Waters Edge Retreat

827 E Lakeshore Dr P.O. Box 447, Kelleys Island, OH 43438-6539
Traveller (48)
View on the Veranda
Room & Suite (20)
This is the view off the front porch of Waters Edge. Rainbows are not guaranteed, but you never know...
Pool & Beach (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 2 hotels in Kelleys Island
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Why drive or fly a thousand miles to enjoy an ocean when we have a fresh water ocean on the North Coast of Ohio? Our waterfront luxury bed and breakfast, on Kelleys Island, is great for a relaxing romantic getaway, honeymoon, anniversary or other special occasion! Our awards include "Best of the Best" by Travel & Leisure (Great Lakes), Three Diamond Award AAA, and were featured on NBC's Today Show with Al Roker and Peter Greenburg. A stay includes a gourmet breakfast, happy hour with sangria and cheese, a sweet treat in the evening, complimentary bicycles, rental kayaks and access to our beautiful lake front deck.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycles available
Airport transportation
Adults only
Wifi
Swimming pool toys
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Boating
Canoeing
Hiking
Mini golf
Snorkelling
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
242Reviews7Q+A58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 210
  • 20
  • 7
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
stephm329 wrote a review Jul 2020
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Trisha and Rick treat every guest like their most cherished possession from end-end, however without interrupting your desired personal time away from your daily lives; the name of their B&B is perfectly named as you quickly feel like you are engaged in a real retreat from your daily life, especially important and rejuvenating during these currently challenging times. Their Inn, their rooms, the beautiful deck, rocks and beach (even partially submerged due to high water currently) are all a wonderful haven away from it all. For those who wish a little more action, the location is literally minutes away from the bustling mainstreet area of Kelley's Island, filled with relaxed but tasty restaurants, including many outdoor dining options for those with virus risk and concerns. My husband and I are both moderate - high risk persons with the virus, and therefore conducted extensive research externally and with the owners about their CDC health/safety actions taken to reduce all risk factors of inadvertent transmission. Our initial thoughts and hopes were well rewarded, as we felt safe in the socially-distanced, safe, clean and well supplied environment of masks, sanitizer and ample room and accommodations for all guests, all done in an understated and thoughtful manner. Trish is a wonderful chef and fantastic baker, and you will not be disppointed with your meals, treats and sangria. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ohio Traveller wrote a review Jul 2021
Westerville, OH416 contributions374 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
For our first trip back to Kelleys Island in many years we chose Waters Edge Retreat. This small, spotless, beautifully decorated inn was quiet and delightful. The innkeepers (Tricia and Rick) have considered lots of fine details to enhance our stay (early morning coffee and homemade sweet, homemade delicious breakfast, sangria and snack late afternoon, and a dessert at night). They were available to answer questions but not intrusive. Our room (Serenity) had 4 windows directly facing the lake. It was filled with vintage furniture which also included a ‘antique queen bed.’ It seemed to us that the bed was a little smaller than other queen size beds. We have a king at home and usually do fine when staying in a room with a queen, but this one seemed a little tight. Be aware of this if your husband is tall. Otherwise our stay was perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roger P S wrote a review Aug 2021
8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I spent a week here on our honeymoon and really enjoyed it. We hung out on the island, and Rick and Tricia were very helpful with recommendations on what to do and where to eat. The outstanding breakfast included pastry, fruit, juice, and usually a meat and an egg dish. Very tasty! In the evening, there would be desserts for us to enjoy. There was always bottled water available. We enjoyed the hammock under the apple tree, the binoculars on the porch, and the selection of tea. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters (aka Room with a View) because it has windows on three sides for amazing views of the island, lake, and Cedar Point. Our room was cleaned every day. On the last day, we used the "Day at the Beach" package that came with a huge amount of lunch, plus chairs, towels, and sunscreen, to camp out on the beach.
Only downside is that we didn't have control of the HVAC, so sometimes the room was warm, and we opened windows to compensate.
Waters Edge is highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We recommend Captain's Quarters on the 3rd floor as it has windows on three sides and a fun...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TreatedLikeaKid wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My girlfriend booked this as part of my 50th birthday celebration.
We arrived about 7pm, and couldn't find anyone to check us in. After a bit of wandering, we found a note pointing to our room.
We dropped off our bags (no help) and went back to meet our friends. We returned to Waters Edge around 8:30 with our favorite Caddy Shack white pizza. As we ascended the the stairs, I heard a voice from the porch, "Hey, you can't take that up there." I climbed two more stairs to reach the porch and I heard it again.
I turned around, assuming the command was intended for someone else, and she looked me dead in the eye and stated for the third time, "You CAN'T take that up there."
Quizzically, I responded, "Take what?"
"Your pizza. You're not allowed to eat in our rooms."
"Pardon me?" I responded.
"No food in our rooms. We don't want you staining the new carpet."
I've not felt chastised in that manner since I was a child.
Needless to say, my girlfriend and I were shocked. We complied and sat on their porch. Unfortunately, the mosquitos ate more of us than we did the pizza. We finished about two pieces before we gave in and went to our room. (I must have 20 bites)
Now, what did we find once we were finally situated in our room? A SNACK PLATE! Obviously the disconnect nearly short-circuited my brain. So much so, I took a picture of the plate. It contained one cookie, presumably for my girl and I to split or, argue over, as well as a few nuts and some raisins.
We left the plate alone. We didn't want to get kicked out by this obvious attempt at entrapment.
Finally, we turned in and realized something we hadn't previously noticed. There was an interior window above our door, looking into the stairwell. The stairwell is illuminated by motion sensing lights. Every time someone used the stairs all of the lights came on and shone through the spiderweb stretched across the interior window of our room.
I actually had a wonderful birthday getaway with my friends. I grew up on the lake, and love it to my core. Next time, I'll just find somewhere else to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard Kody, Owner at Waters Edge Retreat
Responded Sep 12, 2021
My recollection of the evening's events are very different. True, we were not there when they arrived because we went out for dinner. We left a note on the table in the foyer directing them to their room. This is our practice when we have late arrivals and have plans for the evening. Around 9:30, they walked up the porch steps with a pizza box and other take out food. We asked them to please not eat the pizza in their room and were confronted with a hostile and abusive response. We are a bed and breakfast. Our guest rooms are bedrooms and there are no tables for eating. When we see take out food arriving, we ask guests to please eat at a table on the veranda or at our dining room table. Until now, all guests have happily complied. We have invested thousands of dollars in new linens, bedding, furniture and carpeting since purchasing this property in 2019. We do not want to see this investment ruined by food stains. To the people reading this, I want to ask one question: Do you eat pizza in your bed at home? The snack plate was their plate. Every night we serve a sweet treat to our guests. Because the girlfriend had indicated she is vegan, we left mixed nuts and dried fruit for her in addition to a cookie for him. This treat was specific for this reason, so I know with certainty it was not left in the room. The treat was waiting on the same table as the note we left them with the room name attached to the plate. They took the plate to the room. Waters Edge has hundreds of five star reviews and this one star review. We have thousands of satisfied customers, many of whom return annually to visit us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
valann1028 wrote a review Jul 2023
PA17 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
There are limited choices on Kelley's Island when you are looking to stay for a weekend. The plus side is the Waters Edge is extremely clean . If you have any kind of health issues that high humidity has a negative /painful effect on or simply do not like sweating at night in bed this is not the place for you. During the July humidity of 98% & yes 100% humidity Rick felt it was okay to shut off the A/C. The first night we went to bed with the A/C on then woke up in the middle of the night to find that the A/C had been shut off. The 2nd night when the humidity was at 100% he left a tiny note on a 3 x 5 chalk stand saying no A/C open your windows and of course was nowhere to be found to talk too. Sadly, when opening the windows like our host Rick wants us too .. there are holes in the screens and before you know it you have lots of lake gnats with you. So, for $350 a night I do not feel like I should be expected to sleep with lake gnats or have to try to find someone to explain my health too, I would a assume from the pictures and their own description of "Retreat Luxury Bed & Breakfast" I would have A/C! The first give away was when checking in Rick took us immediately to the dining room to collect the remaining balance and to get us to sign a waiver not to sue him. Then realizing once in the room, you are given one small size of a half dollar paper thin bar of soap to be used for 2 adults. it broke right away, and we had to go buy soap for our bodies for the weekend, lucky I bring my own shampoo. This place is very clean and quiet; however, the owners are very cheap. Maybe if you stay not during the heat of the summer and bring your own soap. My last comment is breakfast is at 9am sharp- if you have a food allergy as another guest was to eggs, you get a piece of toast and a piece of breakfast meat. I found the beauty of this home not so charming after dealing with poor hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Dont stay during hot summer months
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard Kody, Owner at Waters Edge Retreat
Responded Jul 23, 2023
We are so sorry your stay was not pleasant for you. We always strive to make guests comfortable and are always available to address any concerns, as we live at the inn. We do not turn off the A/C, but being a house the central thermostat might sense the outside cooler temperature at night. Living on Lake Erie usually has breezes that most like, along with listening to the lapping waves. Again, if there was a problem, we'd happily accommodate. We use hotel quality soap and shampoo, which is changed daily, along with luxury towels. And we cater to all dietary restrictions. We only serve toast if someone is gluten free. We did have a guest recently who didn't want eggs. We prepared a special plate with extra breakfast potatoes, fruit, homemade biscuits and meat, but he left before the plate was even served. Guests love our inn and breakfasts, returning every year to be pampered and enjoy Kelleys Island. Again, we are sorry and would like to make up to you any problems. This is why we are a 5 star luxury inn. Please give us a call so we can offer you a gift certificate to come back and enjoy our B&B. Regards. Rick & Tricia 419-746-2333
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JMN23 wrote a review May 2021
Toledo, Ohio38 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Waters Edge is on the quieter part of Kelleys Island and our stay was delightful. Rick & Tricia are kind and accommodating. Make sure you arrive for breakfast hungry because they personally prepare the meals to be savory taste treats and you'll want to enjoy every bite. Our room was very comfortable and nicely appointed. They have an amazing number of rooms to choose from so this B & B would also serve well for gatherings of friends & family. The views and surroundings are remarkable and environmentally friendly. We plan to return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard Kody, Owner at Waters Edge Retreat
Responded May 29, 2021
We are so happy you took the time to write this review. Thanks for the excellent recommendation. Looking forward so your next visit. Rick & Tricia
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TCH2002 wrote a review Jun 2021
8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Rick and Tricia are fabulous hosts! We've stayed at many B&Bs and their hospitality is top notch! Not only do they make a scrumptious breakfast from scratch, but also provide afternoon sangria with a cheese plate, and a homemade treat in the evening. I eat gluten-free and so does Rick, so they are experts at accommodating and creating delicious GF alternatives :). We stayed in the Marguerite room and LOVED the views and ample space. And it's nicer than the pictures were online, because they're in the process of redecorating. We also borrowed the free bikes to ride to town and back and had a lovely time. If we go to the island again, we will certainly stay with them!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Plan ahead, the ferry is expensive!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Walter K wrote a review Jun 2021
Kettering, Ohio88 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Waters Edge is an OUTSTANDING bed and breakfast. The owners, Rick and Tricia treat their guests as family and really go all out in everything they do.

Without question, you will be served one of the finest breakfast you will ever eat. In addition, at 5:00 pm each afternoon, Rick and Tricia serve a wonderful Sangria with cheese and crackers. If that’s not enough, a sweet treat is waiting for you in the evening upon return from your evening out on the island.

If you are looking for a relaxing get away, where you are pampered from the time you arrive until you leave Waters Edge, then you need to give this B & B a try. This place is OUTSTANDING!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
elsiewashere wrote a review Oct 2021
Cleveland, Ohio28 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Rick and Tricia's B&B is totally charming and a wonderful getaway spot. The location is spectacular. The breakfasts were delicious and I appreciated that Tricia went out of her way to serve me a vegetarian breakfast, which was so kind. There was even freshly pressed apple cider made from the apples they grow on their property. The deck overlooking the lake is perfect for sunrise coffee and yoga. We had a great time and hope to go back for another visit!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernard R wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first trip to Kelleys Island. Staying at Waters Edge Retreat made for a wonderful visit. Rick, Trisha and Emma cover all the bases. The place is clean, the rooms are nicely furnished and the location is the best. My wife and I explored the island on a golf cart and found beaches that made me think we were in the Caribbean. My favorite pastime was sitting on the front porch and gazing out at the lake. Trisha and Emma made pastries every morning and that was followed by a hearty breakfast by chef Rick.
Anyone wanting a nice, quiet getaway should put Waters Edge at the top of their list.
My wife and I will most certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roger P S asked a question Jun 2021
8 contributions2 helpful votes
How soundproof are the rooms? Can you hear other guests from your bedroom?
Answer from Ryan L
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We were just guests recently, and we didn't hear a peep from anything but the awesome birds surrounding the house! Very peaceful spot!
Answer from Monica
Cleveland, Ohio4 contributions
It's more of a romantic couples retreat. Check out the Kelsey's Island campground and beach area for a more family fun environment!
tinam557 asked a question May 2016
Defiance, Ohio2 contributions
Do u allow 1 night stays?
valann1028 wrote a tip Jul 2023
PA17 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont stay during hot summer months"
Read full review
Tom W wrote a tip Aug 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed from Wednesday to Saturday in early August had an amazing experience … love Kelley’s island!"
Read full review
OPTraveler73 wrote a tip Jul 2022
Chicago7 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get a room facing the lake."
Read full review
Roger P S wrote a tip Aug 2021
8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We recommend Captain's Quarters on the 3rd floor as it has windows on three sides and a fun theming."
Read full review
TCH2002 wrote a tip Jun 2021
8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plan ahead, the ferry is expensive!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kelleys Island area.
LOCATION
United StatesOhioKelleys Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Waters Edge Retreat - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Waters Edge Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Waters Edge Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Marblehead Lighthouse (5.8 km), Glacial Grooves State Memorial (3.5 km), and Kelleys Island State Park (3.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waters Edge Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Waters Edge Retreat?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and an additional bathroom.
What food & drink options are available at Waters Edge Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Waters Edge Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waters Edge Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Village Pump, Brown's Dairy Dock, and Kelley's Island Wine Company.
Does Waters Edge Retreat have airport transportation?
Yes, Waters Edge Retreat offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Waters Edge Retreat?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial (12.3 km), Eleutheros Cooke House and Garden (15.8 km), and Stonehenge Estate (12.4 km).
Does Waters Edge Retreat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Kelleys Island HotelsKelleys Island Hotel DealsHotels near Waters Edge Retreat
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars