfast. There was a safe in the room, and nice tv. Pros: Clean, fresh, nice location, affordable, nice pool, near highway, there is fast food in the area. Cons: Pretty simple, no real perks....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OhioTea
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review! We always like hearing about how we are doing from our guests. I'm glad you like the look of our newly styled rooms. I look forward to seeing you again if your travels bring you back to our area!! Thanks again for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! Matt

Sandusky, Ohio
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Took my kids there just to get out of the house and go swimming... the room we got was decent. Loved the kitchenette. Out of all the staff only one man was pleasant and friendly, don't know his name but he was behind front desk the morning we checked out. Only true complaint was the chlorine in pool was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessyljlp
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel! I'm glad that you enjoyed staying with us and having free range of the pool area while you were here! I must apologize for all of my staff being less than friendly to you and your family while you were here. Hopefully you will come see us...

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Horrible, don't let the nice exterior fool you!! There is a reason this hotel is cheap. No extras at all not even soap or shampoo. Lots of hoodrats running around everywhere making a ton of noise. Also making a ton of noise...... Train going by every 20 to 30 min, not a small train either, also there is some kind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ladyhoffman
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our Motel. I'm very sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet your expectations. I understand and regret how loud the trains can be at times. I am also sorry that there were guests that didn't control other people in their group that were being loud. We try and...

Wadsworth, Ohio
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I am currently staying here for two nights on business and althou the staff is very polite, the public areas need some help. I have only seen ONE employee, a young man from the front desk during my stay who actually went out of his way to make sure the lobby area looked tidy late at night. When I walked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tech_Guy180
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We always enjoy receiving feedback from our guests even if sometimes it's not the best. We use this to know where we are falling short of our goals and forces us strive that much harder to make improvements. Unfortunately our floor tiles do show salt and...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
0.6 km away
Quality Inn Cedar Point
5.6 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
300 reviews
5.2 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
5.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
5.0 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel 6 Sandusky - Huron is located off I-2 exit Rye Beach Rd. Amusement parks, golf and the beach are within 3 miles. Our smoke-free modern rooms include a 32 inch LCD TV and free Wi-Fi. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, conference room and truck parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron

Address: 601 Rye Beach Road, off Interstate 2, exit Rye Beach Road, Huron, OH 44839
Region: United States > Ohio > Huron
Price Range: $67 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Motel-6 and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Huron
Microtel Hotel Huron
Huron Microtel
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with microwave and fridge Ask for extra blankets and pillows Ask for extra towels Rooms do not come with kleenex”
 of 5 bubbles luvhoteladventures, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms next to the pool could get noisy”
 of 5 bubbles switch88, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room was quiet. Ice machine on 1sr and 3rd floors. Hair dryers are available at desk but not in each room. Only have so many to use.”
 of 5 bubbles debis55, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Away from train side”
 of 5 bubbles F4308RDlisak, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Hotel located next to train track”
 of 5 bubbles ktu84, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay