We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Island House Hotel

403 reviews
Save
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (1)
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good34%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“hot water”(31 reviews)
“the jet express”(58 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (403)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for The Island House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
182
140
44
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
182
140
44
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterthe jet expressacross the streetrooms are smallvintage hotelhistoric buildingwater runmarilyn monroequeen roomattached restaurantcontinental breakfaststay there againoff seasonyogurtvery nice staythis past weekendmemorial day weekend
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
71 - 75 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We got a king room. Unfortunately, the bed took up 7/8 of the room. I'm not kidding. The only place to put our things was on the window ledges. This room is more sized to fit a double bed and then perhaps have a chair...More

1  Thank GSriderMichigan
Response from Michael P, General Manager at The Island House HotelResponded 27 June 2016

Hello and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Regarding our standard rooms, we are a historic 130 year old hotel and that is the make up of the single rooms. Our suites would have been more to the needs you were looking...More

Reviewed 23 June 2016

The staff was very helpful and courteous. The parking was free!!!The room was very clean and comfortable. The location was perfect for catching the jet express, and checking out the down town area and restraunts. We were warned about the hot water at check in.

Thank sandrade2016
Response from Michael P, General Manager at The Island House HotelResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you for taking time to leave us some insights into your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us in Port Clinton.

Reviewed 20 June 2016

Old, historic quaint hotel. Very tiny rooms which we were aware of. Comfortable beds. No room darkening shades so between the light coming in and the sounds of the birds we were up very early after a late night out. Very nice staff. Bar was...More

Thank mburgasser
Response from Michael P, Guest Relations Manager at The Island House HotelResponded 21 June 2016

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us some insights of your stay. I see some great suggestions that I will look into. We apologize about the seagulls and mayflies; kinda comes with the lakeside. However, the mayflies only last weeks at...More

Reviewed 16 June 2016

This was our second time staying at the Island House. The first time, two years ago, there was NO water. This time, there was no Hot water. Since our last stay, the restaurant and the bar have closed. There were 3 cars in the parking...More

2  Thank Cliff B
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location to catch the Jet Express over to Put-In-Bay and back. The room was spacious and clean. We had a mini fridge and microwave. Although you can hear most of the noise in the hallway, so if you want...More

Thank widget_99
Response from Michael P, General Manager at The Island House HotelResponded 15 June 2016

Thank you for taking time to leave us a nice review. We appreciate your input and will brain storm some ideas regarding the hallway noise. All our best.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1131415161781
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$64 - US$190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$64 - US$190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (1)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Emily V
5 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Angela B | Reviewed this property |
So sorry for the delay in answering, just saw this. Would say a 20 min drive, the ferry for Put in is in the country!
0
Votes
Nettie M
17 May 2017|
Answer
Response from JanandCaptainRob | Reviewed this property |
Good for you Nettie
1
Vote
Jonnie333
19 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Island H | Property representative |
It is just a 10 minute walk from the front door to the beach area. However, there are a couple of beach locations here; the other one is further away and would require drive time.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"apartment suite had 2 queen beds plus a full sized pull out and a kitchen"
Read review
"Third Floor Streetside corner."
Read review
"Doesn't have a pool, but very clean"
Read review
"I would doubt that any room would be better than another."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing