We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,319: English reviews
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have gone here the last 2 years as part of our Christmas gift to the kids. We drive 3 hours to get here so I was reading reviews and really thought about canceling and staying else where and just chalking it up as money wasted. Knowing the cost to stay else where and knowing how much I love the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Msepps
Rossford, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is a mess. Everything is falling apart. We booked for a Christmas treat for my family only to find parts of the water park not working, soggy wet carpet in places and the worst of all BED BUGS. We felt we were forced to leave in the middle of the nigh due to these bugs and was told...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bilo6566
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I arrived and found out the hot tub was closed. When the hot tub finally opened the water was not very hot like a hot tub should be. The water inside the water park was cold. I couldn't enjoy the activities because it was cold water. I seen a huge spider in the water park area. A male lifeguard was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hailz L
Brunswick, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is our second time here, we had the room with the bunk beds. Early in the day a customer came up to our group and told us not to stay here, she just found bedbugs.I had a go up of around 8 rooms or so, we all brushed it off and thought couldn't be. Then another guest complained about...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank bobrock96
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Waited over 2 hrs to check in, went to the waterpark to find out 90% was closed and we were not told at check in, dirty sheets, bath rub wouldn't drain, dirty coffee filter in machine, ice machine broken, rude staff that told us to deal with it essentially. We complained and received a full refund. Unbelievable!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michelle R
Management response:

Dear Michelle R: We are very sorry your visit to the resort was so disappointing. Unfortunately, we did not do many things well during your visit. Your stay was not a typical experience. Most of our guests have an enjoyable stay and many are repeat visitors. Our reservation base of returning customers is extensive. All of our rooms should be...

Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

This place was absolutely horrible ! We didn't even stay a hour the place was freezing are kids wouldn't even swim ! I saw 2 lifeguards keeping the doors cracked to smoke cigarettes letting freezing cold air in! The hot tubs were out of order considering it was freezing that's the only thing we wanted ! Staff was rude as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danielle G
Management response:

Dear Danielle G: We are very sorry about your very disappointing experience at the resort. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable visit. Unfortunately, when there is a sudden drop in the temperature, there will be delay in restoring and maintaining the climate in the waterpark. We apologize for the inconvenience and have shared your comments with...

Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

We got a Groupon for our family of 6 for only $209 for a nights stay. To me as a mom our dinner bill at a wing joint was $87 so for all of us to have fun for 2 days at a water park, Each kid had a bunk bed and a nice breakfast. This is a parenting win!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
Management response:

Dear Amanda S: We are pleased to hear that you had a very enjoyable visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Water Park in Sandusky, Ohio. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest. The resort is ideal for young families. Our family suites that feature a private bedroom for parents and a second room with bunk...

Indiana
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Took a weekend trip to Cedar Point and saw this place. Cheap fun option if your wanting a indoor waterpark without the Great Wolf Lodge price. Great kids area, fun slides and a lazy river. Life guards are friendly and pay very close attention to everyone. 2 arcades. A little dated but fun. The only downside is that the walls...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tjtr3631
Management response:

Dear tjtr3631: Glad to hear you had a wonderful visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. The water park is ideal for young families. It has a variety of attractions that parents and children can enjoy together including lazy river, slides, bucket drop and the Pineapple Bay kiddie area. Plus, all of the lifeguards are...

Reviewed 28 October 2016

The hotel was affordable and two of the staff we dealt with were great. We decided to stay here because we were going to Cedar Point for a mini vacation. When we arrived to Maui Sands Resort Alicia had checked us in at one a.m. We were extremely exhausted from our 6 hr. road trip. We came across a dilemma...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gloria O
Management response:

Dear Gloria O: Good to hear from you again. You are very welcome. We are glad your stay went so well! We also appreciate the kind words about our Team Members Alicia and Hope. We expect all of our employees to be courteous and professional each and every day. we are pleased they were able to assist you. The water...

Reviewed 26 October 2016

This was our second time staying at Maui Sands and it was great we stayed in a family room and it was perfect size for our family of 6. The price was great. the water park was very clean and the staff was very friendly. all of the water park things were open and I liked how they had fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia V
Management response:

Dear Alicia V: Thank you very much for telling us about your visit to the Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark in Sandusky, Ohio. It is always nice to hear from a satisfied guest. We are very pleased everyone in your family had an enjoyable visit. With a variety of attractions, the water park is ideal for families of all...

354 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (318)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (139)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
4.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
300 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
1.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: $135 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you plan on utilizing the water park, CALL to make sure it will be OPEN during your stay BEFORE you book the room!”
 of 5 bubbles Lilspinster, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not to far from amusement park”
 of 5 bubbles roxxig2016, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not let them put you in the rooms that is located near the Arcade! They smell really Bad plus rats!”
 of 5 bubbles 317deannad, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I'm not sure, but it seems that the rooms in the main building with the water park are very nice, which is where we stayed.”
 of 5 bubbles Deco916, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If your room not good enough ask for a other.”
 of 5 bubbles debraa999, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay