We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandusky
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,455: English reviews
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately, as good as the water park is, I have to give the resort only two stars. The main reason is the bed was one of the worst I have slept in. It was hard as a rock. Not only that, the room is not luxurious at all. At least there was a safe though, and the bath was deep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alexander422
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Alexander! While I'm thrilled to hear that everyone enjoyed the Waterpark I am disappointed to hear you felt our beds rock hard! This is not typically what we hear about our beds so I am interested in knowing the room you stayed in, please email me at OHConnect@KalahariResorts.com. Be sure to check our face book page for great deals...

Sandusky, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Expected 5/5 stars after paying $140 for 2 day passes, but was not impressed. Lines were long, slides were not super great, and couldn't use the hot tub. We had just sat down and a staff member told everyone we had to leave. It is the perfect hot tub weather, and we couldn't enjoy it! Men's locker room was pathetic,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 749mdsn
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

I am certainly disappointed to read your review. I would like to be able to look into this, kindly email me at OHConnect@KalahariResorts.com. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you.

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As with all waterparks, you can count on killer waterslides and a swim up tiki bar. Know that you may get tossed outta that raft in the toilet bowl if you don't hang on but it's a fun ride either way. We love that Kalahari sells bathing suits 365 days a year. If you bring the boyfriends, husbands or children...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank daytripsanddaydreams
toronto
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The resort is very big and service is good. Waterslides were very good and the lines were not big when we went during the christmas , supposedly the busiest time. Food/ drinks are available is available in the waterpark area . The pizza place was good. Front desk staff and sevices were good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pappiToronto
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

We're thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable time! Christmas time is one of our busier times, so I'm thrilled to hear that didn't interrupt your stay! I agree with you, our pizza is great! Thanks for the review & we'll see you again soon!

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights in a two-bedroom suite in the North Wing for Christmas 2016. Pros: . Bigger waterpark and more rides than Great Wolf Lodge. Especially liked the Learn to Surf place. . Very comfortable 2-bedroom suite with 2 full bathrooms . Wide hall-way (at North Wing at least) . Waterpark opens until 10pm so overnight guests can enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Grumpy088
Georgetown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

well i signed up online for black friday special for $25.00 tickets for christmas 2016, the website finally took my reservation, and i did have 2 women call to help me, that's where the customer service ended. they were to call me back with 3 days to take my credit card, i had to call repeatedly and was put into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Pat, while we are sorry the passes seemed to have gotten lost in the mail and didn't arrive in time for Christmas, we are happy that we were able to connect with you to ensure you received your passes. If we can help additionally please reach out to us at OHConnect@KalahariResorts.com Thank you.

Woodhaven, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the houses which are awesome. Second time getting one. There not cheap. But fit up to 22 Says 49 capacity by front door but hotel web site said 22. Lots of space it's laid out perfect would like a house built just like it

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drod2000
Middleville, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first time to Sandusky resort, but we did send Christmas at the Dells 5 years ago. Overall our experience was very pleasant. Check in was very smooth (we got there just before the masses arrived), everyone was extremely helpful. We booked a lodge room, and when we pulled out the sofa bed, there was black debris on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyttleone1997
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is disgusting. I waited for twenty minutes in line just to get checked into our room, only to find that there was a semen stain on the bed! The employees are horrible, they barely speak English, and many seem to have less than a high school education. Don't bring your kids here, it isn't worth having them sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Timothy H
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hello Timothy, your review is quite disturbing to me. Please email me at OHConnect@KalahariResorts.com so that we may look into this further, as this is not the Kalahari experience. I look forward to connecting soon.

New Middletown, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were very excited to go this year...so we decided to go up a night early. We called ahead and were good to go. We got the presidential suite like last year. We told them on the phone we would be there by eight or nine pm. We got there around nine. Got our rooms keys and went in and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Deborah W
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review

Hi Deborah, we appreciate the time you took to both review us & reach out to our Guest Services Manager, as we do value guest feedback. I would also like to apologize for the disappointments you experienced with your room during your stay. Your experience certainly is not the Kalahari standard as we constantly strive for exceptional customer service. Thank...

769 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (726)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (59)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
3:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (316)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.4 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#3 of 35 in Sandusky
298 reviews
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
7.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
2.5 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: $169 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kalahari Resorts & Conventions staff and other travellers.
45 questions
Ask a question
Michigan Center, Michigan
5 months ago

See all questions (45)

Questions? Get answers from Kalahari Resorts & Conventions staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They offer FREE valet for handicap guests, which was SUPER helpful for my father.”
 of 5 bubbles oxforddirector, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go with the Nomad Room at minimum.”
 of 5 bubbles tar419, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“One-night stay gives you two days' play at the waterpark.”
 of 5 bubbles Grumpy088, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We've stayed in several rooms and the queen family suite is the best value”
 of 5 bubbles deborahw134, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“4th floor was great. Our room had a fireplace and a balcony! Two queen beds and a pullout couch, frig, microwave and coffee pot.”
 of 5 bubbles Janelle00, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5