We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Travellers' Choice award winner
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,574 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,567: English reviews
London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just returned from a night and two days at Kalahari resort. My daughter and I took my four grandkids two boys ages 10 and a 8 and 6 year old girl. They all had a wonderful time. There were rides to accomodate every activity level and braveness level. The lifeguards were very attentive and appeared to take their jobs very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Kim. I am so happy to hear that you, your daughter, and grandkids all had a wonderful time during your visit to Kalahari. Safety is our number one priority and we keep our lifeguards continually trained so that they are up to date on the latest procedures dealing with safety. I am glad the room and beds were comfortable...

Austintown, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I took my Girlfriend and my niece and nephew. I had been here once before , the second month it opened in 2005. The place has changed and for the better. The rooms were great, and spacious. The water park was top notch as well as the food and activities. The pizza was the favorite of our trip for food,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joey S
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I am spending a long time to write the review of Sandusky Kalahari resort. stayed on second week of August. In order to provide the clearer idea, hopefully, I have decided into few sections Registration process Pros - Valet parking staff has the list of check-in people of that day in order to provide the faster service - Once we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Management response:

Hi Johan. Thank you for taking the time to fill out such a long and detailed review on Kalahari Resorts. We appreciate you writing about each section you visited so that future guests may have the opportunity to read about what our Resort is like. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the valet parking we offer along...

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Everything was great but for the price it is way over crowded because of people with day passes if they only sold them on certain days our limited the amount each day the crowds would be a lot smaller because with the price of the room and stuff to do there the crowds are a big hindrance

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlieN87
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hello Charlie. Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. We appreciate the feedback and appreciate your thoughts concerning day passes. We have forwarded your notes on to our team. I hope you were able to make it on every slide and ride you wanted to try. Again, thank you for the review and we hope to...

Mount Sterling, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My grandchildren, aged 3 and 8, my son and I went here for vacation. Reservations were easy to make, staff were friendly, restaurants were excellent, good food for the price. Water park was great. There were a lot of life guards on duty. The resort was clean. Housekeeping was excellent. I would recommend this resort for the young and old...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bonnie L
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hello Bonnie. I am so thrilled that you spent some quality time with your family here at Kalahari. We appreciate all of the kind words regarding the service and staff at our resort. We pride ourselves in providing rides and activities for children and adults of all ages. Also, we pride ourselves in making safety our number one priority and...

Leamington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 14 August 2014

we have been going to this resort yearly for many years and always have a great time. The specials they offer are excellent and everything is always exceptional from the speedy check in to the clean room, friendly staff and great food. it is a great getaway for the family where there is plenty to do for everyone. I highly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tammy Z
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Tammy. I am so thrilled to hear that your experience with us at Kalahari is always second to none. We pride ourselves in delivering an experience that is really beyond expectations and putting the guest first. The specials available on our website are such a great way to experience the Resort with a little added extra bonus and value....

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a very negative experience in the fall of 2008. Half the rides were closed, the air and water were freezing and the staff were rude. We went back this time August 2014. What an improvement.The staff were friendly, it was clean, the water and air were warm (it wasn't very warm outside). The lockers were reasonable we paid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4CarrieP
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

I am so thrilled to hear that this trip went very well and was an improvement from the 2008 trip. We are continually updating and improving our resort, so next time it will be even better! We pride ourselves in catering food options to help support those with certain allergies. I hope you had a wonderful time swimming in our...

columbus
Reviewed 13 August 2014

First time going and it was a horrible experience. We checked in and requested ajoining room with another family and we were told they were booked. Got to our room and called guest services and miraculously theyhad an ajoining room so we packed up and moved. Per guest services the porch lights are on due to security reasons yet our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tawana P
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Tawana! I understand your frustration that an adjoining room wasn't immediately available to you. I would also like to apologize that the porch lights kept you up, I did check with our Security Dept. who stated the lights are on a timer & they will check the settings on the timer. We appreciate your review & despite this first...

New Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Kalahari Resort was very nice when we stayed there. The Rooms were beautiful. We had a hall entrance and also a outdoor entrance that we could use to get to the water park faster. There was a really nice zoo-ish kind of place that was included as far as I can remember. There coolest was walking up this fenced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travalar_X
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hello Adam. I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially since your room opened out back to the Outdoor Waterpark! What a bonus that the fence to the Animal Park was right outside your outside entrance. I hope you had a wonderful time within the waterpark and were able to try some of...

Romeo, Michigan
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have visited Kalahari for the past 5 years or so. It is a great family trip for all ages. We include grandparents in this trip so the age range is from 3-70 and everyone enjoys it. The little tike areas in doors and out doors are for kids 0-5ish and they love it, while the larger rides are great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelly Z
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Kelly! It's so nice that your family could be together at Kalahari and all of you had a wonderful time in our resort and at our Waterpark. The Lazy River and Wave Pool are definitely two places that I like to "chill". Suites that include a full kitchen make it easy for families to prepare meals and save during...

798 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (755)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (104)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (104)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (59)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
3:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (330)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.4 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
311 reviews
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
1.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: $275 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kalahari Resorts & Conventions staff and other travellers.
58 questions
Ask a question
Michigan Center, Michigan
8 months ago

See all questions (58)

Questions? Get answers from Kalahari Resorts & Conventions staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the 4th floor of the Resort wing and didn't notice any excessive noise.”
P7180QIheatherh, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms with 2 double beds/sofa bed was a short walk to the waterpark!!!”
L8586BXheatherm, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't go, trust me”
cruland, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Confirm how far your room is from the waterpark entrance. If you can avoid the elevators do so because there can be a long wait.”
MMP5, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“nothing i can comment about.”
karenm625, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates