We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,325: English reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed over Labor Day weekend. The first night we were there we were put in a room that the ac was broke. It got to over 80 degrees and no one slept well which put a little damper on our trip. The next day we were moved next door where the room was just as bad. The bathtub didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Kcroucher
Management response:

Dear Kcroucher: We are very sorry you had such a disappointing visit to the resort. Unfortunately, we did not do many things well during your stay. We also apologize for the unkept rooms. All of our rooms should be cleaned and inspected before being assigned to a guest. We want all of our guests to have clean and comfortable accommodations....

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

My family and I reserved 2 rooms for September 3rd. At check-in, (we arrived late after spending the day at Cedar Point) the clerk was rude to every customer that asked for help. I paid in cash for my room, and my uncle paid with his card for his. There was a group of young women who were angrily waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank antoinette m
Management response:

Dear antoinette m: We are very sorry for the difficulties you had during your visit to the resort. All of our rooms should be cleaned and inspected before being assigned to a guest. Recently, the resort was treated by a professional service. We are also sorry you were not treated properly by all of our Team Members. We expect all...

Suburbs of Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I booked online the morning of our stay (a Tuesday) for the sole purpose of taking my son to a water park. When we arrived to check in, I was informed by another guest that the waterpark was not open. Nowhere during the online booking process was that stated. I called hotels.com and explained my dilemma. Their agent was great...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Lilspinster
Management response:

Dear lilspinster: We are very sorry about your disappointing visit to the resort and that all of our Team Members did not treat you properly. We expect all of our employees to be courteous and professional to all of our guests each and every day. Once Ohio schools are back in session (in most cases, the third week in August),...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

This "hotel" should be closed by the health department. We checked in late around midnight, girl at desk was nice. As soon as we walked into the building which I later found out was the older part, the smell was horrific. We walked into a room with what looked like oil spots all over the carpeting. The bunk beds you...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

We are very sorry you had such a disappointing stay at the resort. Unfortunately, your room was not serviced properly. All of our rooms should be cleaned and inspected before being assigned to a guest. However, most of our guests have any enjoyable visit and many are repeat customers. We also apologize that you were not treated properly by all...

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We are staying at hotel from 9/3 to 9/5 once we arrived we did see it was a little outdated but wasn't going to let that bother us but once we got to our room we tried to access the WiFi we were suppose to get for our room it didn't work so we called about it and they told...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lonnie J
Management response:

Dear Lonnie J: We are sorry for the disruption of WiFi service during your stay. At the end of summer, portions of our WiFi system were damaged and compromised service to some areas of the resort. Recently, an outside service-provider completed upgrades to our Internet service. We believe this will solve the problem and we will be able to provide...

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Anywhere else is better than this place sometimes kalahari has specials and you can get a room there cheaper! First when we got there we stood at check in for 10 mins while the girl in the office played on her computer, when we got in the hallway of the hotel I noticed the rooms don't have outdoor Windows the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alaina H
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Alaina H. We are very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us and that your room wasn't as clean as it should have been. We apologize for the staff and have guidelines and rules for our staff to follow to ensure that rooms will be properly serviced and that all staff is ready to helped you with...

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on 18th of august, reason was to visit Cedar point the next day. My friend booked 4 of us ( 1 child and 2 adults) through Groupon. $200 one night with access to the waterpark. Ok it's a long story, but I'll try keep it short. Entered through the rear entrance 4 from car park. Dirty filthy carpets...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stardance99
Management response:

Dear Stardance 99: We are very sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the resort. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable visit with clean and comfortable accommodations. We are glad your family enjoyed playing in the water park. It has a variety of attractions that parents and their children can enjoy together. The all-you-can-breakfast buffet...

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

What an expensive nightmare!!! Upon check in arrived to witness a so called GM (A rude clueless Indian man) cussing at 2 front desk clerks and actually thru a phone at them..In front of customers not too mention children..got checked in to a room..With a mouse in a trap under a bunk..the queen bed had dirty, bloody sheets on them..The...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Ivory B
Management response:

Dear Ivory B: We apologize for your disappointing experience at the resort. Most of our guests have an enjoyable visit and and many are repeat customers. We want all of our guests to have a pleasurable stay that includes clean and comfortable accommodations. All of our rooms should be cleaned and inspected before being assigned to a guest. We are...

West Bloomfield, Michigan
Reviewed 30 August 2016

First and foremost, our hotel room was clean and the room was a decent size for families however it is very outdated. The elevator is hot, we didn't have a alarm clock and our lamp shade was tore and it has very limited staff. I called the front desk several times and no one answered therefore I had to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxxi G
Management response:

Dear Roxxi G: We are very sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the resort. Your comments about our Team Members are greatly appreciated. We expect all of our employees to be courteous and professional each and every day. We are glad your room was clean when you arrived. All of our rooms should be serviced and inspected being...

Reviewed 29 August 2016

The first 2 times I visited Maui Sands Resort my visits were nice for the price. The kids enjoyed themselves and always looked forward to coming back the following year. We stayed in the rooms that were located in the middle section of the hotel. The staff were very nice. The first visit breakfast was included with the original package,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deanna D
Abbie S, Manager at Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review

Dear Deanna D. We are glad to hear that your stays in the past were good. We would also like to apologize for your last stay with us that was unpleasant for you and your family. We strive for cleanliness and that our guests feel happy and satisfied with their stay. We have taken steps to help make guests stay...

355 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (319)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
4.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
307 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
1.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: $136 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you plan on utilizing the water park, CALL to make sure it will be OPEN during your stay BEFORE you book the room!”
 of 5 bubbles Lilspinster, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not to far from amusement park”
 of 5 bubbles roxxig2016, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not let them put you in the rooms that is located near the Arcade! They smell really Bad plus rats!”
 of 5 bubbles 317deannad, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I'm not sure, but it seems that the rooms in the main building with the water park are very nice, which is where we stayed.”
 of 5 bubbles Deco916, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If your room not good enough ask for a other.”
 of 5 bubbles debraa999, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5