Edgewater Hotel

266 Delaware St P.O. Box 267, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6624
Traveller (19)
View Looking off the front veranda of park and harbor.
Room & Suite (6)
Bathroom (2)

View prices for your travel dates

C$164
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#9 of 9 hotels in Put in Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Edgewater Hotel their hotel of choice when visiting Put in Bay. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Edgewater Hotel is a hotel offering a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The hotel features baggage storage. Plus, guests can enjoy a pool and a lounge, which have made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Put in Bay.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Stonehenge Estate (0.9 km) and South Bass Island Lighthouse (1.9 km), guests of Edgewater Hotel can easily experience some of Put in Bay's most well known attractions.

While you’re here, be sure to check out Rita's Cantina, one of the Mexican restaurants that can be found in Put in Bay, which is a short distance from Edgewater Hotel.

Should time allow, Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial and Lake Erie Islands Historical Society are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Edgewater Hotel as you experience all of the things Put in Bay has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Mini golf
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
ATM on site
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Iron
Kitchenette
Minibar
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
25Reviews3Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 3
  • 2
  • 2
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Elizabeth C wrote a review Jul 2019
43 contributions51 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our vacation started with being checked in by a stressed out reservationists who let it be known she’d “had a long day.” She realized she’d checked the guests that arrived before us into the wrong room, so we waited while she corrected her mistake which she blamed on “the resort.” They charged me for a golf cart, but wouldn’t give it to me since everything was already locked up for the night. Clean updated room, except we could get into it since our keys didn’t work at 1am. No utensils in the kitchenette or dishes and NO ICE. No wristbands or any data shared about the “pools” available. No help with luggage. This resort gave out my phone number to a taxi company that failed to pick us up at the ferry. Otherwise, it’s centrally located. That’s as nice as I can be. I bet it’s going to be another long day here at Edgewater.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amberlee W wrote a review Aug 2017
Columbus, Ohio94 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
What I loved about this hotel is that it is located right on the main street in downtown. It was so convenient to the bars and restaurants. I stayed in the Luxury Suite which was awesome! Had the two beds also an additional sitting area with a sofa & chair. It was really nice to have another place to hang out, sit and chill with my friends in the privacy of our own room. They have a cart rental place as well but with it being right there downtown, you might not need one. The lady at the front desk was exceptional! Keep up the good work and thank you for an awesome stay :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen B wrote a review Jul 2017
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros: nice, large, updated rooms.
Cons: They state they have a pool, BUT they don't. You have to go to one of their "sister" hotels to swim. False advertising. They state they have wifi yet they don't. I had to call to find out the password. It didn't work. I gave up. Location seems great at first, until you want to sleep. Bar next door plays LOUD music until 2:30am and there is also a very noisy pool behind that also plays loud music until the wee hours. Manager is nasty, inflexible and accused me of cussing at her, which I never did. Only 1 TV remote worked. The other did not so we couldn't turn the TV on in the bedroom to drown out the noise next door. Room was very overpriced for what we got. Very strange too. There is no actual check-in desk. You check in and out at an outdoor window that also rents out golf carts and mopeds. Very strange.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Responded Jul 30, 2017
Thank you for the comments on our room and we are glad you enjoyed them. You actually have access to three pools all less than 2 blocks away, one of which is next door. As we informed you when you made your reservation, the hotel is located in the heat of the night life and from time to time can be noisy during business hours. The TV remote is a Direct TV remote which actually works the TV's in both rooms.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Doug wrote a review Apr 2020
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So my friends and I have been going to Put in Bay for 10 years for an annual bday bash. We’ve stayed at a number of places but decided to book here this year, even though the only way to book is through Booking.com. Not a preferred method.

Well we all got caught up in the pandemic and had to cancel our plans, all 10+ of us. We requested refunds so we could maybe stay later in the summer or fall.

Nope. They are charging us all $150 per night for the cancellation even though it is over 3 weeks in advance and we cannot go there due to the pandemic. They encouraged us to book later in the summer but we would still be charged the cancellation fee!!

So unless you are 100% sure of keeping your plans DO NOT BOOK AT EDGEWATER. Go somewhere else on the island with better policies, like the PIB Conference Center.

Highly disappointed and will never book here again. Neither will my 10+ friends, or their friends or anyone we know.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
emalee d wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible experience here. I booked my stay through Expedia for 8/24 , Bash on the Bay.
Since the Bash was cancelled, i called the # to the hotel and was told I need to email regarding reservation questions. I reached out by email to the hotel to just inquire if I could get a refund IF I canceled my reservation or reschedule the booking to the new date of the concert. I received no reply. Assuming it was probably not going to be refunded if I cancelled, I decided I should at least get use of the room. I took the ferry over to put in bay and showed up at the hotel expecting to have a room to stay. The desk people at first told me that Expedia cancelled my reservation. When I called Expedia they said they still had my reservation showing active. Then the hotel desk said THEY cancelled my reservation due to the email I sent requesting it be “canceled” which was not in the email. It was simply inquiring about a refund if necessary or rescheduling. Also, the hotel never replied AT ALL to the email so why would they cancel my room & give it away with no cancellation confirmation?!! So I came all that way and paid $525 for 1 night which they took out 3 weeks beforehand and show up with no room to stay in!? The desk personnel kept brushing me off and saying there’s nothing they can do and that the owner needs to take care of it but he’s “not available.” How do you have no competent manager on duty?! The customer service was horrific and I will never do business with this place again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike R wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a room for this weekend 7/16-7/18. The corona virus was ramping up the week of and decided it would be SAFER to not go. Called to cancel and received a big hassle ended up paying $200 for nothing. Save your money,go somewhere else!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ed G wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently stayed here this past weekend and I’ve also stayed over the years of coming to the island.! I’ll ALWAYS stay here because of how close to the bars and restaurants it is. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. I will be back without a doubt.!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paula M wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not book here , manager rude, did not refund our money back. Cancelled room well in advance with the Corona virus. National Guard on island testing workers. Chose not to go. Very rude !!! Hotel is not what it said it would be.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don"t book room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve H wrote a review Jun 2017
3 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was modern and nice, but there were major issues that spoiled our stay. Checked into room that had SOAKED carpet and a fan blowing to dry. One AC unit didn't work, TV remotes didn't work. Room was not made up by maids. Manager Brenda (has no business managing anything) was unresponsive to correct, saying we had the lowest price point, then got nasty and argumentative with me, saying things like the AC couldn't be fixed unless we were in room while they were servicing, and we should make sure the door knob sign was properly placed. Yet maintenance had come in room while we weren't here and took fan, and left a remote (which didn't work). It's now 8 pm, and a guy is running around working on our AC. PATHETIC!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Responded Jun 9, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Your carpet had a small damp spot (water) which was in the process of being dried when you arrived. Both AC units were brand new, and apparently you had the one on fan only when we checked. As you stated the rooms are all brand new and the manager was correct when she stated that when your do not disturb sign is up, we do not disturb. We have placed a second remote control in all rooms even though the one remote worked either of the two TV's Thanks
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Believeland37 wrote a review Oct 2019
Rocky River, Ohio184 contributions56 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a terrible experience here. Do not book here.

We booked a room over the phone and were told it was a Deluxe Room. The website only shows Deluxe Rooms or Suites. When we checked in, our room was completely different than described on their website. When I called, I was told I was in a Standard Room. I asked them to show me where on the website there is a Standrard Room because it's not there. They quickly changed their story and told me I was in a Deluxe Room. The website says all Deluxe Rooms have a double vanity and shows a photo of a room that was totally different than what we were placed in.

To start, the room was very dirty and there were ants all over the bathroom. The two beds even had completely different sheets. We asked them to clean the room, and they said they did, but they did not. We have photos from before and after, and there was still food on the floor "after they cleaned". The disaster doesn't stop there.

We booked a Deluxe Room, because that was the only option, other than a suite. Deluxe Rooms, per their website, have Queen beds and double vanities. Our beds were Fulls. When I called to explain we must be in the wrong room, I was told they were "Hotel Queens". The double vanity, also not in the room. We had a single sink without a vanity at all. Again, not as the website says or at all like the photo. The photo shows the vanity in the hall, our pedestal sink was in the bathroom (totally different than described online).

I called again. I spoke to a Manager who was extremely rude. She was absolutely horrid. She told me she wasn't going to argue with me "over a sink" and there was no one else above her who I could speak with.

Their solution to resolve the issue, was for us to pay $340 more to upgrade to a suite. I kept explaining it wasn't about "a sink" it was about the false advertising they have on their website and that we didn't get what we paid for. She told me there was nothing they could do and we couldn't get out of our room because we were in contract.

Due to the dirt, rude staff, and overall terrible experience, we lost 3 hours of our trip by trying to resolve the situation, and ultimately ended up checking out and staying somewhere else. They told us that we couldn't get our money back.

Take my advise, stay away. I had shared my experience on Facebook and the owner commented that the photos weren't of their hotel, completely false and then tried to blame us for the issues. Please read reviews carefully and take them for what they are. I have many TripAdvisor reviews and I do not falsely make claims. This truly was a terrible experience and even worse after the fact, as the owner has proven to be very difficult.

I have shared images of the bugs and dirt from after they "cleaned" as well as their website not indicating a Standard Room and stating all rooms have double vanities, as well as a photo that was not from the room we were in.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherri049 asked a question May 2019
Columbus, Ohio40 contributions23 helpful votes
We have a room reserved for May 21, 22nd . Where do I park my car?
Tina W asked a question Jan 2018
Saint Louisville, Ohio6 contributions
Are you pet friendly and if so what is your fee?
Answer from Martin P
Griffith, Indiana150 contributions31 helpful votes
Don't have phone number, Look on website. Yes they do have an elevator.
Paula M wrote a tip Sep 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don"t book room"
Read full review
Joezette K wrote a tip Aug 2018
Carey, Ohio, United States11 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay clear of this hotel!!! Horrible I am a travel agent and I never have been treated like this!!!"
Read full review
Triciak513 wrote a tip Jul 2017
Cincinnati, Ohio7 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this Hotel! Not even a place to sit on balconies, it's a joke!"
Read full review
lockhart22 wrote a tip Jul 2017
Kent, Ohio3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were in Room 3 on the first floor and weren't bothered by any noise."
Read full review
JOHNNY C wrote a tip Jul 2017
Angola, Indiana37 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Second floor has less street noise."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Put in Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
C$137 - C$295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
edgewater hotel put in bay
LOCATION
United StatesOhioPut in Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Edgewater Hotel - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Edgewater Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Edgewater Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hooligans Irish Pub, Put-in-Bay (0.1 km), Lake Erie Islands Historical Society (0.2 km), and Put-In-Bay Rolling Pub (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Edgewater Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Edgewater Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Edgewater Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Edgewater Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Forge, Pasquales Cafe, and The Keys.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Edgewater Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Edgewater Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Put in Bay.
Are there any historical sites close to Edgewater Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial (0.8 km), Stonehenge Estate (0.9 km), and Catawba Island Historical Society (7.9 km).
All Put in Bay HotelsPut in Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Put in BayHotels near Edgewater Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars