Bay Lodging Resort

indoor/outdoor pool with jacuzzi
Traveller (42)
Standard Two-Queen Room
Room & Suite (248)
Buckeye themed indoor/outdoor pool
Pool & Beach (47)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
C$209
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
C$203
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
C$203
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#3 of 9 hotels in Put in Bay
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Bay Lodging Resort is located just a couple blocks from downtown Put in Bay on a quiet, tree-lined lane. Whether you choose to explore the island on one of our golf carts (available for rent at our front desk), or hang out and relax at SJ's Hideaway, our poolside bar, our gracious staff is available to help you 24/7 during the season. We now offer 42 hotel units, 6 two bedroom units, and 2 split-level suites. Each 2 bedroom guest suite is spacious, air conditioned, and consists of 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, living room with sleeper sofa, and fully equipped kitchen. These sleep up to 6 people. Each split-level suite sleeps up to 10 people and is ideal for large families, bachelorette parties, or corporate groups. Our goal is to to make sure that your visit to Put-in-Bay is the best it can possibly be! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
299Reviews15Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 125
  • 64
  • 32
  • 24
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
susan wrote a review Jul 2022
Key West, Florida2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Two past stays in remodeled rooms were positive.

This stay we booked a two bedroom suite. Unfortunately there is a large discrepancy in room conditions.

Our teen rated it on a college dorm level. Lower quality beds, stained worn carpet & furniture. Small cramped bathroom & shower stall.

The staff and atmosphere is positive. The location is convenient. On site bar, pool, and cart rentals.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: requested on site cart rental in advance. Good hotel communication. Short ride to marina & main...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dawn Hall, Owner at Bay Lodging Resort
Responded Aug 4, 2022
Thank you for choosing Bay Lodging Resort for your stay! We are under new ownership and have been steadily renovating rooms at our facilities. So far, we've remodeled all rooms in our main building, and have plans to remodel our suites and second story rooms in the remaining building over the next couple of winters. We hope that you will continue to stay with us to see the exciting updates!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Biddy wrote a review May 2021
Hilliard, Ohio1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall, we had a great time at Bay Lodging Resort. Fairly close to the action downtown but far enough away that it was quiet. Kristy at the front desk was great and helpful. Owner Steve made sure we enjoyed our stay. Room was updated and clean. Bathroom was clean and nice also. Would love to try out the pool and hot tub next visit. The golf cart we got at the resort was really nice and so much fun. Thanks for a great visit!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica H wrote a review Jul 2023
7 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve stayed here 3 times now. It has gone downhill over the past few years. It’s nice they they offer breakfast. The hotel is a little away from the city center, but just a short walk to everything. It needs a lot of updates! We had to call front desk for several issues with the room. Staff was not the friendliest.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dawn Hall, Owner at Bay Lodging Resort
Responded Jul 24, 2023
Thank you for continuing to choose Bay Lodging Resort for your Put In Bay vacations! We are under new ownership and have been steadily renovating rooms at our facilities. We've remodeled all rooms in our main building, and have plans to continue updating our suites and second story rooms in the remaining building over the next couple of winters. Please feel free to contact us via phone or email to offer your suggestions for improvements. We hope that you will continue to stay with us to see the exciting updates!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Logan A wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When we got to our room the tv was broken, the room was 90° and the air wouldn’t cool the room, even after being set on 60° for three hours we were still sweating in the room. There was no shower head in the shower either. When we tried to contact the office they had closed early and wouldn’t answer the emergency line. We were driven out by the heat and had to go to a different hotel. Half an hour after we got settled in the née hotel we got called by the front desk person saying that there was nothing wrong with our room and we would not be getting any refund. We went back to prove the room was faulty only to find out the staff had repaired the broken tv only to tell us it was never broken. The room did eventually cool down but it took 5 hours and the staff said that meant it worked fine. And when we pointed out the broken shower we were told they didn’t know why it was like that but if we agreed to come back to stay they would try to fix it. They took our keys away once we said we had another hotel (we hadn’t stayed in the room more than 4 hours) and informed us we would not be getting a refund. After threatening to get our bank involved they agreed to give us back half of our money. Then when we got home we realized they charged us for a second golf cart without our knowing and when we brought it to our attention they told us it wasn’t their problem and are refusing to make it right! Never stay at this poor excuse of a hotel under any circumstances!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rhonda m wrote a review Sep 2023
Peru, Illinois5 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Wednesday August 23rd our room was flooded, displaced from room for 2 nights. This is a long story short. As Room #2200 flooded, they told us it would be ready next day. My husband said it better be deep cleaned and sanitized due to water covering carpet over entire floor. Next evening Thursday August 24th returned to our room. Told by Jackie the manager our room was ready for us to move back in (had to stay with our friends in other rooms, me with girlfriends and my husband with a guy friend. Our room was not ready, carpet still wet and now smelled bad. Called Jackie and she argued that the room was ready we said it isn’t have you been to the room?, she said she had NOT. I asked to speak to owners she said she would have to contact them. She calls us back at 8:00PM and tells us they have a room at another location across the island. Now it’s 8 O’clock we were headed to dinner, our whole point was we had group of friends all with rooms at this hotel (3rd year staying here too) . Why were we not offered that room the morning after the flood happened and we were displaced. Not wait until 8 at night with no offer to get to other property and another storm was coming. So displaced again 2nd night, displaced our friends again. Friday morning went to front desk and speak with managers Jackie and Rhonda. My husband asks if we will be reimbursed for the 2 nights we couldn’t stay in our room and she said NO.
This whole problem could have been rectified by making things right for us as the customers. This did NOT happen and we were this. Treated not kindly and made us feel like we did something wrong.
Our whole group are business owners and if something goes wrong, you fix it and go above and beyond to make things right and better and you did NOT do this.
Very sad and very disappointing we were treated like this!…
Was not our fault and we should NOT have to pay for the 2 nights we could NOT stay in our room. Room #2200
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Pool area needs redone. All lounge chairs need replaced. Many are broken and piled in the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dawn Hall, Owner at Bay Lodging Resort
Responded Oct 7, 2023
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay due to the effects of a major and catastrophic series of storms that ravaged our island community. It was very kind of your friends to accommodate you while our staff worked overtime to assist all of our guests with various storm-related emergencies. Our refund policies are noted online during the booking process, and we are happy to report that you were compensated for the partial change in your accommodations due to the storm damage to the room you originally booked. We are so proud of our staff, island residents, and those guests who went above and beyond, calmly and kindly supporting people in need during this terrible weather event! We hope you will consider visiting us again, and that the weather will be more to your liking during your future stays!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth wrote a review Jul 2023
Plymouth, Michigan1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've stayed here two years in a row and it is our go-to for PIB. Jackie and the whole staff are amazing and go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and have what you need. Our rooms were clean, the beds are comfortable, and the water pressure is great. Close to town but not too close. Golf carts on site. Very fun little pool and pool bar. And the price is right! When we stay here we know we aren't going to be overrun with the festive hordes, but we can still enjoy that groovy pool bar vibe. This hotel is popular with young families, couples, and people who are looking for a great getaway. It's the best value on the island.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dawn Hall, Owner at Bay Lodging Resort
Responded Jul 6, 2023
Thank you for your wonderful review! We look forward to having you stay with us for many more years to come!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane F wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Used to be our favorite spot. For what the rooms lacked the staff made up for. Jackie is great, but the owners are horrible. My friends room flooded the first night we were there. We returned after a late evening of fun to the room leaking from the window. Luckily they could move to our room as the hotel was sold out. The room was inhabitable. The second night when the room still was not any where near inhabitable they offered to move our friends to another hotel on the island. They declined since it was 8pm and they wanted to be near us. Plus by the time they would have packed up and moved it would have been right in the middle of another severe thunderstorm. Day 3 they were able to move them to a new room at the hotel. At first the hotel refused to refund anything. They said how do we know you didn't sleep in it the first night and they said since they had offered them another room the second night at another property they do not need to refund that night either. After several conversations they finally agreed to credit the first night only. WHAT??? DO NOT STAY at this hotel. They will screw you if they can.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Location Great! Jackie was nice, but unable to do her job due to crappy owners.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dawn Hall, Owner at Bay Lodging Resort
Responded Aug 27, 2023
Thank you so much for your flexibility during a time of unprecedented storms and subsequent major damage to our entire island community. It was kind of you to accommodate your friends while our staff worked overtime to assist all of our guests with various storm-related emergencies. Our refund policies are noted online during the booking process, and we are happy to hear that your friends were compensated for the change in their accommodations due to unforeseen storm damage. We are extremely proud of our staff, island residents, and those guests who supported people in need during this terrible weather event! We hope you will consider visiting us again, and that the weather will be more to your liking during your future stays!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Crystal A wrote a review Jun 2021
Columbus, Indiana7 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel was dingy at best. No one at the desk when you needed them. We followed the instructions in their confirmation email and reserved a golf cart. At arrival desk clerk charged us again for their carts on site. We didn’t discover we were charged by two companies until we got home. There’s $300 we don’t get back. Checked into the room (upstairs no elevator) and the room is small hot and not functional. No shower head. Ac won’t cool. And the tv doesn’t work. After calling repeatedly trying to get to desk staff we gave up and moved to another hotel. Don’t give them any money! Rip off!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roy M wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was treible. TV didn't work right with the remote. They said it was just from a busy week-end. In reality if you look at reviews it has been going on for a long time and they just don'twant to fix it. The free breakfast was terrible. it was all things bought at a convience store. They had a gallon of milk for everyone to share. Which with covid still on my mind was degusting. Coffee was empty and they didn't seem to care. I walked in one the hallways to my room and there was a bag of some ones garbage in the hall. Which wouldn't be bad but I know one of the employees walked by it many times and just left it there. I would just to go any where else. Their deal they have for room and golf cart just wasn't worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dawn Hall, Owner at Bay Lodging Resort
Responded Jun 25, 2023
Thank you for choosing Bay Lodging Resort for your stay; we're sorry to hear that you were disappointed while you were here. Under new ownership, we take all suggestions for improvement seriously. Our front desk and housekeeping staff are always happy to help if notified promptly. Our facilities and food service offerings are regularly inspected and approved by our county health department, and all food and drink items are delivered regularly through our food service vendors. We are very proud of the great deal offered with our Jetaway Getaway room and cart package, and find it extremely competitive when compared to other rentals offered at Put In Bay. We will be continuing to make upgrades and improvements in the future, and hope you will stop back in to see the exciting changes!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shan t wrote a review Jun 2022
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have always stayed here, and last year stayed elsewhere because it was cheaper.... but this was the first place we stayed and every year we always came back, so we got lucky. I'm sorry I stranded out to try new, but maybe not now I know how good we had it here. Everyone is always friendly, it's clean, nice pool! And it's close to downtown but not too close it's loud. And best of all you can rent your golf cart off of them. The price you can't beat, I really won't go anywhere else now when we stay on Put In Bay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dawn Hall, Owner at Bay Lodging Resort
Responded Aug 4, 2022
Thank you so much for your review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from goldsam
Columbus, Ohio64 contributions13 helpful votes
I just stayed there for first time. Last weekend. I had a great stay. Clean. Management was always present and responsive. Location
jdeprofio asked a question Aug 2018
Girard, Ohio294 contributions57 helpful votes
Has anyone stayed in the 2 bedroom kitchenet room?.. does each room have its own bathroom?
Answer from Mark48328
Waterford, Michigan166 contributions77 helpful votes
Our room was standard one bedroom looking over the Lake.
Klbmlbpa asked a question Mar 2018
Lancaster1 contribution
Any hotels allow pets
Answer from robbin m
Canal Fulton, Ohio2 contributions2 helpful votes
There must be hotels that allow pets! I am not personally aware of any specific ones! Maybe try an airbnb that rents homes! Its worth a shot!
Answer from Mickey B
Cleveland, Ohio16 contributions2 helpful votes
Not that I'm aware of but your hotel maybe able to store your things
Makmom17 asked a question Jul 2017
White Cottage, Ohio21 contributions2 helpful votes
Seen the reviews. No fridge and no coolers??
rhonda m wrote a tip Sep 2023
Peru, Illinois5 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool area needs redone. All lounge chairs need replaced. Many are broken and piled in the corner of the pool deck."
Read full review
Diane F wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Location Great! Jackie was nice, but unable to do her job due to crappy owners."
Read full review
susan wrote a tip Jul 2022
Key West, Florida2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"requested on site cart rental in advance. Good hotel communication. Short ride to marina & main restaurants."
Read full review
Robert Golaszewski wrote a tip Aug 2019
Reynoldsburg, Ohio1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If needing a handicap room, make sure to get it verified by management as the people assigning rooms may not have had the best training."
Read full review
letsgo_us wrote a tip Jul 2019
1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay in this room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Put in Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
C$166 - C$260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bay lodging house hotel put in bay, bay lodging hotel
LOCATION
United StatesOhioPut in Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Bay Lodging Resort - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Bay Lodging Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Bay Lodging Resort?
Nearby attractions include Hooligans Irish Pub, Put-in-Bay (0.3 km), Lake Erie Islands Historical Society (0.2 km), and Chocolate Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bay Lodging Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Bay Lodging Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Bay Lodging Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Bay Lodging Resort?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bay Lodging Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Goat, Soup and Whiskey, The Forge, and Hooligans.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bay Lodging Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Bay Lodging Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Put in Bay.
Are pets allowed at Bay Lodging Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Bay Lodging Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial (1.2 km), Stonehenge Estate (0.7 km), and Catawba Island Historical Society (7.6 km).
Is Bay Lodging Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Put in Bay HotelsPut in Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Put in BayHotels near Bay Lodging Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars